We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better places out there”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Westlock, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“There are better places out there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

At first sight the hotel seemed just fine, but there were a few things to spoil our stay.
The beds were very soft and springy, which made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. I woke up with a stiff neck.
We also found the rooms too warm to sleep, so we turned down the thermostat, but during the night it reset itself and we didn't sleep any better. I found this extremely annoying as I value my sleep!
By 2:30pm housekeeping hadn't come around to our room.
There was a little noise from the street and corridor.

Other than that, the location is very central and we could walk anywhere in town we needed to be.
We also paid a very reasonable price. Next time I'll pay a little more for a more comfortable night's rest.

Room Tip: I suppose rooms that don't face the main street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuiseMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to see that your last stay with us did not fully meet all of your expectations. Our housekeeping departments works every day until 4:00pm, at times, not all rooms can be service before that time. If we know in advance a specific time for servicing your room we are more than happy to communicate this to housekeeping. You will be happy to know that our guest rooms will be renovated in the fall. The product will look more modern and feel more comfortable.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take it to heart.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    407
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This will have been our second visit to the Mount Royal, but I never got around to writing a review last year! The hotel itself is a Banff institution in a prime location. Some of the rooms are a little smaller than others, but I believe that is within keeping of the type of building! I have stayed with both two and three persons and we haven't had an issue with space. The only negative comment I would have would be with regards to the hot tub. We visited the same time last year and it was broken for about 3-4 days, not ideal when you have achy bones from skiing! Guess what? The same thing happened this year, only for a little longer. Thankfully the showers in our room more than made up for this as they are very powerful and helped massage those problem areas. The only other comment I would make is regarding the temporary safety deposit boxes that are behind reception. The hotel is undergoing an upgrade at the moment and I understand that not all rooms have access to safes. The hotel are offering use of these boxes behind reception but they are very very narrow and will not fit large purses or electrical equipment in. Other than that our stay was pretty much perfect, the staff are always friendly and can't help enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicstar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent visit to the Mount-Royal hotel.

First let me apologize for the Jacuzzi being out of order. It needs general yearly maintenance. We always try our very best to minimize guests impact but unfortunately, there is never a good time for this to happen. On a more positive note, I was very happy to read your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. We take customer service very seriously and we spend hours training all of our front line employee.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

An excellent place to base a ski holiday, with Tony Roma's restaurant downstairs, a ski Hire shop across the road and the Ski Bus to Lake Louise or Sunshine Village stopping right outside. All this makes life a lot easier when you are keen to get up into the mountains without any fuss.
The staff were also very friendly and extremely helpful when it came to booking excursions or restaurants or giving general advise.
The rooms are pretty spacious and well turned out, representing good value. Bathrooms could do with a bit of an uplift, but were perfectly adequate, with a bath as well as shower to soak in after a hard days ski.
All in all if you are a keen skier this is a great place to stay.
~~~ Top tips for Banff ~ Dog Sledding around Spray Lakes, dinner buffet at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel and music concerts at the Banff Centre.

Room Tip: Occasionally a bit noisy at night with some of the locals having fun in down Town Banff, but you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you have had such a good experience while you were at the hotel. Our location is for sure perfect for skiers and non skiers alike, as you said, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. You will be happy to know that our guest rooms will undergo renovations in the fall.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked a Queen room for one night over the Easter weekend. When we got to the hotel we struggled to find parking, the hotel has enough parking stalls for around 20 vehicles, otherwise you have to find parking on the street. We stayed on the 1st floor, our 'Queen' room consisted of 1 'Double' Bed, one night stand, one set of drawers and a desk with 1 chair. I have stayed in hotels all over the world from hostels to 5 star resorts and this was the smallest, dark, damp room I've ever slept in. There was just enough walking room on either side of the bed to get in. The bathroom was small and difficult to manouver around the protruding sink. Also, most of the night we could hear the guests upstairs walking around their room, the walls/ceiling are not soundproofed at all. The only good thing I have to say is the location was good, being on the front street you can walk to a lot of stores/restaurants from this hotel. To sum it all up, I would never book this hotel again and would not recommend to another traveller, if we would have had to stay in this hotel for more than one night, it would have wrecked our vacation.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to read that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. In regards to the hotel parking, we do have over 80 parking spot at the hotel. Sometimes we do run out on week-ends. The street just behind the hotel is always a good option. For this reason, we do not charge our guests for parking like most of the other hotels in Banff. We will be renovating all of our rooms in the fall. The rooms will look more modern and spacious.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Kolbotn, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our second visit - with ten years apart. We visited with small kids, this time with our teenagers. The hotel is located on the most excellent spot in Banff if you're there for skiing. The shuttle's stop had changed slightly since the last time we visited, but still very good location.

On our first visit we had one room, and it worked out ok, but we decided then that if we ever would return, that we would book two rooms. Mainly because it was hard to find good sollutions for hanging all the outdoor gear up for drying - otherwise one room (with two queens) works great for families with smaller kids. With teens however, it was just a blessing to take a peak into the girls room and continue on to my husbands and my quarters :-)

Besides the proximity to the shuttle, the hotel can't be more convienent located for shopping and eating. The hotel also offers decent meal opportunities, although we found that Melissas Missteak was a nice alternative for breakfast. And the laundry possibility at the hotel was as much appreciated this time, as when we traveled with smaller kids, since luggage can be kept to an absolute minimum. And for a skiing holdiay originating in Norway, that counts for alot!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ildri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your latest stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I would have to agree with you, our location is unbeatable, skier or no skier it is perfect, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer. The laundry facilities are very convenient indeed, I’m glad you made good use of it.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,386 - ₹ 7,332
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing