We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay spot out of Banff; good for families” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Okay spot out of Banff; good for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We over-nighted in Banff at the last moment and found many rooms in town booked up so we headed out to this location. Our room was tastefully decorated and the amenities of the place were okay. For a "resort" title, it seems a little short on "resort". The pool and sauna were on the small side and crowded with teenagers that spilled over into the cafeteria and seemed a little small for the size of the facility. The service was fine; but lacks a bit of polish. I felt more like I was at hoe-down than over-nighting in Banff, but actually for large boisterous families, this place is fine. For couples or single travelers, eh. Stay in Banff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    389
    193
    95
    50
See reviews for
337
459
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just returned from Tunnel Mountain in Banff. We obtained an email about a special rate for this resort in Nov 2011, and we called and booked a room for 4 nights for April 2012 directly with Tunnel Mountain with a credit card hold. An email confirmation at the special rate was received from the Tunnel Mountain management. No payment or transaction was made with any other organization.
Upon arrival to the Tunnel Mountain, I was shocked to learn that emailed confirmed rate would not be honoured! The reason and excuse given was a 'voucher' was required to get that special rate. There was never any mention of such a voucher on the confirmation, nor during my conversations with the front office staff days before my arrival date! We were decieved and robbed! The reserved and confirmed rate was not honoured, a shocking fact that I have never experienced in my many travels - I am fortunate to be able to travel multiple times every year in many parts of the world (over the past 4 months, travel has included St. Petersburg, Fl, Cartagena, Columbia, Montreal, Quebec, Toronto, Ontario, Secrets in Jamaica, Banff in April, and heading to Europe in May). I cannot trust the poor management or confirmations at Tunnel Mountain, and they have no understanding of the value of customer service, even a repeat customer. Sadly, a good hotel/resort run by incompetent, dishonest people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jag2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youknowwhoIam, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
As explained to you numerous times throughout your stay:

You called the hotel and told the reservations department that you had invested in a limited time promotion offered through Travelzoo.com which entitled guests to a discounted stay. People who bought into this limited time promotion received a voucher which is used for payment for the room which needs to be presented at check in. All of this is clearly stated on all of the promotional material and communications issued by Travelzoo.com. We issued you a confirmation letter based on information which we assumed was accurate and not deceiving.

When you arrived at the property you informed us that you actually HAD NOT bought into the limited time promotion, but insisted on getting the discounted rate that was no longer available. You admitted to knowingly giving us wrong information at the time of making your reservation. As we are contractually obligated to not offer this discount without inclusion of Travelzoo.com, we did not offer you the Travelzoo.com promotional discount. We did offer you a substantial discount for your entire 3 night stay based on your repeat business which you happily accepted. Over 250 guests have enjoyed and understood the Travelzoo.com promotion without incident or confusion so we are confident that we are acting honestly, with integrity and at a high level of accuracy.
We suggest that in future travels you provide accurate, non misleading information when booking rooms to avoid similar confusions or disappointments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We love this place, and have been going there every winter for years! We always stay in either a chalet or a suite with a wood burning fireplace and a complete kitchen. It's a couple of minutes out of town with more nature (deer looking in your window, etc) than if you were in town. They've done some renovations recently, and our bathroom this year had a jacuzzi tub! But I like using the hot tub near the lobby with the glass walls, so you can look at the mountains as you relax.

Room Tip: The chalets look to the mountain side with no roads - feels like you are alone in the woods. The su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleneM158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The facilities were clean and function well, service was great, staffs were very friendly.

Room Tip: One bedroom is good for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettydongliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our executive room was very clean and cozy. Loved the double sinks and steam shower. The fireplace fire didn't light up very much so we didn't bother turning it on. The bed was a bit too soft for our liking though, but that won't stop us from coming back again.

The hot tub and steam / sauna rooms next to the main lobby building was deserted when we went there, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. the steam room was a bit dirty, so I'd just stick with the steam shower in your room. Our room was very quiet and we had a nice little balcony too that we could have hung out at if it wasn't too cold out.

Laundry and workout rooms were nice perks to the hotel too if we needed to use them.

It's also about a 5 min drive to the town centre, so not too inconvenient to go back and forth from the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the hot tub because the hallway leading to the shower rooms was stinky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.0 km away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,272 - ₹ 20,482
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing