We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,591)
Filter reviews
1,592 results
Traveller rating
303
595
422
188
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
595
422
188
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard boiled eggshot tubcontinental breakfastroom was cleanfridge and microwaveyogurtsteam roomconvenient locationwould stay againsamson malllake louise areaeasy accessski hillshort drivecanadian rockieslodgejasper
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,592 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The location is great, so close to Lake Louise and Moraine Lake. We were able to see sunrise and sunset by the lake. During the day, the shuttle bus is right across the street. There are free coffee, hot chocolate and various tea bags provided in the lobby. The room is clean and air-conditioned. The staff is friendly and helpful. It was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank calinayanluo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. It is great to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location, were happy with the overall provided accommodations & amenities and received a friendly welcome from the staff. We all trust your travels through the Canadian Rockies was truly memorable and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

It has the look and comfort of a 70's motel that has never been renovated. We paid too much for this tiny room with no a/c. Bathroom really needs to be updated as it has molds all around bathtub. Should not have paid more than 120$/night.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank myriamgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Mountaineer Lodge. I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your overall provided accommodations and did not feel you receive a good value. We are one of the most cost effective hotels in this region though and do have rooms that have been recently renovated. The hotel renovations are continuing this Fall on 32 more of our guest rooms as well and we encourage our future guests to contact our Front Desk Team to assist them with booking the room that accommodates their needs best. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate the time you took to share your comments. Nonetheless, we trust you had a wonderful time exploring Lake Louise and that you made it home safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Enjoyed our 3 night stay at Mountaineer Lodge. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Good hot breakfast selection with some variation every day and good coffee (i enjoyed the dark roast). You can walk to the Samson mall where there's a deli, a liquor store, and other stores. You can also catch a shuttle to go to the Lake Louise overflow parking to connect to another shuttle that takes you to Lake Louise. We stayed on the main level. Only downside is you can hear people rolling their suitcases outside or accidentally setting off their car alarm. Otherwise, nice quiet setting.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank r_fairway16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

We appreciate you choosing the Mountaineer Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is wonderful to learn that you were happy with the provided accommodations, enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and our convenient location. However, we do apologize for the issues you experienced with noise and appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We trust you had a truly memorable experience traveling through the Canadian Rockies and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

My experience with the room conditions was better than I expected after reading the reviews. We stayed in two different rooms on two different stays during our vacation. It is a good value and we were very happy with everything .

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barbaranell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for sharing your review. I was pleased to learn that you had enjoyed both your accommodations and amenities during your recent visit to Lake Louise. We trust you had a wonderful time exploring all that Lake Louise has to offer and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

The room was a little shabby and the bed and quilt were lumpy and very uncomfortable. The complimentary breakfast was in a grubby room in the basement where the tables weren't clean and the chairs were falling apart. The village itself and the surrounding area are being spoilt by the number of people accessing it.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank guest2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and for choosing the Mountaineer Lodge. We were sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us and apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your recent visit to Lake Louise. It is unfortunate that the provided accommodations & complimentary breakfast did not live up to expectations but we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We would like to note that we do have rooms that have been renovated and are continuing these renovations this Fall on 32 more of our rooms. I do hope that you will come back and try us out again and give us the opportunity to regain your loyalty. Nonetheless, we trust you had a wonderful time exploring all that Banff National Park has to offer and that you made it home safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews