We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing morning snowshoeing at Lake Louise!”

Great Divide Day Hikes
Ranked #3 of 5 Tours in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Divide Nature Interpretation provides informative guided hiking and snowshoeing in the Lake Louise and Banff areas. Nadine Fletcher and Joel Hagen have over 20 years experience and are certified “Master” interpreters. In summer, full day and half day walks/hikes. In winter, half day snowshoeing trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing morning snowshoeing at Lake Louise!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had the amazing opportunity to snowshoe in a very small group with Joel as our guide. It was our first experience snowshoeing in fresh snow and Joel made sure our group had a great time. He has vast experience and knowledge about the area which he didn't hesitate to share. This was definitely one of the high points of our weekend at Lake Louise and we highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxanneMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and highly recommended trip”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

More than just a snowshoeing trip to Island Lake. This was a very informative tour, with our guide Nadine stopping to show us animal tracks and talk about the forest in a very lively and entertaining way. We stopped for hot chocolate and the best homemade power bars ever!
The view of the Rockies is just amazing; great photo opportunity.
No snowshoeing experience necessary, all the gear is provided, including footwear if need be.
(Mother and 24 year old daughter)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bumblebee133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Snowshoeing in Lake Louise was a highlight of my visit”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our guide Joel took our group out near Lake Hector for a 2 hour 'walk through the Wilderness'. The snowshoes were easy to walk in and my mid calf snow boots fitted in easily. We had a glorious sunny day and mild weather which all added to a perfect trip. Joel knew the area well, and stopped often to show us different animal tracks and sign and told us about the varied inhabitants of the area . We also got a much better understanding of what the term 'wilderness' really means. As if all this wasn't enough, we also got to sample Joel's awesome 'PowerBars' - delicious. Now I'll have to come back and try one of their summer guided hikes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Informative and Energizing”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A truly awesome day! We trekked through the woods on fresh snow with lightweight snowshoes with metal crampons. Joel has a vast knowledge of the area and shared info on carpenter ants, woodpeckers, and more. His backpack is a veritable tickle trunk of gear! As it was St. Patricks Day, Joel had green icing for the tasty homemade power bars that we enjoyed along with cocoa. Joel was watchful of the capabilities of the group and I would not hesitate to recommend Great Divide Day Hikes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank In_the_Know017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very professional and nice guide, great fun, stunning views, adapted to our wishes.”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Since we hiked the Rockies many times in summer we asked for a private snowshoetrip with special attention for mountainviews. Joel was our guide and gave us the choice of two tours with beautiful mountainviews. We chose the trip to Island Lake, a small lake surrounded by spectacular mountains. In summer you can't reach this lake so we were extra thankful Joel had chosen this trip. We walked through beautiful forest and he told us many interesting things. We saw a lot of animal tracks and he explained which animal made the tracks. He told us about the fireburns, plants and was so enthousiastic. We loved every minute of it. We felt very welcome, just like walking with a good friend.Thank you Joel, you made us feel very special!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ellien_v_d_kooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Divide Day Hikes also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Canadian Rockies, Alberta
 

Been to Great Divide Day Hikes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing