We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Royal Hotel Banff”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great place to stay in Banff. A little pricey but worth it. It is in the centre of town close to everything and is clean and very comfortable. Tea and coffee in the room.....but no fridge That would be great ! I would defiantly stay there again. Beds were very comfortable too.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the back incase there was a lot of street noise. I don't think there would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodielee22565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to see that you had such a good experience while you were staying with us. I have to agree with you. Our location is perfect, no vehicle needed at all, everything is within walking distance. I was also glad to see that you liked our beds, we just changed them all recently. I will pass on all of your nice comments to our staff, thank-you.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 841 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived March 17th only to find our reservation cancelled. Front desk informed us that our reservation was cancelled, and they were full, but, put us in a suite for same rate! It was beautiful! Couldn't ask for better service or better room! Absolutely wonderful! Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Banff! It's on the same street as the candy store (yum), we went across the street to The Keg for dinner, which was very good, you can park and walk to your heart's content throughout town. Perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Great room, great value, good service. Even though over a pub, very, very quiet! Room faced front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsGEdmonton_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I’m not sure what happened with your reservation but I was happy to read that my front-desk staff took very good care of you. We do spend quite a bit of time training our staff to better serve our guests. I’m glad to see that you went to the candy store, it is an institution in Banff. Next time you visit us, make sure to try Tony Romas located inside the hotel and their famous ribs.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is an older hotel with character. We stayed in a standard room which was small but comfortable. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of Banff walking distance to everything with an easy in easy out convenient parking lot. Area bus stop is right across the street for comfortable reliable transportation in the metro area if needed. Pub in the basement has good entertainment and is a friendly atmosphere.. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoinLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very please to read that you had such a good experience while you were staying with us. I will pass on your nice comments to our staff. Location, location, location, I couldn’t agree with you more, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer. You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms. They will look more modern and feel more comfortable.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We stayed in the older part of the hotel in March (unusually warm March). It is still nice, clean and a good basic room that included a bar fridge, coffee maker and a tea kettle. The reason we have rated this a 4 and not a 5 is because the windows do NOT open in the old part. The room thermostat is set at 72F. I like it warm but this was too warm for us, so we turned it down substantially. After being so warm the first night and not being able to sleep well, we enquired at the front desk about the heat. We were told that the cooling system was not on in the winter (make sense) but the only way to cool our room off was to turn the heating system off. We did so on our second and final night to no relief. Had we been able to stay in the new part and open a window, it would have been great.

Room Tip: Stay in the new area of the hotel that has windows that open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyDanesRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was happy to read that overall, you had a good experience while you were at the hotel. We are an older historic hotel, some of our rooms do not have windows that open you are correct but most of our rooms do. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our room with new furniture’s, accessories, etc… I do agree with you that our location is unbeatable, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer.

Once again, Thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The first time we stayed we booked a "romantic" package and they gave us a room which had a view of ... WAIT FOR IT...the side of their own building! How frickin romantic! They did nothing to change our room when we complained. We did not get a reduced rate when we booked so I didn't get why we got such a crappy room. The breakfast wasn't all that impressive.

We gave it another chance and stayed there again. This time we got a joined room and out neighbors had a dog which barked all night. Again the hotel wasn't willing to relocate us.

We will never stay there again. The service and maintenance isn't great either

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russian_queen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very sorry to read that your latest stay did not meet your expectations. First, let me assure you that we do not assign guest rooms based on rates. We always try to give the best room available at the time. If one of our guest in unhappy with his or her room, we do everything in power to help. We can offer a different room providing occupancy permits, this can be a difficult task when we are sold out or close to it.

Once again thank-you for your feedback and I sincerely apologize.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,424 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
1.0 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
846 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: ₹ 25,818 - ₹ 26,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing