We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre(Calgary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ExecSuite(Calgary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
50
73
42
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
73
42
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown areasmall elevatorparking lot across the streetc trainfree breakfastpancake machineback alleyplastic cutleryeggs and sausagefridge and microwavequeen sizebreakfast barbig tvamenities includingyogurtminute walkhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location in downtown Calgary. The free fare zone Ctrain along 7th Avenue is just one street over and is very convenient. It is also very walkable to the more happening parts of 8th Avenue where the restaurants and patios are.

The room itself is a fairly standard Holiday Inn room. Service is decent at best. The free breakfast was just ok - Have had better at other Holiday Inn properties.

Staff is not overly friendly but not rude either, so I can live with that. Good budget hotel if you are not looking to stay at the Hyatt or Westin but want to remain downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveller3654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We checked in here just before the Easter weekend. The hotel is very central to downtown. The parking was included, which was nice. The gentlemen at reception (Marty) was very helpful. I am a Priority Club member. We were provided with a generous late checkout (2 pm), bottled water and a snack. After driving for 7 or so hours, it was great to come to this place. The bed was very comfortable. Our room had a balcony, which you don't see too often anymore. I loved that there was a microwave in the room and even some disposable dishes! I have rated the hotel as a 3 only because I think the rates are a little high, and I noticed that the back alley by the parking lot is a little sketchy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear AmandaWild,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations and hope you had a good Easter weekend. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your rate expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27732229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

You can always count on the Holiday Inn for a clean and comfortable stay. Linens were clean and room was updated with a large flat screen tv and modern decor. The black-out curtains are greatly appreciated and it wasn't too noisy, considering it is in the middle of downtown Calgary. Shower pressure wasn't the greatest. Continental breakfast was standard.

It is a non-smoking building and someone on our floor was smoking. We notified the front desk and asked to be moved to a different floor, however they denied this request (I believe the front reception staff's words were, "Well, are they smoking in YOUR room?"). I felt it was unprofessional and it was enough to turn me away from this hotel in the future.

However, it is a standard and reliable hotel chain and will certainly do for a short-term stay in Calgary.

(Stayed Feb 2010)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Versa6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Versa6565,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location downtown. Rooms very clean and very spacious.
The staff were absolutely wonderful. They were very friendly and made sure that there were no concerns with the room. Sherry Blake, Operations Manager was on site and was very welcoming when we arrived at the hotel. When looking for a place to eat they had some wonderful recommendations and helped to get us accurate yet simple directions to where we wanted to go as we were not familiar with the city. We would definately stay there again, raates were very resonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We arrived early and they let us check in immediately. Super staff and a very, very clean hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsmlcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews