We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Nearby Hotels
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 253
US$ 232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 237
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 266
US$ 241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 298
US$ 273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 237
US$ 185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$ 508
US$ 431
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
US$ 250
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 319
US$ 250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$ 228
US$ 215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
330
434
169
75
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
434
169
75
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesindoor playgroundfull kitchenplay zoneframe chaletliquor storemurphy bedbedroom condotunnel mountainmain buildingbit datedhot tubwood burningfree busdowntown banffflat screenbus service
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have a pile of kids, and don't fit in traditional hotel rooms. The Douglas Fir has a number of room configurations that fit us all. The fact that we can make some meals in the suite saves us $ and the BBQ facilities were handy and immaculate. But of course, the waterslides and the scenic setting are what make this a favorite place for us to stay. All the kids were entertained for hours at the waterslides, we enjoyed the separate, small swimming pool and the fitness facilities. The scenery is beautiful - we went on a 1 hour hike the first day right from our door, took a 4 hr hike around Tunnel Mountain, to Bow Falls and through Banff before returning up the road back to our suite. The last day we hiked to the breathtaking view of the Hoodoos -all from our room door!
The hotel is slightly removed from Banff townsite, but it is a short drive or walk. The rooms are not new, but are always clean and well stocked and I don't find them out-dated. Everyone was friendly. The onsite mini store is expensive, so buy your groceries elsewhere and save that for any last minute extras.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the hotel and cabins and townhouse style chalets around the grounds. We've stayed in each of these and enjoyed them all. Despite sharing a wall with another family with kids, we never heard them and don't think that they could hear us.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingfamily009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I’m thrilled to hear the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets was able to accommodate your large family. We have a large selection of room types for 1 to 10 people and everything in between. It sounds like you made the most of our amenities and our location on Tunnel Mt. with family friendly hikes right on your doorstep. I hope to welcome you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Chose to stay here based on the great reviews. Am glad we did. We had a 1 bedroom with a well-equipped kitchenette. Friendly and helpful staff. It is a quiet and yet only 5 minutes away from the city center. We got a slight discount in rates when we booked the rooms through the resort's website four months early.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and that you took advantage of our Early Bird booking option. For all of our latest information on prices stay connected via our Facebook and Twitter pages. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had chosen to stay on Tunnel Mountain in a chalet for 5 nights as we wanted a more 'rustic' experience than staying in a hotel room in the centre of Banff. On arrival I was disappointed as it didn't look very rustic at all. Peach coloured ugly-looking units and chalets around the edges of a large car park - not at all like the the rustic cabin that we had just enjoyed in Jasper. Our chalet was pretty private, being on the edge of the property. The front had a large balcony overlooking the surrounding woods, although unfortunately the five or so chalets are too low down to see the fantastic mountain views seen from some of the other units and the main building. The back of the chalet overlooks the car park so it wasn't exactly wilderness! The unit itself was very dark - drop something on the floor and you'll need a torch to find it, but otherwise okay.

The chalet was a little dated, but functional. We were slightly perturbed that the door from our balcony to our lounge didn't have a lock on it, but the balcony was several feet off the ground so it would have been difficult, but not impossible to get into the chalet. There was a safe deposit box though which was great. The balcony was large, but they had only provided 2 chairs and a tiny table so our family of 4 were unable to sit together / eat outside, which was a shame and because the balcony was encased in wood, once you were sitting down you couldn't see through it to look at the view! The kitchen was well equipped; one of the rings on our cooker didn't work on arrival, but was swiftly repaired when we mentioned it. Free firewood was a nice touch and we had a fire one evening, but the whole chalet then smelt strongly of smoke.

The downstairs twin bedroom didn't have any drawers, just some hanging space, so I was at a loss as to where to put underwear etc and all the kids' clothes that didn't hang up. I mentioned this on the first day and although she said she would make a note of it, she said there was nothing she could do about it (there was space in the room for a small chest of drawers so I don't know wht there wasn't one in there)- we hung the children's clothes in carrier bags in the end; fine for the odd night, but a pain for 5 nights.

Free bus into Banff (5 minute journey) was every 40 minutes and was great. Reception staff friendly and knowledgeable.

Recreational facilities were great. Found it odd that if you weren't staying in the main building, everything had to be accessed via the indoor car park, but the play zone was great for under 9s. There is a smallish pool and hot tub (mainly aimed at grown ups) which is open all day and was great - we had it to ourselves. There is also a completely separate complex, which has a pool with 2 waterslides and the best bit is there a very large hot tub right next to it so you can sit in it and stay warm whilst your kids use the slides. There is also a little pool for younger kids next to it too, so families with children of a range of ages are well catered for.

Used the shop on site on the evening of our arrival but it was incredibly expensive so stop off at Safeway on Marten St if you can before arriving.

Generally a nice location and all in all we had a good time and I'm sure the rooms in the main building provided a very different experience, but would consider other places if we returned to Banff and were looking for a rural retreat.

Room Tip: The chalets are on the far edge of the property, bordering the woods. This is as quiet as you will get, although you miss out on the mountain views as you are lower than most of the other accommodation and you have to walk across the outdoor car park and through the indoor parkade to access the pools and play zone, which may not be fun in winter. Nicely far away from neighbours though.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Exceptional staff in this comfortable condo-hotel.
Comfortable facilities, covered parking, and terrific staff.
I am in the hospitality industry and very much appreciated the ability of the staff to anticipate our needs and make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgtravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding our staff and your stay. Our staff work hard to ensure every guest who stays at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets has a memorable vacation and I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to our team. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights during May first week and had booked online with reviews seen from trip advisor.It was exactly as per the review.It is a family friendly hotel with rooms having kitchen & microwave .There is an indoor water park & a hot pool very good for the childrens...The views we got was just opposite the Tunnel mountain which was very tranquil..Some wild life like the Deers & the ground squirrel can be seen from the room itself...There is a walking trek going from the hotel to nearby sites like the Hoodoos & Bay valley..Being around 3 km away from the maintown you can have the feeling of the Rockies...The staff was friendly & helpfull...They have a fireplace in the room itself and the staff helped us to light the fire which was a first time experience for us...They have complimentary WIFI in the hotel...Bow river is just 3 km from the hotel...A small but important point is the parking of cars was in such a way that there was minimum headache to transfer the baggage.....We definately recommend this hotel for a very reasonable price they offer.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain facing room rather then the roadside.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jatinicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I’m pleased to hear you thought the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets lived up to expectations from our previous, positive Trip Advisor reviews. It seems you and your family had a great trip all-round and even got to experience our resident deer family making their morning rounds. I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews