We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Food”

Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub
Ranked #220 of 3,810 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 17
Cuisines: Irish, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Get the proper pub experience. We balance Irish-inspired dishes and North American classics. We’ve perfected the pub staple, Fish & Chips, and make our pies and pastry in-Pub. Try our fresh burgers like the legendary Guinness® Burger, with your pint of Guinness® of course!
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I had the cob salad and my wife had the fish chowder. We ate outside. Service was good and the food was very good. They got busy at lunch but the wait time to be served was very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionnMacCools, General Manager at Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Michael,

Thank you for joining us for lunch in the patio. I am happy to hear the food quality and speed of service are giving us a 5 out of 5! Hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I went there in the evening for a meal. The music was loud, and there was sport on the tv's. We went to the bar to get service and the bartender sent someone over to our table.

The calamari starter was great, with dip. My partner had River bites which was like a deep fried potato mash ball with buttermilk and jalapeño. Both were great.

We had to wait some time unfortunately to get our main, but the BBQ half chicken I ordered was good. The chicken pie was OK, the pastry wasn't that great unfortunately.

The cocktails were really nice, made very well. And the service was attentive to drinks.

Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionnMacCools, General Manager at Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dan,

Thank you for your feedback and visiting our location. I did speak with Christina about your experience and the entrees did take longer than they should have. With appetizers and entrees that do have longer preparation times. we will review this with our culinary team to see if there was something we could have done better to execute quicker.

Fionn MacCool's can be a vibrant atmosphere. If the volume is too loud to have a conversation, please share with our staff and they will be happy to adjust it.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to share any additional information

Justin
eauclaire@primepubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Just went in after a full day of walking around and had a beer. Not a huge selection but they have some standards and some local ones. Typical bar food on the menu. The non bar section had other options though. Nice atmosphere.

Thank 1bombboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionnMacCools, General Manager at Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for enjoying some time with us after a day out in Calgary. We have a new menu October 17th with some additional beverage selections. Let us know if there is a favorite you have and we can pass it along as a suggestion for our next menu. All of our Bartenders are Prud Homme Certified so they are happy to pair your tastes with our offerings.

Cheers,
Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I had a bowl f the best fish chowder here. I went because they said there would be live music but there was not. Still enjoyed it.

Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionnMacCools, General Manager at Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Barbara, thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed the chowder. I will pass the comments on to our culinary team. We still do have live music on Wednesday nights within East Coast Celtic Jam. Staggered Pints play at 8pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Just as good as last year. Great food good beer selection. Friendly staff and warm atmosphere. Try the curries..

Thank Sol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionnMacCools, General Manager at Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you for returning to our location. We are happy to hear that things are still hitting the mark on all points. Hope to see you again before next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing