We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay - would do it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great stay - would do it again!”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We LOVED our stay at Douglas Fir. After having arrived in Banff from Jasper, we had pretty low expectations as our accommodation in Jasper was pretty average. When we arrived at Douglas Fir, the front desk staff were incredibly polite, efficient and welcoming.

Our 1br + loft "condo" (more like a town home) was on the edge of the property with wonderful views of the mountains. The woods were just beyond the balcony, and it was lovely having such a peaceful and private outlook.

I was initially turned off when we entered the condo, as there was a strong "old fire" smell. However, we aired the place out a bit and eventually got used to the smell. It wasn't a horrible smell, just a distinct fire smell. The free (and plentiful) firewood was a very welcome touch. We had a fire almost every night.

The decor was a bit dated, but everything was incredibly clean and tidy. Lots of thoughtful touches. Cannot rave enough about the housekeeping staff, who did a great job keeping us well supplied each day with all we needed. We didn't want our beds made each day, but just occasionally needed more tea/coffee etc. They were always obliging and helpful.

Beds were very comfortable, and although this was presented as a 1.5 bathroom condo, the half bathroom (upstairs in the loft) was a very comfortable and roomy toilet with large sink and storage cupboards. It was as effective as a full-size bathroom, just missing the shower/bath bit. We were very impressed with this.

The play zone and kids waterslides were a great adventure for our 2.5yr old, and it made it so easy to pass a few hours in between exploring Banff. With small kids, it's great to have such easy entertainment close by.

The only negative experience we had was on the final night: a condo across the carpark was having a noisy party on their balcony. Lots of drinking, yelling, singing, loud music etc. After waiting for it to end, eventually at midnight I called the front desk to ask for some help. The front desk staff were wonderful, he straightaway said he would go down and talk to them. Within 10 mins there was total silence, and I later found out (the next morning as we checked out) that they had called a cab and asked the partyers to take downtown. Couldn't have asked for the situation to have been dealt with more promptly or efficiently.

The free shuttle into town was fabulous - very much appreciated! Made exploring downtown Banff super easy.

All in all, we loved our stay here and would definitely recommend it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the edge of the property, which backs onto the woods. (We stayed in room 182 and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anget123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to hear that overall your vacation was a good one and the issues which did arise, were responded to swiftly and professionally by our team. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the appropriate departments. Please know for any future stays, that as a family friendly hotel we have a strict 10pm Quiet Time policy and would also address noise issues at any time of day. I hope we can once again be your hotel of choice on your return vacation to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    398
    157
    68
    39
See reviews for
627
137
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
big city
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have a pile of kids, and don't fit in traditional hotel rooms. The Douglas Fir has a number of room configurations that fit us all. The fact that we can make some meals in the suite saves us $ and the BBQ facilities were handy and immaculate. But of course, the waterslides and the scenic setting are what make this a favorite place for us to stay. All the kids were entertained for hours at the waterslides, we enjoyed the separate, small swimming pool and the fitness facilities. The scenery is beautiful - we went on a 1 hour hike the first day right from our door, took a 4 hr hike around Tunnel Mountain, to Bow Falls and through Banff before returning up the road back to our suite. The last day we hiked to the breathtaking view of the Hoodoos -all from our room door!
The hotel is slightly removed from Banff townsite, but it is a short drive or walk. The rooms are not new, but are always clean and well stocked and I don't find them out-dated. Everyone was friendly. The onsite mini store is expensive, so buy your groceries elsewhere and save that for any last minute extras.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the hotel and cabins and townhouse style chalets around the grounds. We've st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingfamily009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I’m thrilled to hear the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets was able to accommodate your large family. We have a large selection of room types for 1 to 10 people and everything in between. It sounds like you made the most of our amenities and our location on Tunnel Mt. with family friendly hikes right on your doorstep. I hope to welcome you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Chose to stay here based on the great reviews. Am glad we did. We had a 1 bedroom with a well-equipped kitchenette. Friendly and helpful staff. It is a quiet and yet only 5 minutes away from the city center. We got a slight discount in rates when we booked the rooms through the resort's website four months early.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and that you took advantage of our Early Bird booking option. For all of our latest information on prices stay connected via our Facebook and Twitter pages. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had chosen to stay on Tunnel Mountain in a chalet for 5 nights as we wanted a more 'rustic' experience than staying in a hotel room in the centre of Banff. On arrival I was disappointed as it didn't look very rustic at all. Peach coloured ugly-looking units and chalets around the edges of a large car park - not at all like the the rustic cabin that we had just enjoyed in Jasper. Our chalet was pretty private, being on the edge of the property. The front had a large balcony overlooking the surrounding woods, although unfortunately the five or so chalets are too low down to see the fantastic mountain views seen from some of the other units and the main building. The back of the chalet overlooks the car park so it wasn't exactly wilderness! The unit itself was very dark - drop something on the floor and you'll need a torch to find it, but otherwise okay.

The chalet was a little dated, but functional. We were slightly perturbed that the door from our balcony to our lounge didn't have a lock on it, but the balcony was several feet off the ground so it would have been difficult, but not impossible to get into the chalet. There was a safe deposit box though which was great. The balcony was large, but they had only provided 2 chairs and a tiny table so our family of 4 were unable to sit together / eat outside, which was a shame and because the balcony was encased in wood, once you were sitting down you couldn't see through it to look at the view! The kitchen was well equipped; one of the rings on our cooker didn't work on arrival, but was swiftly repaired when we mentioned it. Free firewood was a nice touch and we had a fire one evening, but the whole chalet then smelt strongly of smoke.

The downstairs twin bedroom didn't have any drawers, just some hanging space, so I was at a loss as to where to put underwear etc and all the kids' clothes that didn't hang up. I mentioned this on the first day and although she said she would make a note of it, she said there was nothing she could do about it (there was space in the room for a small chest of drawers so I don't know wht there wasn't one in there)- we hung the children's clothes in carrier bags in the end; fine for the odd night, but a pain for 5 nights.

Free bus into Banff (5 minute journey) was every 40 minutes and was great. Reception staff friendly and knowledgeable.

Recreational facilities were great. Found it odd that if you weren't staying in the main building, everything had to be accessed via the indoor car park, but the play zone was great for under 9s. There is a smallish pool and hot tub (mainly aimed at grown ups) which is open all day and was great - we had it to ourselves. There is also a completely separate complex, which has a pool with 2 waterslides and the best bit is there a very large hot tub right next to it so you can sit in it and stay warm whilst your kids use the slides. There is also a little pool for younger kids next to it too, so families with children of a range of ages are well catered for.

Used the shop on site on the evening of our arrival but it was incredibly expensive so stop off at Safeway on Marten St if you can before arriving.

Generally a nice location and all in all we had a good time and I'm sure the rooms in the main building provided a very different experience, but would consider other places if we returned to Banff and were looking for a rural retreat.

Room Tip: The chalets are on the far edge of the property, bordering the woods. This is as quiet as you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Exceptional staff in this comfortable condo-hotel.
Comfortable facilities, covered parking, and terrific staff.
I am in the hospitality industry and very much appreciated the ability of the staff to anticipate our needs and make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgtravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding our staff and your stay. Our staff work hard to ensure every guest who stays at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets has a memorable vacation and I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to our team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.9 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,750 - ₹ 18,795
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing