We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hopefully you are lucky and get a table with a view. The truffle fondues is SOO good . It's a just” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Walliser Stube

The Walliser Stube
Reserve with OpenTable
The Walliser Stube is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 38
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Innovative European alpine cuisine is featured nightly at the intimate Walliser Stube restaurant and wine bar. Choose from a tempting variety of classic Swiss, German and Alpine dishes influenced by regional styles, or experience our authentic Swiss Fondue - an homage to our Swiss Mountain Guide heritage.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hopefully you are lucky and get a table with a view. The truffle fondues is SOO good . It's a just”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Good food, good wine selection, cozy, a bit dark and not always have a wonderful look at the lake

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SabrinaVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    84
    41
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food - Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This restaurant is in the Cheateau Lake Louise in Alberta, Canada. This German restaurant offers wonderful fondue - both meat (Filet mignon) and dessert (chocolate with fruit - which is heavenly). Very busy place - have to make reservation in advance but it's worth it. The earlier the reservation the better the seat if you want a view of Lake Louise! All the food is fabulous. Service is very good and a very elegant restaurant. Highly recommended. Will be a very memorable meal in a beautiful location!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

I was disappointed in this restaurant. The prices were very expensive and the food was average quality. The staff was not very knowledgeable about vegetarianism... They brought me a salad with anchovy dressing and with the dessert plate provided marshmallows and whipped cream which both contain gelatin. In addition, the people I dined with ate the fondue experience which involved plates of raw meat strips. This did not add anything to the atmosphere for me. The saloon downstairs is much more veggie friendly and cheaper.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Like you dream it will be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had a dinner with friends here, the time is important cause if you go for see the sunset from there you'll be fascinated for the espectacular view of Lake Louise from your table. We had the "Fondue experience", that is was perfect! I lived in Switzerland so I was expecting be surprise by the "experience" and I was. Everything was amazing, service, temperatura, timing between foods, wine options. I will sugest have diner there to anyone who wants a memorable experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frantastika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where are manners?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Dining at “Walliser Stube” after checking into the tyrolean-inspired Fairmont Château Lake Louise seemed like a good idea. Our waiter was anything but friendly, and rushed us along throughout the meal as if he was more interested in the party who would be taking our table after us than our meal. We provided entertainment for the pensioners at neighboring tables when the Raclette and Fondue apparatus landed on our small table—leading us to realize that the seemingly individually-sized guest portions are really sufficient for two mountaineers or three of people like us. Should you find yourself in the Walliser Stube at sunset, sunglasses are a must because the heat and bright sunlight will meet your eyes. In our experience, the restaurant did not pull any shades or do anything to mitigate the intensity of the sunlight through the large picture windows.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezzofanti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walliser Stube also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Walliser Stube? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing