We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Excellent Service, Personal Touch”

La Brezza Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
La Brezza Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 3,530 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Ave & 9th St NE
Transit: Bus #9 stops next to our restaurant. C-Train, Bridgeland/Memorial
Description: La Brezza, meaning ocean breeze, is considered to be one of Calgary's finest Italian restaurants. Opened in 1987 and still in its original location - once the owners house, La Brezza continues to offer an elegantly simple Italian cuisine, emphasizing traditional home-cooked goodness. You can enjoy a satisfying lunch and dinner menu with daily specials and you can even indulge on Sundays as we are one of the few local restaurants open 7 days a week. We pride ourselves in offering great food, great service, and a warm, relaxed atmosphere. See you soon!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service, Personal Touch”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The quality of the food at this restaurant is superb. The pasta is homemade, the calamari is sensational (lovely tomatoe flavours with some zip), the bruschetta makes us almost ruin our appetite for dinner everytime; and Marco Abdi is a pleasure. He is the owner of this friendly establishment and he always makes an effort to personally come to your table and see how you are doing.
We were there tonight for my birthday, he came and had a coffee with us and some good conversation.
This is what more restaurants should aspire to be. The kind of warm friendly place, where you don't feel like you are being rushed out the door so the next "Cheque" can take your place. They do not make restaurants like this very often anymore and it is a real treat and wondeful dining experience when you eat here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    114
    47
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Real Italian treat!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This restaurant is very cozy and located in a small house, you feel you are in Italy. Momma Angela was cooking, she sure knows how to prepare superb food. The special of the day was a large meal, we
really appreciated that they let us share the order. We started off with Bruchetta, then we had the Minestrone soup. It was the best we ever had, all fresh vegetables and so tasty without being salty. Then we had the spaghetti and meat balls, perfectly cooked and we loved the sauce and the meatballs were filled with mozarella cheese. Mamma Mia, sooo good! We will definately go back soon and highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion or when you need a real Italian treat!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heinekengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place and great food”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great food and very cozy atmosphere. Great place in NE Calgary. We were a large company and spent a lively time there over several courses.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A terrific business dining experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This evening we were treated to a terrific Italian feast at La Brezza. The bruschetta was rich and nicely garlicky, the antipasto platter was very flavorful with sausage, eggplant and squid down to perfection, my gluten-free pasta dish was to die for but by the time the meat dish came I was far to full to fully appreciate the efforts made to make a gluten-free chicken meal for me. It looked tasty but .... The staff was very attentive and Mr Abdi was most gracious and entertaining. I don't know why it has taken us so long to have a meal at La Brezza, but it won't be our last - for sure!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnstoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at La Brezza Ristorante, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about La Brezza Ristorante.

25 years in business has taught me the value of feedback and nobody knows my business better than the customers i love. Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are honoured that you came to La Brezza and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Have a wonderful day.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VG Italian in Little Italy”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

One of the cornerstone Ital spots in Little Italy. Entertaining service and very good food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Howdy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Brezza Ristorante also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to La Brezza Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing