We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO CROWDED AND WAY TOO NOISY”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #130 of 3,875 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 24
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southeast Calgary
Description: Located only a block away from the Chinook Center, Calgary’s most popular mall, the Macleod Trail Cactus Club is in the middle of the action. The restaurant has won awards for “Best Patio in the City” - not surprising when you consider the luxurious fire feature that is one of only two in the company. In addition, the location boasts both award winning service and the culinary genius of Canada’s only Iron Chef, Rob Feenie.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I like this restaurnat but they need to expand it fo rmore room. We were sat beside a closed outside door- which had a bad draft. The server put menues down to try and block the draft. Still cool. I had the blackened chicken - which was good but i found overpriced for what you got. My friend had the cajun chicken burger- she said it was good but way too much bread. service was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bernadette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Hi Bernadette,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at our original Calgary location on Macleod Trail. We are a lively bunch, and the restaurant can get a little louder when it is full with guests. Please know you can always let a manager know if we can change the temperature or music volume if it is bothersome and we would be more than happy to assist you! We are sorry to hear that the food ordered was not to your liking- our menu is always evolving with us, and I recommend giving one of our new dishes a try!

Again thank you for your comments, as we always appreciate feedback from our guests and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Stacey S
Day Manager, Macleod Trail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Went for a birthday dinner with family. Service was excellent and very friendly staff. Restaurant was very busy but we got a table in about 10 minutes. Appetizers and drinks came quickly and the food quality and taste was excellent. The same for the main courses. Good portions and presentation. The specials and happy hour prices were a hit. Nice birthday cake for the birthday girl in the group. Definitely recommend for good quality food.

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CactusClubCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hi David, thank you for the 5 star review! Awesome to hear you joined us for happy hour and that everything was excellent. Please pass on a happy birthday to the birthday girl. Cheers, Cactus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Visiting family in Calgary, this place came up as a suggested venue to all meet up at. Great choice! Excellent food and service, 7 different dishes and no-one was disappointed with their choice. I would happily eat here again and my only complaint is the intrusive noise level. The building appears to have no sound deadening material and conversation is still very difficult even when there were fewer people. A deliberate ploy to create a buzzing atmosphere? Maybe so, but to me (And my group) definitely it's weakest feature.

Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CactusClubCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hi James, thank you for joining us after you received a recommendation about Cactus. We're glad to hear everyone enjoyed a family evening with us but we are disappointed to hear it was too loud for everyone. Our Macleod Trail location is one of our smaller locations and we know it can get noisy when the restaurant is full with guests. If you choose to dine with us again, we will be happy to accommodate you in a quieter spot and do our best to make sure everyone in your group is enjoying themselves. We hope to see you again. Cheers, Cactus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I've been searching for good Poke in Calgary since last summer. I just had Tuna Poke at Cactus Club and it was wonderful.
Lots of tuna,mangos,avacado,edemame beans,ginger,radishes etc.
Really delicious with great flavour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunlover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hello sunlover57,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review for Macleod Trail Cactus Club! We very much appreciate feedback from our guests and we are so glad to hear that we were able to provide you with that Poke Bowl you have been looking for! Next time you're in, I highly recommend our brand new Crispy Tofu Bowl as well! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Stacey Smith
Day Manager, Macleod Trail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Outstanding place, and the service was fantastic.
I had the spicy chicken meal, that came with mashed potatoes, and asparagus, it was one of the best dishes I have had at a restaurant, extremely good.
Our server was fantastic, and it seemed that everyone was helping, and that is so nice to see at a restaurant now a days, total teamwork.
My wife and brother in-laws meal were also fantastic, and he is from Edmonton and thought it was better than the restaurant there.
Can't say enough, we will be back
Were there Sunday for dinner, May 27th.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 836eldent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, Manager at Cactus Club Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hello 836eldent,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Macleod Trail Cactus Club. We very much appreciate feedback from our guests and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our classic Blackened Creole Chicken! We are glad that we were able to provide you with a great experience, and we look forward to hosting you again next time you visit Calgary!
Sincerely,
Stacey Smith
Day Manager, Macleod Trail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing