We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #2 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong !”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the English Bed and Breakfast and Day Spa and we were extremely happy. David and Terri are very friendly and experienced travelers so they helped us a lot with our trip. I already miss the morning conversation with them. The place is squeaky clean. The food is simply wonderful. When you check-in, the breakfast menu for days you are going to stay there is gracefully put on your bed-side table. The food is so great that we always looked forward to the next morning.
If you decide to stay there, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KledsonPires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
96
31
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at the English Day Bed, Breakfast, and Spa. Teri is a great hostess and creates a magical breakfast. Being on a quest for the world's best French Toast, I can attest that she's near the top. The English is very comfortable and a great location. We hopped on Calgary's excellent light rail system just up the street from the English and it took us right to the Stampede.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBallNever2Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and I stayed with my sister and brother-in-law here for two nights recently, and were really impressed with the quality of accommodation, superb breakfasts and friendliness of the owners Teri and David. We can't rate this B&B highly enough and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying near Calgary who wants some personal homely attention rather than bland corporate hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_g_haywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We found this B&B easily with directions from the Airport. It is also quite close to the station where you can park and then ride the Calgary Transit system into the town centre and wherever you wish to travel.

We found Teri particulary helpful with regards to giving us directions to wherever we wished to travel. She is an excellent cook and changed the breakfasts in accordance with our likes and dislikes. There is a hot tub to use if desired and also a spacious living area. You can also if you wish cook in their kitchen but we preferred to eat out. All in all a very good choice and at a reasonable cost.

The only thing that put us off slightly was the fact that they were not there to greet us when we arrived so had to let ourselves in and find our way round. We did not meet them until the following morning.

Room Tip: The Egyptian room is the nicest as it is a little brighter and with direct access to the hot tub if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieAnn187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English5544, Owner at English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we appreciate it! We are sorry we are not able to greet all of our guests personally. When we make a reservation with our guests we make arrangements for them to get into the B&B if we are not available. Everything about our B&B is written down in the welcome guide. We do this for many reasons. Primarily because we don’t want our guests to be worried about an exact check in time if there is something they want to do on the way to the B&B or worried if their flight is late. Our prices reflect that we are not always available but we are happy to provide information at breakfast time and when it works for our schedule. We are thankful for pointing this out to our potential guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

2 of us stayed at the English B&B for 4 nights in Jun. Teri and David were very helpful with advice on how to best get to wherever we wanted to go, in Calgary & slightly beyond. Unlike other B&Bs, they generously allowed guests to use their kitchen to do our own cooking, even creating a space in their fridge to leave some of our fruits and vegetables. Teri & David were very gracious hosts and breakfasts were eagerly anticipated with Teri's delicious personalised cooked breakfast, made even more pleasant with wonderful stories from both. The location is one where you can drive to wherever you want via main roads or highways without having to be stuck in downtown traffic. There is the train station nearby that takes you into downtown, though we didn't use it. We were also pleasantly surprised and relieved that Teri had a traveller's weighing scale to help us manage our packing. We learnt to bring one of our own on future trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingWabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#4 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#11 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 5544 Dalhousie Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,922 - ₹ 5,501
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Bed, Breakfast And Day Spa Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing