We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Safe Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Safe Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I have been travelling to Banff since a small child - 55+ years. I return each spring and/or fall from Ontario for three to seven days. As a solo traveller, safety, location, safety, experience, and safety are my concerns.
If I cannot get a room at Blue Mtn I change my travel times if possible.
I have stayed at Blue Mtn for 10+ years - thru two operating owners and employee operated.
It is safe, exceptionally clean and an absolute delightful experience each trip especially with Pascal now operating the B&B.
I have stayed at Banff Springs, various hotels in town and other B&B's however my fav spot is Blue Mtn. Exceptional value.
Breakfast is great (better than home!) and the best are the conversations with fellow guests while enjoying hot muffins, crossiants, hard boiled eggs, toast, cerals, etc plus the great coffee. The guest kitchen is wonderful to have use of and is always clean (Safeway grocery is two blocks away). Afternoon tea and cookies is a delight (if you can pull yourself away from trails, mtn views and activities to attend).
Pascal knows what is happening in and around town, and has personal info on trails, hikes, etc as he is a regular user also.
Banff is one of the most unique places in the world and what better way to learn about its' history, pioneers, citizens, animals, trails etc than by staying in a historic B&B with a knowledgeble owner sharing his experiences.?
This B&B does not toss you out at 10am and only allow you back in at 6pm. You can come and go as you please. You have your privacy, however, should you require anything, you know Pascal will do his best to make it available.
The rare times a rude unhappy guest is in residence, Pascal has gone beyond and above to please.
The rooms are unique and each has a bathroom & shower. They are spotlessly clean, good mattress's and I have never run out of hot water.
Do your own research - understand your own needs...if you require room service, concereige, sterile hallways, maids with carts, bars and restaurants, conversations only with your own travel companion, stay in a hotel not a B&B.
A firetrap? I don't think so...worst case jump out the window onto the roof, or climb down a tree - you are never far from the ground. (Try that in a 5 story bldg).
Banff Fire Dept is tough - tourism is #1 - safety is #1 service to tourists. Operation would not be allowed if unsafe.
If you don't like historic bldgs, or wood bldgs, don't stay in them.
Street noise? Trust me, the hotel 1/2 block away where you pay $290 to $400+ for a room,will hear the same noise - only louder. Yes, there can always be a party at a bar on the main street, in a house up the street, or wherever. The B&B is central Banff. It can happen. It is not the B&B's responsibility or fault. I believe I have had disturbed sleep once and it was a drunken female on the street. That can happen anywhere in the world.
Do not bad mouth places that are an absolute delightful experience to many Canadians and world travellers. .
Wonderful breakfast conversations, personal knowledge of places and happenings and experiences, cleanliness, Blue Mtn Lodge is great and safe place to center your visit to a wonderful Canadian treasure - the Rockie Mountains.
I will be back - in a first, 2nd, 3rd floor room or the attic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schipblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    56
    29
    19
    11
See reviews for
16
106
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is the oldest "boarding house" in Banff, over 100 years old. What you get is little more than a bed, and a bowl of cereal. This (all wooden) structure is a firetrap. The fire escape for all the rooms on the second floor is up the stairs to the third floor! The rooms are very tiny, with little room to stand, let alone, open a suitecase. The bathrooms are also tiny, with a tiny shower. The only soft spot to sit in the entire place is on your bed. The "guest lounge" consists of a tiny kitchen, dining table and chairs, and one very tired upholstered chair that's as hard as a rock. Oh, by the way, the guest lounge closes at 8:00 PM, so don't put anything in the refrigerator you might want later! If you are staying for more than 1 night, be aware that there is no room/linen service. Need help making plans for your stay in Banff? The staff who greeted us, and served us breakfast, admitted to knowing very little about the Banff area. We regret not paying a little more, and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktoots928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
There are a couple of features which have not been mentioned yet.

- We completely comply to any fire regulation in Banff and are inspected by two fire and safety departments every year, but you might not have seen our Banff Fire and Safety permit on the wall next to our office.
- We have a comfortable love chair since 2007 in our lounge area, but you might not have seen it.
- We serve a buffet breakfast every day with home-made croissants and muffins as well as hard-boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereals and different types of bread, but you might not have seen them.
- My colleague has serious walking problems due to an accident years ago and asking her detailed questions about hiking trails is like asking a blind person about the latest Harry Potter movie, sadly she just quit because of her trouble walking the stairs every day.
- We try not to poison the water in the National Park more than necessary by just offering a linen service upon request or every 3 days. Guests generally agree with us as they don’t do it at home either.
- Closing down the guest kitchen at night is important for the comfort of our guests who would like a peaceful night of sleep.

We have a 103 year old house which has always been a guest house and don’t promise big rooms in our texts or in our pictures on our web site, but we do have tables and chairs in some of our rooms and we strongly advise everyone to whom these features are important to select one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We chose this Lodge because of reasonably positive reviews and a recommendation in a ‘Moon’ travel book of Western Canada. After a long drive, we were greeted positively by the female owner who gave us wonderful advice about places to eat and activities around Banff. Our room was the Prospector’s cabin which was actually a room around the side of the lodge with its own entrance. The website said this was one of their larger rooms so we were surprised to see a small room and the smallest bathroom we encountered in our Canadian travels. The bathroom was less than a metre from the bed! There was very little room for our suitcase. Breakfast was a continental self serve which was adequate. We found it frustrating that our room was not serviced in any way and had to ask for our towels to be changed. Bins were not emptied and the bed was not made over the period we stayed. In our bathroom, the toilet leaked, the sink leaked and the shower water had a loud water hammer. The lodge had 2 kitchens but only one was accessible to guests. This was small and did not have room for more than one person at a time. The kitchen was locked about 8pm when the owners / staff went home. This meant that we could not access any items we had in the fridge nor make a cup of tea/coffee before bed. Unfortunately, the kitchen the guests ate their breakfast in, was not available for use at other times. This was a shame because it was a lot bigger and more functional. This whole property looks and feels tired. We had trouble sleeping at night because of the noise from revelers coming from town during the night. On the last night we were awoken at least four times by noise in surrounding streets and properties. In comparison with other Banff options, the lodge was cheaper but I wouldn’t recommend it. Next time we are in Banff we will be spending a bit more on an up market place to stay. Banff is a beautiful town with lots to do and worth spending a number of days enjoying the amazing surrounds, but make sure you stay in somewhere more appropriate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainLodge_8, Owner at Blue Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
We are sorry that you did not like your room in our lodge. Thank you for telling us about the leaking toilet in this text, it was just an adjustment to do. We also checked the sink but could not find a leak.

Yes, we have a 103 year old house and our rooms are smaller than in newer houses/hotels as you can see on our web site's room pictures.

We respect our guest's privacy and don't come into your room if you don't ask for it, this means as well that we don't change towels every day. This is also part of our (and many other hotel and B&B) commitment to avoid as much as possible poisonning our water in the National Park. Should our guests like to have their towels changed, we will be happy to do it. Guests generally agree with us on this policy as hardly anybody changes towels every day at home.

Unfortunately, our breakfast kitchen becomes a private area after breakfast where we or our staff are resting and is off limits to our guests. We also don't feel responsible for any noise in the street which is generally peaceful at night. We avoid disturbing our guest's sleep at night by locking our guest kitchen as one bedroom is located just opposite of it, but we offer an electric kettle (for tea) to our guests if they ask for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

A cosy B&B with interesting themed rooms. Good value for money considering the location

Room Tip: Visit their website & check out the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Blue Mountain Lodge for five days in May. It was honestly one of the best places I´ve ever stayed at. The house and the rooms are really pretty and beautifully furnished. The breakfast with homemade croassants are a perfect stat of the day and the location is right downtown. But most of all, the owner is a wonderful person who is really friendly and also the perfect guide for the trip. I can´t say anything bad about this place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josefine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
2.0 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
1.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Property: Blue Mountain Lodge
Address: 327 Caribou Street | Corner of Caribou and Muskrat, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,035 - ₹ 13,776
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountain Lodge has been a hotel or Bed and Breakfast since 1908. Our heritage home features 10 rooms with ensuite bathrooms.Please keep in mind that we have slightly smaller rooms than newer structures. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada acknowledged our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Type in the word bmlvip in our Blue Mountain Lodge booking engine to take advantage of an instant discount. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing