We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Let me start by saying I don't ski. Or snowboard. Or participate in any activity snow related. Yes, I'm Canadian and I hate winter! ;) This place is remarkably close to Lake Louise Ski Lift, and very convenient for those of you who do enjoy these activities.

Winter activities aside, this place is amazing. No TV's and no telephones means no city distractions. I've been to this place several times, and each time was a different time of the year; summer is just as beautiful as winter! Christmas, the place books up fast, but there's nothing quite like celebrating this magical time in a magical place like this.

Yes, the restaurant is expensive and yes the food portions are fairly small, but I've always enjoyed the meals. The restaurant is small and quiet and both the atmosphere and the menu suit the style of vacation this place sets.

Needless to say, I will be returning several times in the future, I would recommend my friends, family and perfectly good (or otherwise!) strangers to this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin-Nini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    168
    43
    11
    8
See reviews for
232
414
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

First, let me get the accolades out of the way, as by far it's the shorter of the two lists. The rooms and cottages were well maintained, clean and comfortable. The property grounds and general remote setting is beautiful. However, the praises end here. Be prepared for a serious dent in your wallet as Baker Creek excels at gouging their customers. There is only one draft beer on tap, and for the low, low price of $8.00 you can have one. We opted for the breakfast ticket add-on. Juice wasn't included, which isn't a deal breaker as you can order one for $4.00/glass. Yes, that's some snazzy orange juice alright. The 3-egg omelette, surprisingly, doesn't come with toast. Go ahead, ask for toast and you'll be astonished to hear: "We don't have toast, but you can have a bagel or english muffin." Again, for a nominal charge of $3.00/each. The dinner reviews raved, so we ventured to try. Portions were small, vegetables a sad sight and the rabbit concoction looked, well, pre-digested. We dined at the Keg the night before - 4 steak dinners and a bottle of wine for less. And finally, why is it I find single ply toilet paper in my room? Seriously, at the rate one pays for a nightly stay the least they could do is supply adequate material. Really, I've stayed in $69/night motels that had 2-ply paper, if nothing else! This was not my first time at Baker Creek, but it surely is the last. Very disappointing. Save you money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMSYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We loved our chalet and lit a log fire each night... we spent 3 nights here as it was so central for seeing all of Banff Nat Park. We saw lots of wildlife on the side of the roads here, 2 grizzlies, black and brown bear...a wolf !!!
The staff were helpful and friendly, the cabin was immaculate and beautifully presented. A lot of thought had gone into making it individual and very special. I regret not eating at the restaurant as it gets good reviews too.....sadly Baker Creek Chalets set too high a benchmark and our next stop didn't match up !! There is the noise of the nearby railway track, but worth ignoring that for all the advantages. We love trains, so found it fascinating. There's a fast flowing river too, great atmosphere, you're really out in the wilds. Didn't have chance to use extra facilities so can't comment on sauna and gym...sure they'll be good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed 5 nights here and had a real mixture of weather while staying at Baker Creek but even if we had been out exploring the Lake Louise area in the rain we knew we would be coming back to a cosy, clean and comfy chalet. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions about the area. Good area to see wildlife, saw Black and Grizzly bears, Elk, deer and columbian ground squirrels.

Room Tip: Don't think you could go wrong with any of these cabins. We had the gym below us but no noise wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We loved the location, close enough to be near to the attractions but also nice and quiet. We stayed in a one bedroom plus loft chalet which was really cute. We felt well looked after, with a fire made up on arrival, fire wood provided every day. Plenty of ground coffee was provided and the chalet was very comfortable in every way. We very much liked the way that the owners had provided information about the way they had renovated the site with pictures and lots of information about the area. The whole set up was very thoughtful and it was interesting to have pictures and info about all of the staff working on site. I particularly like Izzy the cat who was available at check in and check out! The site was beautiful and we wish we had time to have used the fire pits and seats by the river. We would definitley stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
12.4 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,636 reviews
11.3 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,325 reviews
39.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
11.9 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,665 reviews
11.6 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Property: Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,203 - ₹ 34,743
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing