We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mountain Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We love this place, and have been going there every winter for years! We always stay in either a chalet or a suite with a wood burning fireplace and a complete kitchen. It's a couple of minutes out of town with more nature (deer looking in your window, etc) than if you were in town. They've done some renovations recently, and our bathroom this year had a jacuzzi tub! But I like using the hot tub near the lobby with the glass walls, so you can look at the mountains as you relax.

Room Tip: The chalets look to the mountain side with no roads - feels like you are alone in the woods. The su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleneM158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    389
    193
    95
    50
See reviews for
337
459
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The facilities were clean and function well, service was great, staffs were very friendly.

Room Tip: One bedroom is good for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettydongliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our executive room was very clean and cozy. Loved the double sinks and steam shower. The fireplace fire didn't light up very much so we didn't bother turning it on. The bed was a bit too soft for our liking though, but that won't stop us from coming back again.

The hot tub and steam / sauna rooms next to the main lobby building was deserted when we went there, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. the steam room was a bit dirty, so I'd just stick with the steam shower in your room. Our room was very quiet and we had a nice little balcony too that we could have hung out at if it wasn't too cold out.

Laundry and workout rooms were nice perks to the hotel too if we needed to use them.

It's also about a 5 min drive to the town centre, so not too inconvenient to go back and forth from the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the hot tub because the hallway leading to the shower rooms was stinky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our "executive" room was very clean and spacious. A king-size bed, gas fireplace, jet tub and steam shower, double bath sinks made us feel really spoiled. With the small fridge and micro-wave oven, plus gas BBQ onsite, we were able to prepare a few dinners to supplement our evenings in town. Banff is a pleasant walk down the hill, or a short drive into the centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear it was enjoyable and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We always enjoy Tunnel Mountain. The rooms are spacious, the kitchen is well supplied for cooking in, the bathrooms are spotless, and the beds are comfy. When we return from a day of skiing, it's just so nice to relax in such a fine mountain location. If we want to eat out, it's a short drive to Banff's main street. What more could you want for a ski holiday?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docndonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to those future travellers to Banff National Park and all the highlights at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 km away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,380 - ₹ 20,540
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing