We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Arts(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$ 107
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
US$ 127
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 161
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aloft Calgary University(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 237
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 198
US$ 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 133
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$ 123
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
179
12
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
12
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhot tublovely homelovely hostsnose hill parkhelpful with directionscommon areasconvenient locationteriensuitelrtdowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at the English Day Bed, Breakfast, and Spa. Teri is a great hostess and creates a magical breakfast. Being on a quest for the world's best French Toast, I can attest that she's near the top. The English is very comfortable and a great location. We hopped on Calgary's excellent light rail system just up the street from the English and it took us right to the Stampede.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBallNever2Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and I stayed with my sister and brother-in-law here for two nights recently, and were really impressed with the quality of accommodation, superb breakfasts and friendliness of the owners Teri and David. We can't rate this B&B highly enough and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying near Calgary who wants some personal homely attention rather than bland corporate hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_g_haywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We found this B&B easily with directions from the Airport. It is also quite close to the station where you can park and then ride the Calgary Transit system into the town centre and wherever you wish to travel.

We found Teri particulary helpful with regards to giving us directions to wherever we wished to travel. She is an excellent cook and changed the breakfasts in accordance with our likes and dislikes. There is a hot tub to use if desired and also a spacious living area. You can also if you wish cook in their kitchen but we preferred to eat out. All in all a very good choice and at a reasonable cost.

The only thing that put us off slightly was the fact that they were not there to greet us when we arrived so had to let ourselves in and find our way round. We did not meet them until the following morning.

Room Tip: The Egyptian room is the nicest as it is a little brighter and with direct access to the hot tub if you wish to use.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieAnn187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English5544, Owner at English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we appreciate it! We are sorry we are not able to greet all of our guests personally. When we make a reservation with our guests we make arrangements for them to get into the B&B if we are not available. Everything about our B&B is written down in the welcome guide. We do this for many reasons. Primarily because we don’t want our guests to be worried about an exact check in time if there is something they want to do on the way to the B&B or worried if their flight is late. Our prices reflect that we are not always available but we are happy to provide information at breakfast time and when it works for our schedule. We are thankful for pointing this out to our potential guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

2 of us stayed at the English B&B for 4 nights in Jun. Teri and David were very helpful with advice on how to best get to wherever we wanted to go, in Calgary & slightly beyond. Unlike other B&Bs, they generously allowed guests to use their kitchen to do our own cooking, even creating a space in their fridge to leave some of our fruits and vegetables. Teri & David were very gracious hosts and breakfasts were eagerly anticipated with Teri's delicious personalised cooked breakfast, made even more pleasant with wonderful stories from both. The location is one where you can drive to wherever you want via main roads or highways without having to be stuck in downtown traffic. There is the train station nearby that takes you into downtown, though we didn't use it. We were also pleasantly surprised and relieved that Teri had a traveller's weighing scale to help us manage our packing. We learnt to bring one of our own on future trips.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DancingWabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at this B &B for only one evening.
I must say that our host and hostess were very polite, accommodating and pleasant.
Our stay was short but would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone wishing to stay in Calgary area. Breakfast was most delicious and enough to fill up on. Our room was a nice size including the en-suite. Nice personal touches were the glass of sherry and the use of the kitchen, Internet and the dining room/living room to sit and relax.
Did not use the hot tub
We choose this place as the Wedding we came for was in the same area as well as the Recption Hall was within walking distance.
Very easy to find the very accessible and quick to enter and leave Calgary from all directions
Would we return to this B & B again? Most definitely.
Thank you both for your kind hospitality.

Room Tip: This is a nice cozy place with 2 rooms to choose from Your choice is either to have one room facing the street, and having the hot tub to enter directly from one room or to choose the room at the back facing the back yard which may be a little more quieter Both are very good.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntierainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews