We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would say this is an amazing family restaurant!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cozy atmosphere! Tapas, Chateaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would say this is an amazing family restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

An amazing restaurant for my kids everyone we go on vacation. This is probebly the best restaurant in all of banff, at least that's why I think. Overall food was tasty good food to start with many people should come here again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripadvising192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    166
    61
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!! Better then 5 stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left we felt as though we had been to visit a dear friend. The owner Isabel was just wonderful and the food was beyond fabulous. Our server Jenn was a Gem!
All 4 of us tried a different appetizer and they were all mouthwatering ...The wine list was to be commended and we enjoyed a lovely white with them and had the best bottle of Vintage red that that went perfectly with our chateaubriand that was served table side ...and everything from the beef to the veggies was prepared perfectly.
For dessert the boys shared bananas foster flambed at the table. We all enjoyed a perfect cup of cappuccino as well. Never rushed perfectly timed and brilliantly served!
Thank you again Isabel and Jenn for a lovely evening not soon forgotten!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

the food was not that good for the price. the steak was too well done and the chicken was actually hard.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and I went to El Toro for dinner, it was very enjoyable with good service and the wine that was on offer that particular night was good. The food was good too but not quite the traditional tapas you might expect as you would get in Spain, its more of a fusion restaurant. However, we were pleased with our menu choices - particularly the flambed Manchego cheese dish! The El Toro platter to share was good too.

The restaurant was low-lighting which made it very intimate, we had a very nice evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keithallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Well worth your time and money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

El Toro is a casual, mid-sized restaurant, located on the street level of the Irwin Mountain Inn at 429 Banff Avenue. It is located just outside the downtown core and is an easy 5-7 minute walk. This place is a bit unusual because it morphs from a popular breakfast spot to a dinner stop that offers a mix of food styles including Mexican, Tapas and Continental. I cannot speak to the breakfast, but was truly impressed with the quality of the food and the service we received at dinner. We were dining on a very tight timeline and our waitress graciously and efficiently accommodated us. It is not a place I'd recommend rushing as the atmosphere is laid back and inviting. Among the items we ordered, my favourite was the Stuffed Portobello Mushroom from the Tapas menu. Yes, it's small - and delicious - I ate light because I wanted to leave room for the flambeed bananas. They are prepared at your table, served with vanilla ice cream and they did NOT disappoint! There is something for everyone here, it represents good value, and the service is top notch. Note: some specialty dessert items need preparation time, so order in advance so you're not disappointed. Watch for great deals on theme nights - ie Mexican Mondays, Chateaubriant for 2 on Thursdays ($55.), etc. Bon Apetite!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gateway889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing