We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay away from the bustle of downtown Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Our room was on the third floor (although the windows were only slightly above ground level) and it turned out to be very quiet - less street/parking lot noise than I expected. Our host greeted us with genuine warmth and got us checked in early - 2 hours before the normal check-in time. We received passes for the shuttle bus that stops right in front of Douglas Fir resort - it was great to avoid driving and parking in downtown Banff on a 3-day weekend. We hiked down into town (it's only a 20-25 minute stroll) and then took the shuttle back up. Our room had a full kitchen and we ate breakfast and one dinner there - there are adequate provisions for sale in the mini-mart and liquor store at the resort.
As far as the room itself, it was perfectly comfortable - good bed, plenty of towels, TV and wi-fi worked fine, black-out curtains made it nice and dark. It was warm so we didn't use the fireplace provided. The decor wasn't exactly rustic but it certainly had a mountain/ski resort vibe - a lot of wood, dark-ish carpets (think about all those guests tromping through the hallways in snow boots), the indoor pool and hot tub for the evening soak. I could easily imagine bringing a family here for a ski vacation. The indoor water slide must be great when everything is frosty outside! I am jealous of families in Calgary - this is the kind of resort we used to go to in California in the Tahoe area before everything got so "upscale" and too expensive for regular families. I can live without faux-marble tile in the bathroom when I'm in the Canadian Rockies!

Room Tip: We liked our room on the third floor - it was very easy to access from the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CLwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

room 148, place looked really scruffy from the outside. Staff were friendly, door had a kick plate. Beds were clean and comfy. Couch and kitchen nook were very dirty and needed replacing. Not great, but adequate for a day or two. The living area was very dingy and needed a total overhaul.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karen20903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We were a little skeptical about this property as hadn't read very good reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. The resort is amazing, rooms are very nice and spacious. Ours had a kitchennete also. Great views and location. If you have young kids then it is ideal as has a play zone, indoor slides etc

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnatbanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The staff was very welcoming. The room and resort needs some upgrades, though. The carpeting shows a lot of wear, doors close loudly even when careful to close, and the slider was very difficult to move. The room was clean and the bed comfortable; a little soft. Our room was located next to the busy road and the ice machine so was kind of noisy. The water slides were very fun. They offer free bus service into Banff which is a great way to get around. The town is very busy with people everywhere. Maybe after Labor Day the crowds thin out.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

WARNING: check your air conditioners for leaks. The A/C unit in our room dripped, soaking a bunch of clothes we had nearby. Luckily it was only clothes and not kids toys or books — it could have been much worse! Frustratingly, when mentioned to both the cleaning staff and the front desk, the response was "oh yeah, we know about that." REALLY? If so, why don't you have a sign or put a bucket underneath or something? To leave it up to your guests to re-"discover" such a surprising in-room water feature isn't as pleasant a guest experience as one might think…

That said:

The Douglas Fir is a great resort for family getaways. Their 3-bedroom suits (sleeps up to 10 people) are really the only way, short of renting a condo or multiple rooms, to have a multi-family getaway in Banff under one roof.

The kids amenities (waterslides, pools, giant playroom) and being close to Banff gives lots of opportunity for play for all ages in your group.

However, in addition to the leaky A/C, the actual resort is rather dated. The furnishings are mediocre at best, and the equipment in the kitchen is like what you'd find in your first student rental, not a "resort" charging $700+/night. Maybe they could take a few dollars and buy a couple of knives with an edge, and a couch made in the last decade or two.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain-side views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBurjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,195 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.6 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: ₹ 8,274 - ₹ 12,314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing