We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very mixed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very mixed...”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great location if you want to be on the TransCanada highway - road to Banff. Across from Olympic park, great ski-jump etc. This is essentially a motel that has some pretentions. The rooms are tastefully furnished, very pleasant, but look closer and you'll see cheap finishings that won't last. Beds are comfortable, covers a bit polyestery. I don't think this hotel owns a vacuum cleaner. The breakfast room's carpet was filthy, full of dropped "things" as was the hallway. Breakfast buffet was okay - if you're reading this outside of N. America or England, you might find the lack of international fare or healthy fare off-putting. Fresh fruit salad was nice, but that's about it. No yogurt or cheese. A few old looking "pastries" and the usual toast and bagels. eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes...
The hotel has a decent size pool and a "gym" with a few machines. Not much.
All in all, not a great deal for just under $200 a night. Lots of fast food places all around. This is not a walking area, however, so be prepared to zip out on the highway for your entertainment.
I liked that fact that the windows opened and there was a balcony.

Room Tip: YOu may have a nicer view if you face the ski jump; on the other hand, you'll be right on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityCountryMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsCalgary304, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hi CityCountryMouse,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West.

We greatly appreciate your review and we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and letting us know about your experience at our property.

We are pleased to know that you find our location very convenient. Canada Select has completed their inspection in our property and rated us to be a 3.5 Star hotel. Most of our rooms have been completely renovated with new furniture and décor to ensure that we surpass guests’ expectations. All of our guestrooms will be renovated by the 4th quarter of this year. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Four Comfort Beds that other guests also love. We would like to apologize if our dining area as well as our Food & Beverage Team did not exceed your expectations. Our restaurant is currently being renovated; it will be completed mid June. This is being done to ensure that all our guests have better atmosphere and bigger space for dining. At the moment all food service is currently being done in one of our function spaces. Both our Maintenance Team as well as Food & Beverage Team is working harder to ensure that the dining area is spotless. Your insight regarding the food choices being offered in our breakfast buffet is also greatly appreciated. This has been brought to our Food & Beverage Manager so she may review and act on it.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the review you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Please feel free to contact us as we are hoping to have another opportunity to provide you with an excellent experience.

Luanne Villajoaquin
Marketing Manager
Luanne.villajoaquin@fourpoints-calgary.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    120
    69
    27
    15
See reviews for
128
57
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My stay was "okay". Stayed two nights in a newly renovated room.

Pros: clean, nicely decorated, comfy bed and pillows, friendly staff, easy location to find, plenty of parking.

Cons: I think they should have waited a bit before booking anyone in the renovated rooms. The heater did not work at all (was upgraded to a wall thermostat). The hotel info books had no information in them, just empty binders. Sound travels quite a bit which made the hockey guys partying at 3am ten times worse. Breakfast the first morning tasted stale?

Note: this location is still under reovations, there were quite a few old doors outside the elevators and the men start working (banging and throwing old things out the window into a dumpster) at 8:30am sharp.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsCalgary304, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi DK154,

Thank you for staying at the Four Points By Sheraton Calgary West. We greatly appreciate your review and we value your feedback.

Please know that our guests’ satisfaction is on top of our priorities. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our brand new décor, beds and pillows as well as our spotless room. All of our staff do everything they can to ensure that guests feel welcome and comfortable during their entire stay. We apologize if you had challenges with our HVAC. Our Maintenance Manager has resolved the issue to ensure that it is now working properly. Our Housekeeping Department has checked all rooms to ensure that all guestrooms have the hotel information sheets in the desks. We also would like to apologize for the noise that was caused by other guests. We have a 10PM quiet time to ensure that everyone gets the sleep they well deserved. The hotel renovation will be completed on the 4th quarter of this year and this is being done to ensure that we surpass our guests’ expectations. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We are looking forward to your next stay. Please let me know if there’s anything we can assist you with.

Sincerely yours,

Luanne Villajoaquin
Marketing Manager
403.220.1802
Luanne.villajoaquin@fourpoints-calgary.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermette
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is located across from the Olympic Park in Calgary. On clear sunny morning you can see the magestic Rocky Mountains on the horizon. The view is lovely. This hotel is still under renovations especially the restaurant. They are still able to serve people. Other fast food restaurants are located across the street. Our stay was very pleasant. The rooms were very clean, nice thick towels, and the hotel personnel were very helpful. I came on a school trip with 8 students. Rates were very reasonable for both a single room and a Queen suit. Great pool facilities.

Room Tip: Check to see which rooms have a view of the Olympic Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsCalgary304, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Bernice L,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West.

We are very pleased to know that you had a great stay during your last visit. Our unique location that gives you that magnificent view is one of the many assets of our property. We are happy to announce that our newly renovated restaurant which is Ric’s Lounge & Grill will be open in June 2012. More so, we are glad to know that our Food & Beverage team as well as our hotel staff has exceeded your expectations. We always do what we can to ensure that our guests feel special. We greatly appreciate your review and we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and letting us know about your experience at our property. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me if there’s anything I can assist you with.

Luanne Villajoaquin
Marketing Manager
403.22.1802
luanne.villajoaquin@fourpoints-calgary.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Traveling for work and needed a place on the outskirts of town. Another colleague recommended this hotel. About ten days before my stay, plans were changed and I tried to cancel this reservation. Hotel refused and said they would charge my credit card even though we were more than a week out.
Room was clean and comfortable enough, but the bathroom faucet had almost no pressure. The water came out like so much pillow-drool.
Heard partying down the hall in the evening- people moving between two rooms, leaving their doors open to facilitate easier partying, I guess. I went to the front desk at one point in the evening to ask about controlling the noise. I found blood on the floor of the lobby and four police officers dealing with some of the guests. I guess they had broken up a fight.
Was awakened about six times between midnight and 3 am by guests loudly- very loudly- returning to their rooms.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank don e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsCalgary304, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi Don E,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West.

We greatly appreciate your review and we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and letting us know about your experience at our property.

We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the noise caused by other guests. This was a very serious incident and we had to notify the authorities immediately to help us control the situation. This is a one-time occurrence and we have taken extra measures to prevent this from happening again. We have a no noise policy in place which is at 10PM to ensure that guests can sleep quietly. Moreover, our standard cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to the arrival date. However some preferred or discounted rates have different cancellation terms. We also would like to apologize for the water pressure; it is highly unusual for our property to have low water pressure. Our Maintenance Manager had already resolved the issue and all water taps have good water pressure. Your security and satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the review you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Please feel free to contact us as we are hoping to have another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Luanne Villajoaquin
Marketing Manager
luanne.villajoaquin@fourpoints-calgary.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife, my 4 year old son and myself stayed at this hotel for two nights while my son was having surgery in the city. We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the surgery center as well as it is right on the edge of the city from where I was coming. It is directly accross from Canada Olympic Park (COP) I would say the hotel is priced a bit high (150 bucks) for a room I can probably get at a super 8 or best western of the same quality for around 100. The reception area is beautiful with a nice waterall. The hotel also features a pool with waterslide, hot tub, fitness area, spa, hair salon and restaurant. The pool was a little cold for my 4 year olds liking, the waterslide ridges hurt your back while sliding down and the pool is quite shallow where you come out of the waterslide. The hot tub is nice and hot. The room was decent but nothing too special, flat screen tv, coffee maker, fridge, beds are comfortable. My biggest complaint would probably be about the "see through" white fabric curtains. They do nothing to keep the light out of your room or people from looking in. There is a Denny's, Mcdonalds, Wendy's, gas stations all within the same city block. I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustintimeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsCalgary, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi JustintimeAlberta,

Thank you for staying at the Four Points By Sheraton Calgary West. We surely hope that everything went well on your son’s surgery. We greatly appreciate your review and we recognize that you feel that our rate is relatively higher than the other properties you mentioned. Our rates do fluctuate depending on seasons as well as availability however on your next stay you may wish to speak to the hotel directly as we do have discounted rates for guests who are in town for the hospitals. We are very sorry to hear that the water in the pool area was too cold for your 4 year old and that you did not enjoy the waterslide as much as most of our guests do. As for the pool temperature, it is standard that we maintain it at 81 degrees Celsius. We apologize for the see through curtains; however all of our rooms should have black out drapes behind the see-through curtains. Thank you very much for your review. Your thoughts and opinions mean a lot to us. This will help us in serving you and our other guests better.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

David Juras
Director of Operations
1 877.202.4441 ext 402
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
Address: 8220 Bowridge Cres NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#37 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,090 - ₹ 10,789
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from WinSport Canada Olympic Park, Four Points Calgary West Hotel is near downtown and only 40 minutes from the Canadian Rocky Mountains. We have meeting space, a spa, and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Calgary West
Four Points By Sheraton Calgary West Hotel Calgary
Four Points Calgary West
Sheraton Calgary
Calgary Four Points
Calgary Sheraton
Four Points By Sheraton Calgary West Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing