We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
267
406
253
119
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
406
253
119
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony romasgreat locationcentral locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuean older hotelthird floorhistoric hotelstandard roomhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnowgondola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
830 - 835 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This will have been our second visit to the Mount Royal, but I never got around to writing a review last year! The hotel itself is a Banff institution in a prime location. Some of the rooms are a little smaller than others, but I believe that is within keeping of the type of building! I have stayed with both two and three persons and we haven't had an issue with space. The only negative comment I would have would be with regards to the hot tub. We visited the same time last year and it was broken for about 3-4 days, not ideal when you have achy bones from skiing! Guess what? The same thing happened this year, only for a little longer. Thankfully the showers in our room more than made up for this as they are very powerful and helped massage those problem areas. The only other comment I would make is regarding the temporary safety deposit boxes that are behind reception. The hotel is undergoing an upgrade at the moment and I understand that not all rooms have access to safes. The hotel are offering use of these boxes behind reception but they are very very narrow and will not fit large purses or electrical equipment in. Other than that our stay was pretty much perfect, the staff are always friendly and can't help enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicstar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent visit to the Mount-Royal hotel.

First let me apologize for the Jacuzzi being out of order. It needs general yearly maintenance. We always try our very best to minimize guests impact but unfortunately, there is never a good time for this to happen. On a more positive note, I was very happy to read your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. We take customer service very seriously and we spend hours training all of our front line employee.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

An excellent place to base a ski holiday, with Tony Roma's restaurant downstairs, a ski Hire shop across the road and the Ski Bus to Lake Louise or Sunshine Village stopping right outside. All this makes life a lot easier when you are keen to get up into the mountains without any fuss.
The staff were also very friendly and extremely helpful when it came to booking excursions or restaurants or giving general advise.
The rooms are pretty spacious and well turned out, representing good value. Bathrooms could do with a bit of an uplift, but were perfectly adequate, with a bath as well as shower to soak in after a hard days ski.
All in all if you are a keen skier this is a great place to stay.
~~~ Top tips for Banff ~ Dog Sledding around Spray Lakes, dinner buffet at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel and music concerts at the Banff Centre.

Room Tip: Occasionally a bit noisy at night with some of the locals having fun in down Town Banff, but you would expect this in such a central location. Probably slightly quieter in rooms overlooking the Mountains rather that on the main street side.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you have had such a good experience while you were at the hotel. Our location is for sure perfect for skiers and non skiers alike, as you said, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. You will be happy to know that our guest rooms will undergo renovations in the fall.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked a Queen room for one night over the Easter weekend. When we got to the hotel we struggled to find parking, the hotel has enough parking stalls for around 20 vehicles, otherwise you have to find parking on the street. We stayed on the 1st floor, our 'Queen' room consisted of 1 'Double' Bed, one night stand, one set of drawers and a desk with 1 chair. I have stayed in hotels all over the world from hostels to 5 star resorts and this was the smallest, dark, damp room I've ever slept in. There was just enough walking room on either side of the bed to get in. The bathroom was small and difficult to manouver around the protruding sink. Also, most of the night we could hear the guests upstairs walking around their room, the walls/ceiling are not soundproofed at all. The only good thing I have to say is the location was good, being on the front street you can walk to a lot of stores/restaurants from this hotel. To sum it all up, I would never book this hotel again and would not recommend to another traveller, if we would have had to stay in this hotel for more than one night, it would have wrecked our vacation.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to read that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. In regards to the hotel parking, we do have over 80 parking spot at the hotel. Sometimes we do run out on week-ends. The street just behind the hotel is always a good option. For this reason, we do not charge our guests for parking like most of the other hotels in Banff. We will be renovating all of our rooms in the fall. The rooms will look more modern and spacious.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our second visit - with ten years apart. We visited with small kids, this time with our teenagers. The hotel is located on the most excellent spot in Banff if you're there for skiing. The shuttle's stop had changed slightly since the last time we visited, but still very good location.

On our first visit we had one room, and it worked out ok, but we decided then that if we ever would return, that we would book two rooms. Mainly because it was hard to find good sollutions for hanging all the outdoor gear up for drying - otherwise one room (with two queens) works great for families with smaller kids. With teens however, it was just a blessing to take a peak into the girls room and continue on to my husbands and my quarters :-)

Besides the proximity to the shuttle, the hotel can't be more convienent located for shopping and eating. The hotel also offers decent meal opportunities, although we found that Melissas Missteak was a nice alternative for breakfast. And the laundry possibility at the hotel was as much appreciated this time, as when we traveled with smaller kids, since luggage can be kept to an absolute minimum. And for a skiing holdiay originating in Norway, that counts for alot!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ildri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your latest stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I would have to agree with you, our location is unbeatable, skier or no skier it is perfect, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer. The laundry facilities are very convenient indeed, I’m glad you made good use of it.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We also stayed from 2nd April and had a lovely ten days in this hotel. This was our 6th trip to Banff for winter skiing and having read some of the reviews we had a very slight reservation about the hotel. However it was absolutely fine. We had a room overlooking Mount Rundle at the rear of the hotel which was lovely to look out on. Apart from the odd noise in the early hours from noisy people outside the rear of the hotel, this was not an issue. The room was clean and very adequate for the time that we spent in the room. The ski buses all pick up from the rear of the hotel, very close to the ski locker room which was extremely convenient. It was great to be in the middle of town for a change as we have always stayed further up Banff Avenue. Tony Romas was a favourite with the children (and us too). The only downside was that the hot tub was shut for maintenance in our second week, but I guess it has to have its routine maintenance sometime. If, no , when we return to Banff at sometime in the future we would definitley consider staying here again.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel is probably best with regards to quietness and the fabulous view of the mountains
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was happy to read that you had a good experience while staying with. Our hotel is for sure perfect for skiers, seconds away from the ski bus pick-up. I do apologize for the Jacuzzi being out of order but you are correct, it does need routine maintenance from time to time. I will pass on your comments to the Tony Romas staff, thank-you.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews