We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Badly needs renos” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Badly needs renos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We needed an overnight bed for a next morning flight, and chose this hotel on the fly because it appeared to have had higher rates that were hugely discounted. On the plus side, the front desk staff were helpful, as were all other staff that we ran across.
They were in the process of renovating their restaurant, so at least they're getting somewhere, and their temporary restaurant set up served good food. The lobby area was decent and appeared clean. The rooms were outdated, old, smelly, musty, and despite being non-smoking, smelt of smoke; the heating system was so noisy that I thought there was a large truck idling outside our window all night. The television was extremely ancient, it kept upping the volume and changing the channels when we weren't even touching the remote. We ran water in the bathroom sink, and you could hear it gurgle in the bathtub drain. The bathtub itself was dirty and the enamel had no shine. The kleenex holder was splattered with who-knows-what all over it. If you ran the tub water, the whole thing started to back up until the tub was half full of dirtyish water. It didn't help that our neighbors were noisy and someone had pulled a hallway table so that it blocked off the hallway; but the night staff did come and deal with that. The gym was very old, the hot tub had floaties and probably needed replacing too. So, great staff, free airport shuttle; but until they overhaul those rooms, give it a large miss.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghost07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre. I am happy to see that you experienced good service and enjoyed your meal, but I am sorry that you did not enjoy your room. I have advised the Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments about the issues you had encountered with the fitness centre and hot tub as well as the issues with the heating, bathroom and television in your room. As you had mentioned, we are currently undergoing renovations in our retaurant, as well, we are updating our lounge and lobby. The guestrooms are also currently undergoing improvements with all new plumbing and new flat screen televisions. We would like to have an opportunity to make this up to you, and hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    174
    106
    39
    31
See reviews for
139
85
44
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here for a conference. Not impressed. The room at first sight looked clean but then it looked like the rugs weren't vacuumed and thing were very dust. The bathroom was fairly clean. There were some sketchy people in the lobby and waiting for the elevator. I found this somewhat disconcerting being a female travelling alone. I could barely wait to get home. In terms of conference facilities. The sound proofing was horrible. If I could do it all again I would stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv_Travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello Luv_Travel07,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre. I am sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your stay . I have advised the appropriate departments in regards to the cleanliness of the carpets and the sound proofing of the conference facilities. We take the security of our guest's with the utmost importance and apologize that you did not feel comfortable during your stay. We hope that you consider staying with us again in a hopes that we can make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Numerous times we have stayed at this hotel and opted for the "Stopover Rate". It is an excellent and well priced option for people who are going on a holiday. We spend the night in a comfortable, clean room and in the morning take the shuttle to the airport. After arriving back in Canada, we phone the shuttle service, go back to the hotel and pick up our car. This is far more economical than leaving a vehicle near the airport as you get 7 free days of parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello DafyAlberta,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the great rate with our Stopover Package and hope that you had a great holiday. We look foward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Wow. We made a reservation for 25. When we got there, it was in a room set for 15. The people who arrived first ordered drinks, the waiter was very confused already. He brought in more tables and chairs. The drinks came 45 minutes later. After we had all ordered our meals, we ordered anotherdrink - the food came and everyone was nearly done eating before any drinks came out. We told the guy to give everyone individual, separate bills, still, every single bill was incorrect! Seriously - not even my sister, who had a water and a flatbread had the correct items on her bill. No one switched places, we all stayed im the same spot, that was ridiculous. It took over 2 hours to get everyone's bills correct and paid. Good thing we didn't have to be on the airport shuttle until 3:00 am! The food was good though

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello Colleen F,

Thank you for your valuable feedback in regards to your meal at Horizon's Bistro. I am happy to see that you did enjoy the food. I have shared your poor service experience with the management at Horizon's Bistro and do apologize as this is not the service we are accustomed too. We would like to have the opportunity to make this up to you, and hope that you will consider dining with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

For a Coast this was not up to par, the whole building was old and run down, the hallways smelled like old cigarette smoke and the staff were merely adequate. I had to move rooms for my second night as they had to turn the hot water off in one of the towers; strangely the day before I heard someone at the front desk talking to the staff about switching rooms due to hot water issues, did they put me in a room with hot water issues that they were already aware of?

There was also a lack of electrical outlets in the rooms, I understand it's an older building but...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blubouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello blubouie,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at the Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre. I would like to sincerely apologize for the hot water issues you had experienced during your stay. We are currently upgrading our plumbing in all of the guestrooms to correct this issue and can assure you that this issue has been resovled in a majority of our guestrooms and will be fixed in all of them shortly. We are also going to be undergoing renovations and upgrades this spring and summer of our restaurant, lounge and lobby areas. We hope that you consider staying with us again and checking out our new decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#38 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
#58 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1316 33 St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#32 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,267 - ₹ 11,159
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the Calgary International Airport and the city center, in the heart of North East Calgary's business community; The Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre is your home away from home where you will experience contemporary accommodations, friendly service and exceptional dining. Within minutes from the Trans-Canada highway and in the midst of two shopping centers, dining and entertainment and within walking distance of the nearby light rail transit system. As well as within very close proximity to the Calgary Zoo, TELUS Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Stampede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing