We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a wonderful place to stay when visiting the Rockies!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Labrador City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow! What a wonderful place to stay when visiting the Rockies!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My family and I attended a reunion this year and stayed at Baker Creek Chalets, a short drive from Lake Louise, within Banff National Park. We couldn't have picked a nicer place I'm sure. The log cabin we stayed in (#9) had two bedrooms with comfortable queen and single beds, as well as a pull-out bed in the living room area if needed, a kitchenette, full bath, two decks, one of which had a picnic table on it, and best of all a stone fireplace. The cabin was very clean & comfortable & looked out onto the Rockies. The mountains were stiill snow covered and on a sunny day looked absolutely glorious. To save money, we bought our own groceries, which turned out to be a good idea as things tended to be expensive within the Park. We didn't eat out anywhere as a result but enjoyed cooking our own meals. There is a resturant nearby if you wished to dine elsewhere. The kitchette is rather small, but has a stove,1/2 fridge, microwave, pots,pans, dishes & utensiles, everything we needed. We also brought charcoals with us & had a scrumptious BBQ using one of the firepits near the little creek which runs beside the Chalets. You couldn't have asked for a more picturesque spot, with snow covered mountains surrounding you, ice still hanging onto to the sides of the creek & ocassionally the sound of a freight train heading to the Pacific Coast carrying wheat from the Prairies. A Canadian postcard for sure. Staff did everything they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Each day they dropped off a free load of firewood to ensure we had enough to have a nice fire in the evenings if we wished. The air was clear and crisp & it was a peaceful & rejuvenating place to stay. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling in the area without any hesitation. I'll definately re-book there when in the area again.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any bad rooms within the Chalets to tell the truth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank florapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    168
    43
    11
    8
See reviews for
232
414
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My two friends and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the lodge. We especially liked the ladder access to the two single beds.

On our first night there, we had a little intruder which had entered through the sliding door. We got very worried and panicked, until we managed to turn on the lights. A raccoon-like creature (which we later know to be something called a pine-marten) was hopping around our kitchen area! Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining about it, but rather this contributed to the overall experience of staying there. It felt like camping out in the woods, without actually sleeping in a tent.

The location was away from anything remotely urban, save for the roads. Baker Creek is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the city that is Singapore. Although we were there during Spring, it was still snowing on some days, which was a bonus for us.

Simply put, you will not regret spending your time at Baker Creek. We stayed there for three days as we had another reservation at Whistler. If I had to compare staying in a hotel versus staying in a lodge, I'd pick the lodge any and every time!

Service during check-in and check-out was superb and they were very friendly! I'd definitely want to pay a visit to there again soon, perhaps during the summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fizzi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mybeach101
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The cabins and lodge look brand new. They were perfectly clean and maintained. Each unit has a kitchen and the cabins are large enough for a small family. They include a wood burning fireplace. We chose the lodge as we could see the river better. Our room was huge for the two of us. We absolutely loved it. The staff were attentive and knew the area. They even have wifi on the property.

Room Tip: We liked the views better from the lodge. Our poarch was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mybeach101f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This little "village" is that just-right space of getting far away and yet not roughing it. It is on what ~used to be~ the main north-south road from Banff to the Lake Louise area. Now the "interstate" type road handles nearly all the traffic, while the older byway has almost no traffic. Result: much more wildlife (saw bears and longhorn sheep, the latter eating about 3 feet in front of our car on the side of the road). The fact that you need to drive to see nearby sights is a plus, not a minus!

There is a vital, comfortable-size river about 150 yards behind the chalets-- peaceful and a draw for wildlife: look for hoof and paw prints in the morning! Beside it is a train track on which freight trains pass fairly frequently; I did wonder why so many need to go north.... (If you put coins on the track to get them flattened, don't use the "tooney"-- the two metals will separate).

You get your own little log cabin with: fireplace (wood provided), small but adequate kitchen, deck with picnic table, covered front porch, multiple small bedrooms and average size bathroom. You can drive to your cabin only to load/unload, but on-going parking is out front of the village, leaving the walkways blessedly free of automobiles. The landscaping can only be described as charming and natural.

Naturally, you can bring in all your provisions (the nearby Lake Louise shopping cluster grocery store has all your basics), but you also have the option of dining in Baker Creek's excellent restaurant, which has outdoor seating for warmer weather. We went in late August and it was still temperate enough to do so. My only puzzlement was that both times we ate there were lonnng meals, even though there were only a handful of other tables occupied. No problem for us, as we were in total harmony with the scene at the chalets and with the surrounding nature.

This location is an excellent base of operations for scenery and activities, with Banff to the south and Lake Louise to the north. Don't miss Walliser Stube, a Swiss restaurant at the Fairmont Lake Louise, with its rare Raclette cheese option. We decided to also book a room for a night in the town of Jasper (140 miles north), since there is too much to do there for an up-and-back in a day, so we double-paid for one night (in Baker Creek and Jasper); it was worth it. The drive itself is a series of gasps and oohs and ahhs. Keep your windshield clean and the camera at the ready. Get out of the car along the way for some major, world-class vistas.

Can't say enough for this trip. Besides the delight and down-home comfort of the Baker Creek Chalets, the Canadian Rockies may be the most beautiful countryside I have seen. Perhaps that may mean more when I add that my travels have included 15 countries and sights from Hawaii to Crete and from Canada to Panama. Put this one on your "bucket list."

Room Tip: The closer to the river, the ~even more~ quiet it is and you may see wildlife from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Buzmanlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Nice little gem in the heart of the lake louise area. No cell reception is coolest part. Cabins/suites are beautiful. Nice and wooden. Quite scenic area yet very close to Lake Louise & Banff, with lots of activities to do such as cross country and downhill skiing, hiking, sight seeing, etc..

The best part is we brought a portable bbq and did a bbq in the suite's balcony. Yummy.

Room Tip: All of them seem good. We did have a room by the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badpanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
12.4 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,635 reviews
11.3 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,321 reviews
39.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
No photo provided
11.9 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,661 reviews
11.6 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Property: Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,058 - ₹ 34,107
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing