We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 226
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 266
US$ 241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$ 456
US$ 431
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 233
US$ 182
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 228
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
US$ 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 244
US$ 232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 237
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 355
US$ 293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
68
68
42
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
68
42
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest kitchenhard boiled eggsyogurtthe main streetbaked croissantsafternoon cookiesother guestsbaked dailyprepare simplefree cookiesguest houseshared kitchentwo blockslocation is greateasy walking distanceusual hoteloff street parking
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is the oldest "boarding house" in Banff, over 100 years old. What you get is little more than a bed, and a bowl of cereal. This (all wooden) structure is a firetrap. The fire escape for all the rooms on the second floor is up the stairs to the third floor! The rooms are very tiny, with little room to stand, let alone, open a suitecase. The bathrooms are also tiny, with a tiny shower. The only soft spot to sit in the entire place is on your bed. The "guest lounge" consists of a tiny kitchen, dining table and chairs, and one very tired upholstered chair that's as hard as a rock. Oh, by the way, the guest lounge closes at 8:00 PM, so don't put anything in the refrigerator you might want later! If you are staying for more than 1 night, be aware that there is no room/linen service. Need help making plans for your stay in Banff? The staff who greeted us, and served us breakfast, admitted to knowing very little about the Banff area. We regret not paying a little more, and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktoots928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2011

There are a couple of features which have not been mentioned yet.

- We completely comply to any fire regulation in Banff and are inspected by two fire and safety departments every year, but you might not have seen our Banff Fire and Safety permit on the wall next to our office.
- We have a comfortable love chair since 2007 in our lounge area, but you might not have seen it.
- We serve a buffet breakfast every day with home-made croissants and muffins as well as hard-boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereals and different types of bread, but you might not have seen them.
- My colleague has serious walking problems due to an accident years ago and asking her detailed questions about hiking trails is like asking a blind person about the latest Harry Potter movie, sadly she just quit because of her trouble walking the stairs every day.
- We try not to poison the water in the National Park more than necessary by just offering a linen service upon request or every 3 days. Guests generally agree with us as they don’t do it at home either.
- Closing down the guest kitchen at night is important for the comfort of our guests who would like a peaceful night of sleep.

We have a 103 year old house which has always been a guest house and don’t promise big rooms in our texts or in our pictures on our web site, but we do have tables and chairs in some of our rooms and we strongly advise everyone to whom these features are important to select one of these rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We chose this Lodge because of reasonably positive reviews and a recommendation in a ‘Moon’ travel book of Western Canada. After a long drive, we were greeted positively by the female owner who gave us wonderful advice about places to eat and activities around Banff. Our room was the Prospector’s cabin which was actually a room around the side of the lodge with its own entrance. The website said this was one of their larger rooms so we were surprised to see a small room and the smallest bathroom we encountered in our Canadian travels. The bathroom was less than a metre from the bed! There was very little room for our suitcase. Breakfast was a continental self serve which was adequate. We found it frustrating that our room was not serviced in any way and had to ask for our towels to be changed. Bins were not emptied and the bed was not made over the period we stayed. In our bathroom, the toilet leaked, the sink leaked and the shower water had a loud water hammer. The lodge had 2 kitchens but only one was accessible to guests. This was small and did not have room for more than one person at a time. The kitchen was locked about 8pm when the owners / staff went home. This meant that we could not access any items we had in the fridge nor make a cup of tea/coffee before bed. Unfortunately, the kitchen the guests ate their breakfast in, was not available for use at other times. This was a shame because it was a lot bigger and more functional. This whole property looks and feels tired. We had trouble sleeping at night because of the noise from revelers coming from town during the night. On the last night we were awoken at least four times by noise in surrounding streets and properties. In comparison with other Banff options, the lodge was cheaper but I wouldn’t recommend it. Next time we are in Banff we will be spending a bit more on an up market place to stay. Banff is a beautiful town with lots to do and worth spending a number of days enjoying the amazing surrounds, but make sure you stay in somewhere more appropriate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

We are sorry that you did not like your room in our lodge. Thank you for telling us about the leaking toilet in this text, it was just an adjustment to do. We also checked the sink but could not find a leak.

Yes, we have a 103 year old house and our rooms are smaller than in newer houses/hotels as you can see on our web site's room pictures.

We respect our guest's privacy and don't come into your room if you don't ask for it, this means as well that we don't change towels every day. This is also part of our (and many other hotel and B&B) commitment to avoid as much as possible poisonning our water in the National Park. Should our guests like to have their towels changed, we will be happy to do it. Guests generally agree with us on this policy as hardly anybody changes towels every day at home.

Unfortunately, our breakfast kitchen becomes a private area after breakfast where we or our staff are resting and is off limits to our guests. We also don't feel responsible for any noise in the street which is generally peaceful at night. We avoid disturbing our guest's sleep at night by locking our guest kitchen as one bedroom is located just opposite of it, but we offer an electric kettle (for tea) to our guests if they ask for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

A cosy B&B with interesting themed rooms. Good value for money considering the location

Room Tip: Visit their website & check out the facilities
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Blue Mountain Lodge for five days in May. It was honestly one of the best places I´ve ever stayed at. The house and the rooms are really pretty and beautifully furnished. The breakfast with homemade croassants are a perfect stat of the day and the location is right downtown. But most of all, the owner is a wonderful person who is really friendly and also the perfect guide for the trip. I can´t say anything bad about this place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josefine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at the Blue Mountain lodge for 10 days in February and 2 weeks in April and would thoroughly recommend it. It is right in the centre of town and although the rooms are on the small side they are excellent value for money (especially as breakfast is included!). There is also a guest kitchen which is a real bonus. The best thing however are the staff who are extremely friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We will not stay anywhere else in Banff from now on!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ncrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews