We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
westlock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in april with friends and had both rooms, so we pretty much had the whole upstairs to ourselves. We played cards, had sherry and went in the hot tub. It was just an all around great experience, from the friendly welcome all the way to the outstanding breakfast. Teri even printed us coupons for our next event in town. They are fabulous people and we would stay there again for sure. We already gave their name to our neighbour.
Carol. S

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
95
31
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westlock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

What a fabulous B&B this is! We felt like we were staying with friends! The rooms were comfortable and sound proof, and the living area felt so relaxing. And the breakfast...superb! I have already shared our B&B with friends! I know we will stay there again! Thanks David and Teri :)

Room Tip: The one room has a patio doors to the hot tub...which was fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
248 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This B&B was BY FAR the best value in comfort, variety and price than the other B&Bs I stayed at this trip, (Simone's B&B, Montreal) and (Cabbageville, Toronto). The home is spacious, super clean, and full of nice touches such as complimentary sherry, soft drinks, juices and a cupboard full of all kinds of tea, cider, hot chocolate and instant coffees, plus a variety of morning newspapers with breakfast. The kitchen was available to guests at all times for preparing meals and storing food in the refrigerator. I also liked the floor and hall lights that came on automatically when I left my room during the night. The rooms have luggage stands and complimentary fluffy robes and slippers for accessing the hot tub, who could ask for more comfort for the price? Indeed, there is more....Teri makes a delicious, healthy gourmet breakfast, a different menu every day, and both she and David were very accommodating and helpful; there's even a complimentary laptop to use, and the signal is strong. The B&B may seem a little out of the way, but it's in a quiet, safe area in NW Calgary, and only a 15 minute walk to the C train, which will take you to the city centre in 15 min. If you don't feel like walking, there are at least two buses which will take you to the C train station. For my trip to the airport, I left the house at 11:05am and arrived at the check-in counter at the airport at 12:45. This would be a great place for an extended stay, as the rooms are spacious and the hosts make you feel welcome to use the living and rec rooms. I need to be back in Calgary in September, and will definitely choose this B&B, thank you Teri and David, for a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose the Egyptian room for easier access to the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xena888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Having stayed in a couple of hotels when in Calgary on business, I wanted a more "home-like" atmosphere. So I stayed with David and Teri at the English Bed and Breakfast. Fantastic!

David and Teri are lovely hosts and the accommodation is great, I really enjoy the freedom of feeling more like I'm staying at home, rather than in a stuffy hotel room. The breakfasts are also fantastic and the value is incredible.

I will be staying with David and Teri every time I visit Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

After several bad and overpriced experiences with other hotels, I thought I will never find my expected place to stay in Calgary!!

I stayed at English Bed and breakfast for one night ( wished was more).Teri & David were above my expectation and I believe 5 stars is far below what they should get!!

The Hotel was super clean , super tidy, super healthy, super in every thing!! The breakfast was backed to me in a friendly way that made me have no worries at all. Definitely,I will go and stay there again!! Thanks Teri & David....

Room Tip: I liked the Egyptian room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doctordog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#18 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel Calgary Airport
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 5544 Dalhousie Drive, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9 , Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,456 - ₹ 6,961
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
English Bed, Breakfast And Day Spa Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing