We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
96
18
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
18
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innfree laundryfull kitchenunderground parkinggames roomwest edmontonone way streetnice kitchenettethought of everythingsuper closeextra spaceone bedroom suiteamazing hotelroom was spaciousstove topfront desk staffpool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Tired of eating out? This modern, clean hotel had everything. Our room was more like a studio apartment: a kitchen with dual stove top, microwave, full size fridge / freezer with separate handles and dishwasher. Crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils, toaster, pots and pans, and washing equipment supplied. It was so nice to be able to prepare healthy meals for ourselves. There are restaurants and fast food places within walking distance.
The hotel is located directly behind Walmart Supercenter so you can buy everything there. The hotel is located on a one way street and GPS took us a long way around, so we set Walmart as our destination and just drove up the lane way at the back of Walmart - much easier.
The hotel has a small business center. The lovely pool and hot spa are shared with the Holiday Inn which adjoins Candlewood and you just walk through a door to enter. There was a games room with games tables.
In our room we had a computer workbench with USB port.
Bathroom was clean and well stocked although they are changing over from bottles to dispensers, which I normally don’t like- but their dispensers had quality shampoo and conditioner. Beds and pillows were comfortable and the room was spacious.
The laundry with commercial size washers and driers were free to use. Washing tablet was $1. There was a lending cupboard with things like crockpots, videos, games toaster ovens, etc. Even a small shop for urgent needs.
Underground parking is available, but larger vehicles can park at the ground level outdoor car park.
Staff were very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to people.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sydaus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonRS1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Well this review basically says it all! Thank you for taking the time to write this about our property. We appreciate the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon at the Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area!

Jon Sholter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

This is a newer hotel in west Edmonton. The front staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable with a modern bath and small kitchen. the TV and Wi-Fi worked great. There is underground parking, which is rare in this area, but would be a big feature in the winter. It is connected to a Holiday Inn and shares some amenities. The only think was that usually this level of hotel in this area offers some kind of breakfast, and they will let you go to the Holiday Inn buffet, but charge $5. I went there one morning and no one asked me to pay. I think they should re-think this strategy and just offer the free breakfast like the Holiday Inn guests get. Otherwise a good choice in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Davie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonRS1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for the positive review of our Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area. We appreciate all the nice things you mentioned such as our Underground Parking, Wi-Fi and most importantly our friendly team :) Regarding our breakfast, as a brand, Candlewood Suites does not offer Free Breakfast. However, we have come up with a hybrid solution since we are attached to the Holiday Inn Express West Edmonton. This way we can offer affordable value to those who do not want breakfast 'built into their price', yet we can still offer a breakfast solution at a minimal cost to those that do. In either case, we really do appreciate this feedback as we continually try to improve.

Best Regards,

Jon Sholter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Beds were comfortable, air was clean, nice kitchenette all at a very afffordable price, enjoyed so much that I am making this hotel chain my preferred place of accommodation when I travel. All that ever mattered to me was how comfortable the beds are and the temperature of the room, and it’s built for families depending on which suite you get.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank TravelliingPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonRS1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for the awesome review! We are glad you loved your stay and that we may have become your new hotel of choice! We welcome you back anytime at the Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area.

Jon Sholter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

This is an amazing hotel; makes you feel at home. Bedrooms were huge, clean, comfortable; has a full kitchen; laundry; pool and underground parkade and great location in Edmonton. We'll definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reinaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonRS1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

This is an amazing review! We are glad we got to make you feel at home on your recent visit, which is of course our goal. We look forward to seeing you again at the Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area.

Jon Sholter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

This was apparently a new hotel. The place was outstanding. Even had free washer and dryer. The location was very clean and we had an excellent stay. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The only possible change was there was a small fee for breakfast.

Room Tip: None really. Just an excellent hotel.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonRS1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your first time visit to our Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area! As a Candlewood Suites, we do not typically offer breakfast to guests. However, since we are attached to our sister Holiday Inn Express West Edmonton property, they do allow our guests to take advantage of their breakfast for a minimal cost. We hope to see you on many future visits to Edmonton.

Jon Sholter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews