We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Checked in @ Banff Inn. Our rooms were cozy and warm which is a great thing for this chilly Canadian spring. Bathroom and its amenity is excellent especially with those peppermint scented shampoo and conditioner and oh the soap is too with its rough texture that helps in scrubbing off dirt from your long trip.

The only thing i am going to say something is that the internet connection in room is spotty during my overnight stay.

I will recommend this hotel for my family and friends.

Banff is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    349
    167
    40
    35
See reviews for
219
303
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Have to say that the staff were disinterested most of the time , the rooms were old and tired looking. Parking was always a problem with limited spaces or none at all. The on site breakfast was moderate but did the job.

Did not use the spa but considering it faces the carlitos pizza restaurant and they can see in clearly I dont think either party wanted to see me in my glory.


It was closer enough to town to walk so that was a plus. Overnite stay or couple of days enough.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the Banff Inn for 6 nights in February 2012 for a week of snowboarding. The Banff Inn is in the perfect location for skiing/boarding at the Big 3 (Norquay, Lake Louise, Sunshine Village) as the shuttle bus stops right in front of the hotel.

Now, the hotel is not fancy, but the room rates are quite reasonable. It doesn't have the same modern, mountain charm as the nearby Fox Hotel or Caribou Lodge, but it doesn't have their price tags either. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

I was actually pleasantly surprised with the size of the room and the high ceiling. Flat screen TV with many channels provided. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed, duvet, and pillow were excellent and very cozy. The bathroom was a decent size and perfectly clean. Soap and shampoos were replaced by the housekeeper when needed. My only complaint with the room was the poor water pressure in the shower and its imprecise temperature control.

There is a restaurant in the hotel (Carlito's Pizza) which serves a range of food. The pizza is quite good. They also provide room service from the restaurant's menu. Unfortunately, you cannot charge food to the room - it has to be paid as if you're having a pizza delivered to your house. However, there are lots of other restaurants in Banff, including a Chili's (in the Fox) and The Keg (in the Caribou Lodge) basically right next door. Lots more restaurants are in hotels along Banff Ave. and downtown.

The free continental breakfast (opens at 7am in Carlito's) can suffice but leaves a little to be desired. It offers a choice of cereal (Corn Flakes or Cheerios), bread (sliced bread, bagels, english muffins), muffins, hard-boiled eggs, juice, coffee, and fruit (apples). Yes, it's free, but a little more choice would have been nice - berries, yogurt, etc.

There is a large hot tub, sauna, and steam room in an area off the main lobby. There's a change room and shower there too. This whirlpool area doesn't exactly have a spa ambiance to it (it sits on the other side of some stained-like glass from the restaurant), but it's all easily accessible and clean. Towels are provided at the front desk.

Boards and skis are stored downstairs in the parking garage level. You get a lock (with a $5 deposit required) to lock up your gear. It's not a locker, just a locking mechanism for the board or ski.

At a reasonable price, the Banff Inn offered clean, comfortable accomodations, in a great location for the ski shuttle buses.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the front of the hotel (Rm 129 for example) and the ice machine in the hallways can m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I came here on a ski trip with many friends. Each room seemed to be different, either in design or to the tile in the washroom. My room that i stayed in with 3 other friends was nice. The bathroom area was modern, and the shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion bottles that came with the room were very good, unlike some that you get at other hotels, but i still brought my own. There was a balcony, a table with 2 sitting chairs, a tv with good channels, and the beds. The beds were hard and uncomfortable...for me at least. I like soft and plush beds, but i know others feel different. If you would like, there is a connecting door to the other room, but there is no handle and only a lock that can be opened by a key, so no worries of if you didn't want the room connected. We stayed for 2 nights, and the housekeeper cleaned up the room. She never changed the bad sheet and just made the bed. We were not very pleased with that. She also broke my cell phone charger and hid it under my friends sweater. I wasn't really happy about that, but luckily, i had packed an extra one. The hotel has a restaurant/lounge (kids are welcome), but, there was only 1 server and it was fairly busy on a saturday night, service was slow, and food tasted bland and not good. In the morning they also served breakfast (for a small fee) and the food also was cold and there was only coffee, juices, bagels, muffins, boiled eggs, and toast. Also, there is a hot tub and a spa which we did not use. To go up to the rooms you can either take stairs or an elevator so it is accessible. Not much more to the hotel, and it is about a 10-15 minute walk into the main town. I live only 4 hours away in Edmonton, so i have come here before and know my way around banff pretty well. There is a shopping mall with popular stores, other popular shops in banff like the candy stores, moo's, etc. The days i went skiing was in the lake louise ski area. I would come back to this hotel, but there looks to be far more better options in town. Overall, it was good for a 2 night stay but nothing longer than 3.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are good, but all rooms have different design, and all down to the very ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel was average. The whirlpool wasn't that great. It was nice to have a continental breakfast. The towels were lacking (SO SMALL!). And there was not enough parking in the parkade, and had to park BLOCKS away each night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjnimmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.1 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.6 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.0 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Property: Banff Inn
Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,967 - ₹ 17,922
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing