We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This place was great. I had driven all night and was rude to the staff, however they remained courteous and helpful. Clean rooms, great free breakfast with yogurt and waffles. Went down the waterslide twice! The price was good and if you let them know you plan to stay for a while you can receive a discount. Good touchdown spot for Calgary arrival.

Room Tip: I tried three different rooms and they were all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

My friend and I just got back to Ontario from staying in Calgary for 5 Nights. We choose this hotel for several of the reviews were good, decent price, and on the "main strip" not far from downtown. We got a room on the 3rd floor, back side...very quiet.

Overall this hotel has decent staff that take care of this hotel very well. They are pretty friendly and welling to help when you need it.The Maids always cleaned our room every day and made the beds. None of our stuff was ever moved and nothing was taken. The beds are awesome there...very comfy. The room includes a coffee maker, large bar fridge (works well), iron & ironing board.

The Business Center and Guest Laundry they have is a great asset, the laundry can be abit expensive at $7 per load (including wash, dry, soap pack, bounce pack). But still a good thing to provide if someone requires it. I did a load and my clothes came out fine.

The breakfast they provide is good, the older Lady that runs it is really nice and great to talk with. She always made sure everything was stalked up and the "hot food" was warm. I was only expecting the hotel to provide a basic continental breakfast as many only serve cereal, oatmeal, toast, waffles, coffee and tea. Comfort Inn provides some other stuff that was a nice surprise. In the breakfast they also include yogurt, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage (patties), juices, plus everything I mentioned above. Definitely more then I expected and all of it really good.

The added touch, for me, was the pool and hot tub this hotel offers. I can say it was nice and kept pretty well. However, I was disappointed; minor things that relate back to a post on Trip Advisor from a year ago regarding the hot tub. The hot tub was more of a warm bath with very little jet action. You would turn it on and hear things start up, but the jets just wouldn't "put out" like a normal hot tub would. The other downside was the pool, it was kind of cold, thought it should have been warmer.

One piece of advise...and it ticked me off on check-out. They have this $2.10+tax fee for the in-room safe. Apparently you get charged it no matter if you use it or not. We didn't use ours, had no reason too. So upon check-out they tried to bill us for an extra $12 bucks, they said it was a mandatory charge. I pulled out my confirmation, it did say $2.10 a day for in-room safe, but NOTHING said it was mandatory. So I said if this is mandatory, why does it not indicate it somewhere...They promptly re-adjust my bill and not charge it.
SIDE NOTE...if its a mandatory whether you use it or not you should say that on the confirmations and reservation page, and again at check-in. Otherwise don't try to charge it!

So in conclusion, friendly staff, great breakfast and had a wonderful trip (first time flying for me). Good price, good location and close to everything.
A few minor things with this hotel, but nothing big to make not consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KeyKing51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We have stayed here before but this time it was under sad circumstances. We had to book at the last minute and the staff and the room made it a little easier. Good location for main routes to other parts of the city. Nice and clean

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaroleDreamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Hotel is a bit dated, but always clean. Good price, staff is nice, close to downtown/17 ave/ Stampede is likely the best part. Although there is a bar across the street, and it is right on Macleod trail, noise has never been an issue. Most hotels are completely non smoking now, but this one has a few smoking rooms, which is a bit of a perk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reiemiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Your average hotel. Good price, nice and clean, staff were friendly. Just stayed one night.
No reason why I would not stay again. My room overlooked Macleod trail but I did not hear a thing from the road. When booking I was a bit hesitant on the location, but it was all fine.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gio044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
262 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 110 in Calgary
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South

Address: 4611 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: ₹ 5,085 - ₹ 6,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites(R) South is located minutes from downtown Calgary and the Pengrowth Saddledome, home of the Calgary Flames hockey team. This Calgary hotel is minutes from the Calgary Exhibition & Stampede grounds, the famous Calgary Tower, the Calgary Zoo and the Calgary TELUS Convention Centre. Guests of this Comfort Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy the indoor heated pool, two-storey water slide, hot tub and fitness room. Corporate travellers will appreciate the business center and meeting rooms that accommodate up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites South Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn And Suites South
Comfort Inn Calgary
Comfort Inn South
Calgary Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites South Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing