We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Calgary”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is now my sixth or seventh time staying in this hotel, and each time I find more things to like.

It is an all-suite hotel, so the rooms are generally nicer than normal. With the upgrade to the larger suite, it was even more so. Like all Starwood hotels, the bed was great, and overall the room was in very good condition and well kept up. Housekeeping was exceptionally good.

I was not blown away by the fitness club and pool. It is not bad, just nothing special, and when I was there it was crowded most of the time.

On the other hand, the Executive Lounge is excellent. Not only is the space nice (although better in the summer, when you can sit outside on the roof garden), but the breakfast is very good, and the service is friendly and prompt. Even when it got busy, the atmosphere was exactly what you would want, and the service didn`t suffer. (I say this despite the fact that I`ve stayed many times at the Westin Grande Sukhumvit in Bangkok, which has the best Executive Club anywhere. This hotel is right up there.)

I admit a bias to Westins over Sheratons, but I have to say this Sheraton is top of the class. Nothing in Calgary - Starwood or otherwise - competes with the Sheraton Eau Claire.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with Executive Club access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am delighted to learn that we’re the “Best Hotel in Calgary”. I am also pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy our Club Floor Lounge and amenities. You are very much correct, the Club Lounge roof top patio is second to none in Calgary during the warmer weather. Our fitness centre has recently completed an extensive renovation to the new Sheraton Fitness by Core Performance standard. The Health Club has now doubled in size and includes new state of the art cardio and weight equipment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    284
    57
    32
    13
See reviews for
260
240
43
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed here for just one night, but I wish I could have stayed there way more!
Rooms are huge and the thing I definitely loved the most was the Jacuzzi. It was nice to relax in it after a 14 hours flight.
Personnel is outstanding. Always ready to help and very polite.
Would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Corner King Suite – the Jacuzzi is excellent for relaxing, especially after a long flight. I am also very happy that you enjoyed the award winning service provided by our outstanding team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Calgary.

Best Regards,

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a short one night stay at this hotel en route to Banff. The bed was big and comfy, the room was quiet, and we slept well. The room was huge with a kitchen and sitting area. The location was great, being directly across the park/river front which has miles of running paths. We felt that the price was normal for a downtown hotel. However, it would be a nice perk to have free internet in the room. Valet is expensive, but for the location it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am delighted to learn that your short stay was a "comfy" one. I’m glad that you were able to take full advantage of your suite configuration and the surrounding amenities. The Eau Claire area is truly a gem within the city of Calgary. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Canada.

Warm Regards,

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

As you first check in, you can't help but notice a certificate from Trip Advisor proudly displayed proclaiming the high ratings provided to date by other guests. I have stayed here a number of times over the last five years and I must admit that besides location, there are a number of positive qualities to this hotel. With that said, there are obvious issues and I'm quite disappointed other guests seem to ignore them, along with the ridiculously high prices, and fixate on the location and the relatively few positives when providing reviews. While the rooms are large and spacious, the last two I have stayed in look identical to those I first stayed in years ago and are starting to show obvious wear and tear. The rooms are in dire need of updating and some obvious maintenance. The fitness facilities (probably being overly generous - room is probably more appropriate) have always left something to be desired. On my last visit, the fitness room was under renovation which is quite overdue and great news at the same time. In lieu, there was a pathetic substitute of several pieces of cardiovascular equipment in two rooms with beds removed with the headboards still fixed to the wall. After taking a look at the "temporary" fitness facilities I asked at the front desk if passes to the adjacent YMCA were available. I was directed to the concierge desk where I purchased a pass. Later that day I visited the YMCA only to find out that I did not receive a discount for purchasing the pass from the hotel, but had actually paid full price. Given the fact the "fitness facilities" were under renovation and the temporary facilities were so pathetic, I was quite upset to realize the hotel had charged me full price in order to get a decent work-out during my stay given the price I was paying for my room. I only wish I had taken pictures of the "temporary" fitness facilities to show others just how pathetic they were. While I will most likely stay here again, I ask other guests to be more objective when giving future reviews. The ownership has obviously neglected to reinvest in the property over the recent past while they have continued to raise prices through the roof. This hotel falls well short of what a guest should expect given the hype and the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneCub42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your thorough review of your recent stay, we truly appreciate your honest and candid critique. We apologize for the inconveniences that you have encountered during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to experience our newly transformed Sheraton Fitness by Core Performance gym.

Best Regards

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Not a "glam" hotel but very nice for business or a famiy trip. Rooms are spacious and quiet, with flat screen TVs in both living/dining area and bedroom and an entertaining selection of free TV channels. Large desk doubles as a dining table with chairs on both sides. A small microwave is provided but there's no room inside the mini-bar/ fridge, where you'll the milk for the provided Tazo tea and Starbucks filter coffee (paper cups).

No problems connecting to the internet, daily charge $14.95.

Mattress and cotton bed linens/duvet are so comfy you won't want to get out of bed. Plentiful wood hangers in a bedroom closet sized for two. Tub/toilet area should have a fan and lighting in makeup/sink area could be brighter. Thick cotton bathrobes, blow dryer and Sheraton's "Shine" shampoo/conditioner/soap etc. provided.

A clipping found under the couch was the only reason the room didn't get an "excellent" rating for cleanliness.

Drinks are reasonable at the bar. We didn't try the Irish pub on the main floor. The banquet room hors d'oeuvres & dinner was delicious and the service staff friendly and courteous.

There's an Irish pub on the main floor, low-cost food chains (Subway, Tim Hortons) and cafes just up the street, family-friendly restaurants (Old Spaghetti Factory and Joey's) across the road and finer dining nearby.

Door staff made sure we didn't have to wait for a taxi to the airport. Otherwise, we didn't need to rent a car (although gas is currently 20 cents less a litre than in Ontario) or take a cab. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown offices and shopping (no provincial sales tax here). In the other direction are paths for running and cycling along the river.

Didn't have time to use the hotel's hot tub or fitness facilities but we enjoyed our weekend stay here in a prosperous, pleasant, friendly and clean city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilfingled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete such a wonderfully extensive and detailed review of your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay, the amenities and services, along with the surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,239 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
657 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#27 of 109 in Calgary
1,432 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire

Property: Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Address: Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 255 Barclay Parade SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#11 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#21 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,102 - ₹ 20,391
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting our Calgary Hotel for business or pleasure, you'll never feel more at home than at the all-suite four-diamond Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel Calgary
Sheraton Calgary
Sheraton Hotel Calgary Eau Claire
Calgary Sheraton
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing