We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Quiet, very helpful front desk staff !”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very helpful and consistently pleasant front desk staff made this stay the best it could be. Beds are comfortable, room was good temperature. It could use a very good cleaning of the carpets, and some paint in areas ... however, of other places I have tried in the South Calgary area, this one would be my choice to stay again. We did not go to the breakfast at all, so cannot provide comment on that, other than I know it was available. We stayed 3 nights. A tip: parking spots are tightly marked, so street parking in the evening if leaving in the morning can be a good option to consider.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

My family (my partner, my sister, my 2 y/o son) and I had come to Calgary at the end of August 2011 for some back to school shopping and our 'big' summer trip. We were travelling on tight budget and accommodations can eat away at that budget very quickly if not careful, so after extensive research and reading MANY reviews of hotels within our price range we decided on Econo Lodge South.
Our room was a standard hotel room, everything was clean and where it should be. The bathroom was small but had a tub. The beds were comfortable and the only thing that we struggled with was the temperature control, warm then too cool. But it was not a big deal at all, I didn't even mention anything to the staff.
My main concern was safety having 2 children with us, after coming back from going to get some dinner the first night we came back to the hotel and went to our room which was on the first floor past the front desk and to my surprise there was a door blocking the entire hallway. This made me feel secure that this door was guarded by the front desk staff all night, it may be trivial but it made me feel more comfortable.
The next day we were going to the zoo and I was on the zoo website and found that because the weather was less than perfect they offered and "rainy day" discount coupon. Of course I had no printer, I asked the front desk staff if they would mind printing off a coupon for us and she was more than happy to help us out. I found the staff very hospitable and friendly. The breakfast was nice pretty standard continental and the room it was served in was nice and big with a lot of tables and a big projector TV as well as a little balcony area.
All in all was a good stay and I would come back. I enjoy travelling although most of the time cannot afford more than an budget hotel and I was satisfied with our stay and my family thoroughly enjoyed our 'big' trip.

Room Tip: If you have safety concerns the first floor is pretty secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarynfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

we checked in on the 11 of feb and out on the 12 we had trouble with the heater on the wall the afternoon shift was very nice about it he brought extra blankets and a small heater which helped the next day i checked with front desk was told maintaneice would fix it but after talking to her 4 times she want home she didnot offer another room just put me off till she went home i was able to get holed of the caretaker who brought a bigger heater and said no maintence on sunday. on monday the same girl was on i asked what her problem was with me she said the night should have taken care of me and my problems so she took off ten dollars off my bill i will tell every one never stay at this motel down the street is better places to stay

Room Tip: go some place better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank soltej11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The first day we were there, I could smell cigarette smoke in the room. I don't know if this hotel is old enough to be of the day when EVERY room was a smoking room and maybe it was in the carpet? But it was gone the second day so I have a feeling the previous tenant had a smoke or two. TINY cramped bathroom, continental breakfast...meh but I've been places that gave Hostess Ding Dongs and called it continental breakfast.

Nice staff, helpful and, contrary to other comments, the area wasn't that bad. It was all commerce but Chinook mall was a few blocks away and the LRT runs from there so you can get to the zoo or Heritage Park easily.

Good sized hot tub and 'decent' pool (we had it all to ourselves), all in all, worth the money. Don't expect fancy, expect comfort, plain and affordable.

Room Tip: Many people said the front street is noisy. (I live on a noisy street so didn't notice).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Not too bad for economy. Rooms are touch-and-go.. nice bathrooms, shoddy furniture. Terrible C. Breakfast. 5/10

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Rooms
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
265 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
718 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 110 in Calgary
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 7505 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: ₹ 3,990 - ₹ 5,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge South Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing