We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
479
388
168
62
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
388
168
62
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimney corner west wing eagles nest hot tub chair lift spring skiing ski week ski school lift tickets your luggage ski hill loft rooms ski area murphy bed gondola ride mountain lodge games room
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Thanks for the special complimentary treats of a bottle of wine, cookies & chocolate, celebrating our 5th stay over the past few years. The staff were fun & helpful. The location, including hot tub made for a fun filled 3 days skiing. Spending time in the on-hill hotel is a satisfying event which we will do again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 351ede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review and patronage! We're delighted to welcome you back for a 5th stay with us and appreciate the kind words about our staff. We look forward to seeing you again.


All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Staying at Sunshine Village is a great experience! I did feel a little trapped once the gondola shut down for the day, would be great if it went a bit later on Saturday as well, and the beds weren't not the most comfortable. Aside from that, service was excellent, food was good (although, be warned, there is no pizza anywhere on the menu in the village, a devastating discovery after multiple drinks one particular evening, haha), and there are plenty of activities to keep you occupied during your stay! There were a few thoughtful details that really took things to the next level, for example, humidifiers in the rooms as well as nightly bottled water deliver. The rooms are extremely dry so take advantage of these gestures!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We'll need to look at late night pizza options for the future :)

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have been going to Sunshine since I was a young lad. Finally made the decision to spend the night for my wife's birthday. After a fun day shredding gnar it was great to walk to our room and enjoy a nice night in the hot tub and eating supper in the mountains.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ryanjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review and spending your wife's birthday with us. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My family and I stayed at the lodge and skied for 3 nights over spring break. We loved the convenience of being able to ski-in and ski-out those days and avoid the hassle of the parking/walking/schlupping equipment. I believe it's the only place in Banff where this can be done.

We booked a family room that had a loft with an additional king bed, for a total of 2 beds and a murphy. And 2 bathrooms (key!). The room was attractive and loved the huge windows and electronic blinds. The space was a little cramped, but workable.

There's not a huge amount of amenities at the lodge, so it really is mostly about the skiing, which is world class. I was hoping to go to the spa, but they were closed on Tuesday, the day I wanted to go. There's also a hot tub and that's pretty much it.

The restaurants are a bit hit or miss. The Chimney Corner is a nice space but it has a limited menu and we had issues during lunch one day. For some reason the kitchen was understaffed, they said they "weren't expecting a big crowd" even though we went a week that is spring break in all of Edmonton and in many places in the U.S. The food from the breakfast menu (9:30 - 10:30 only) was really solid. Other meals ranged from ok to good. There's another restaurant in a separate building (Trapper's) which has more pub fare but a lot of the same items as the Chimney.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review and spending spring break with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our ski in, ski out hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write, and we'll be sharing your feedback with the team to ensure we're addressing all opportunities for improvement.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I love staying here, but the restaurant has really gone down hill. The food is terrible this season, and really odd menu choices. The breakfast buffet is even more disgusting. Everything is cold in the Buffet, cold eggs, etc. I asked if I could order off the breakfast menu because of this and the staff refused me to do this, and told me that all there was for breakfast was the buffet. It was absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I416SYjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear about your dining experience and we'll be following up with our F&B team regarding your experience to ensure we're addressing your concerns.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews