We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Doesn't Appreciate Business-Go Elsewhere”

The Bison Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 39
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Description: Walk up our staircase into rustic elegance. With windows on three sides, Banff's best mountain views speak for themselves. Enjoy a signature cocktail, local bottled beer or choose from our carefully selected wine list. Watch the show as a line of talented chefs in our open concept coppered kitchen lead by executive chef Brendan Robson prepare your regionally inspired meal. Locals and visitors enjoy our sun-drenched terrace with its mountain views in the summer, and roaring campfire in the winter. Whether in high heels or hiking boots, our dining room is yours.
Canmore, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Staff Doesn't Appreciate Business-Go Elsewhere”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Made reservations a month in advance for 3 on a Sat night. When arrived(15 min) early told not ready but told to sit in bar or come back. When we came back at the correct time, were told rudely to come back at the time of the reservation time(even though all clocks said it was that time). Why does staff argue? Tell us they can't accommodate the reservation time and to come back at the time they can sit us? Be happy that people would like to eat there. One of the group is in the food business and shared that they had NEVER experienced anything like that before. My advise Lots of Other Great Eating spots in Banff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    306
    108
    44
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Rarely would we walk into a restaurant and decide to leave. Perhaps the upstairs offers more but we were not impressed with either the room or the menu downstairs for a late lunch.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CathP027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch, nice cocktails”
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Myself and a friend went here for lunch recently. We had searched around for a place that wasn't too expensive which is lot to ask for in Banff!

We were shown to our seats by a really friendly waitress and brought over water straight away. We ordered cocktails which were good and for $9 each, quite big, so good value (Tuesdays they do some kind of offer on cocktails all day).

We shared potato skins to start, they were lovely and came with a gorgeous dressing and sour cream. My friend had the enchiladas, I had the bison pizza, which had smoked bison meat on it which I found really unusual. The food was really good, portions were big, so much so we couldnt eat it all, the waitress straight away asked if we wanted to take it with us which we did. It all came to $66 which I think is really reasonable for banff, the service was excellent, she was so friendly and attentive.

Would come here again and would recommend to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbs188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was good, but ordinary.”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The food was very good, but not what my husband and I expected. We are foodies, so we expected something different done with the food. We both had the Ribeye Bison Steak and it was done to perfection, but nothing amazing as far as presentation, or reduction. The vegetable was just a stuffed potao with 3 cheeses melted over the top and your run of the mill veg. I guess we expected something a bit more gourmet for the value. Mpre of a dining experience. We were seated over by the server station and close to the washrooms. Not the greatest spot and was a bit miffed about that as we arrived early and there was plenty of good seating available. Would proabaly not go back as it was too ordinary for the steep prices. The bread was good and different.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberleycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great food, casual yet elegant”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a great steak dinner at Bison. The food is very fine, but the atmosphere is still casual and you don't feel out of place wearing casual clothes or ski wear.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cowtowntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing