We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pay a little extra elsewhere - it's worth it!”
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pay a little extra elsewhere - it's worth it!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked this hotel through a LivingSocial deal for our friend's wedding in June. We did a little research and thought the hotel was good enough for our needs (we only needed a place to sleep and shower); plus at $150 for 2 nights, a standard room, and a bottle of wine, it was a steal of a deal, right?

Boy, was it ever misleading. The hotel has seen better days and upon checking in, we already spotted that our bed wasn't made, the towel bar in the bathroom wasn't screwed in properly, and the carpet was very dirty. We were occupied with wedding festivities that we weren't cognizant enough to inspect the room in further detail. During our last night at the hotel, I finally noticed that our bed was a double bed (instead of either 1 queen sized bed or 2 double beds) and the bathtub was grimy and plain disgusting. Again, our bed wasn't made! Those "Mountain Luxury Beds" are really feather mattress toppers on a cheap mattress from the early 90's. The free Wi-Fi didn't make up for any thing either, as it was next to impossible to connect to the internet.

I will never stay here again and would not recommend this hotel. We weren't getting any sort of deal with our LivingSocial deal. Instead, we were essentially scammed by the hotel into paying $75/night for a motel-quality room through false advertising. The only thing I recommend about this hotel is their potato wedges served at their breakfast buffet; that's it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J_Unit86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    315
    323
    199
    150
See reviews for
318
407
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Booked this through Hotwire and we where very very happy!! We did upgrade for $15 to mountain views, and so worth every cent.
We had a large room, very comfy beds, small fridge, lovely toiletries provided and TV and drew Internet

It is about 1.5 k (0.93 miles)from town centre and because we had a car, it was fine. They do provide free bus passes.

We would stay here again or sure.

Room Tip: Upgrade to mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank robinyoung255323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta GA
Level Contributor
636 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

notihng really horrible to complain about, but certainly nothing decidingly positive to comment about either
a few general notes before pros and cons
property is on the edge of banff town - they advertise free passes to the bus service, which is frequently saw running, but i had a car so i did not need it.
property seems to cater to asian tour groups- almost no cars in teh lot, but mutliple busses with an endless stream of aisan tour groups

PROS:
price was very affordable for the area - i paid 74$ a night- practically pennies for Banff
room was clean, and large (stayed in the swiss building)
was quiet - they had multiple signs proclaiming quiet time at night, so i wonder if they have had problems with loud groups before, but i did not hear a peep and i know the room next door was occupied - no through-the-wall noise
indoor heated pool was clean and a nice temperature


CONS
a bit removed from downtown
no excercise room
have to drive (or take bus) to most restaraunts/stores - a bit too far to walk

In summary, if you are looking for fancy 4 star accomodations and amenities, stay away from this property - you'd be dissapointed. but for cheaper, basic stays, this property works

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have stayed here once before, but that was 3-4 years ago. It has really gone downhill. The entire facility has a slimy feel to it. Even the lobby gives off a sense that there is a film covering the surface of everything.

We got to our room and it didn't get better; it got much, much, worse.

The carpet had multiple stains around the entrance to the washroom. Dark patches throughout the carpeted area as well had me thinking there could be a mildew problem. The stains didn't stop at the floor. There were stains on the lamp shades, chairs, and walls. The TV is a flat screen and by its appearance should have been sitting at the back of a scuzzy pawn shop.

My wife and I were staying for only one night and so decided it would simply be a place to sleep and didn't want the hassle of changing hotels. I felt so disgusted with this place I didn't know where to put my sweater when I took it off. We resorted to piling our dirty clothes on top of our suitcase because, even though we weren't going to wear them, we didn't want them touching the floor.

The vacuuming leaves something to be desired as well. Around door frames and furniture you could see dirt that had accumulated for a log time.

The worst discovery was finding a hair under one of the "sanitized" drinking glasses. A long thick black hair. Yuck!

Do not stay at this hotel. It's slimy, scuzzy, disgusting, and not at all worth whatever price you pay. It's cheap for a reason. Pay 10 dollars more and stay in a cleaner hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our Swiss Village Complex. These budget priced rooms are in high demand but many guests choose to stay in the main Inns of Banff buildings. These rooms are closer to all the amenities including our large outdoor hot pool with panoramic views of Cascade Mountain. If you have reserved standard accommodation inquire about room options at time of check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Stay here most years I go to Canada. In a class of it's own. Stayed 5 star 3 times in Banff & to be honest, this isn't far off. Staff, hotel, hot tub on roof & bar all get 10 outta 10. Bus pick up outside for skiers & amazing location at the end of Banff avenue next to the wood. If your lucky you'll see some nice brave wildlife!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomgraham66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.6 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.4 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.8 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.4 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Property: Inns Of Banff
Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,913 - ₹ 25,016
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing