We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I booked through expedia & stayed for 2 nights. First, you will notice the rooms are "nonrefundable"- that is because as soon as you see your room & the hotel you will want to leave & get your money back.They make sure this is not possible.. Hotel California?

The rooms on the 4 th floor are EXTREMELY smoky. I requested a non smoking room but that was not available to me since I booked through expedia apparently. It appears that expedia customers are given the worse rooms in the hotel. The front desk suggested I should have booked "directly through the hotel" instead of going through Expedia - that way they would have been able to give me a better room apparently.

The general cleanliness of the bedding & room was poor.

The attitude of the front desk was not at all accomodating.

The free breakfast was a disappointment.

The room backed onto Macleod Trail & was noisy.

The stay was underwhelming. You are better off to go across the street to the Wingate. It may be a few dollars more but you get a better breakfast, free internet & a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    120
    95
    48
    44
See reviews for
161
60
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were desperate after falling asbestos sent us into sudden renovations. The manager gave us a great rate for seventeen days and the entire staff was amazing. Everyone, including: front desk, cleaning staff, breakfast staff, maintenance, the manager and the owners were friendly and helpful. With a king bedroom, microwave, fridge, brand-new sofa bed, who could ask for more? But there was more. My daughter enjoyed the pool and water-slide everyday and had a hot breakfast before school. The breakfast lady even put Treehouse on the restaurant TV so my daughter didn't have to see the tragic news stories. We are SO grateful. This hotel turned our disaster into a happy get-away. You're a winner Shawnessy Super 8.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEDLEY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Price was the determining factor for our "girls" weekend trip but we would save longer in future to upgrade from this budget hotel. Sharing the hotel with a couple of Hockey teams while their parents partied in the breakfast room did not make for a pleasant weekend! The security staff were very busy handling the complaints from us and other guests about unsupervised boys running through the halls yelling on both Friday and Saturday nights. I guess sleeping on 2 nights out of the 4 was good for this hotel, now I see why it is non-refundable as after Friday night I would have moved to another hotel if given the option.

Room Tip: Don't book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrairieGirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is an okay hotel. We got a deal because we booked online early.we stayed in the king suite with 2 pull out couches. The couches could be replaced or fixed up. They are really worn out.

The pool is great! The breakfast was convienient. The location was poor for us as we were traveling to banff and other activities that required us to drive through rush hour traffic. It would have been much better for us to stay on the north side of town.

It is a tricky entrance to find, but it was great to be located by the walmart for silly things we needed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northtwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just came home from a weekend in Calgary where we stayed at the Super 8 in South Calgary/Shawnessy. It was a typical Super 8 with free breakfast (not bad) and free wifi (very good). Parking was free as well. The hotel was clean and beds were comfortable, but the carpet could use an update. We stayed in room 205, which was close to the elevators (no noise noticed). The hotel is located on a busy road (McLeod Trail) but we were on the opposite side of the hotel so road noise was not an issue. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. It looks like the kids would have fun in the pool and with the water slide but we did not use it ourselves. I would stay here again even though the pillows were kinda lumpy. The location is really good with restaurants and shops all around this area, lots within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Property: Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,255 - ₹ 9,488
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area Alberta
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing