We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to a Farmer's Market!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Close to a Farmer's Market!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The first day we were there, I could smell cigarette smoke in the room. I don't know if this hotel is old enough to be of the day when EVERY room was a smoking room and maybe it was in the carpet? But it was gone the second day so I have a feeling the previous tenant had a smoke or two. TINY cramped bathroom, continental breakfast...meh but I've been places that gave Hostess Ding Dongs and called it continental breakfast.

Nice staff, helpful and, contrary to other comments, the area wasn't that bad. It was all commerce but Chinook mall was a few blocks away and the LRT runs from there so you can get to the zoo or Heritage Park easily.

Good sized hot tub and 'decent' pool (we had it all to ourselves), all in all, worth the money. Don't expect fancy, expect comfort, plain and affordable.

Room Tip: Many people said the front street is noisy. (I live on a noisy street so didn't notice).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    59
    30
    20
    19
See reviews for
37
42
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Not too bad for economy. Rooms are touch-and-go.. nice bathrooms, shoddy furniture. Terrible C. Breakfast. 5/10

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Presently staying at the Econolodge. The room is clean and the staff is super nice and helpful. For the price you can't go wrong. The fitness room is a real bonus. I highly recommend this place, you won't be dissapointed. Nick F.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfilipako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

For 100$ a kingsize bed, two burner kitchenette, microwave, fridge, coffee pot. Can't complain, this isn't the ritz people but it's affordable.

If I had to pick something... the dishes were all mismatched dollarama plates and random china, and the pots and pans were worn out and dirty, prompting me to was everything when I got there. Only butter knifes, no sharp ones to cut say, an onion?
Front desk had nothing extra to help me out. Just said sorry.

Oh well. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel has seen better days, but the price reflects that.
The unit was equipped with a TV, desk, queen bed, fridge, stove & microwave (& dishes). They also offered free Wi-fi.
The carpet had stains but the room appeared to be clean.

The hotel was busy the night we were there & as a result, there was a fair amount of noise from the adjoining units & the floor above.

An adequate continental breakfast is served in a nice sunny room.

The location is convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glbkge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Property: Econo Lodge South
Address: 7505 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,788 - ₹ 7,769
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge South Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing