We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Clean, Quiet Studio Room with almost everything needed in the kitchen with pots and frying pans (only 2 mixing bowls but thats just means hubby washes them between uses + we brought our own Roaster), even has a bottle opener and cork screw for the wine. Loved that wood burning fireplace in the room. Pool, hot tub and fitness room were great.

We will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear how at home you felt in our Studio Suite. It’s great that you found our fully equipped kitchens so convenient when it came to preparing a family meal and saves you money from going to restaurants every night. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    385
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
593
136
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We brought our 2 grandchildren up to Banff for a ski weekend and stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort. We have stayed with them there before but this time we booked a loft unit in the lodge. This was a good call as the kids did not have to go outside to get to the waterslide. It was convienient to have a half bath on the upper loft level. I booked enough in advance that we got the early bird special discount which was a decent savings. The Douglas Fir Resort is a great family resort and we will continue to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loislouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent ski weekend with us! It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and made great use of our Early Bird discount on your ski package. We have a number of great promotions throughout the year to help you save. You can stay connected to us through our Facebook, Twitter and e-newsletter to be the first to know when we have specials available. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Quite a nice resort - not a dazzle you type place but very clean and well appointed. Great spot for kids. We had the one bedroom condo. Rooms were clean, applliances clean and functional, kitchen well equipped - everything we needed to cook our meals. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plus the waterslides and playzone was a hit with my 6 year old son.

My second time staying at Douglas Fir and I would definitely stay again if I have the opportunity to spend more time in Banff.

Room Tip: IF you have small kids, consider getting a room in the main lodge as you won't have to go outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. You sound like you made great use of our fully equipped kitchens and that our Playzone and waterslides lived up to your son’s expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Douglas Fir Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Recently stayed here for the first time for acouple of nights. It was soooo good. Upon arriving at Front Desk I was greeted by the lovely Front Desk staff, they were so friendly and helpful. I arrived alittle earlier so I could check out the waterslides and playzone and gym for the kids and everything which would kill time, but to my surprise I was instantly checked in! All the girls were so helpful with giving directions in Banff, they seemed to know the area like a tour guide which was nice. It was a privledge to be checked in by Wenke, she seemed to friendly and really wanting to help us in any way possible.
I had a little baby which needed a good sleep after such a long time driving which was a big relief as well!
I was pleased to say I arrived at my room TIP (Studio, 319) - to become surprised by the BEST VIEW EVER of the mountain scenery. Overall, used all the amenities and they provided instant help whenever an issue occurred with personal service. Its very roomy, well equiped and plenty of things to do to keep the kids happy. They didnt want to leave! Definetly return if I ever come back to Banff!

Chungy out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chungy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Chungy, thank you so much for your kind words on your recent stay. It’s wonderful to know that our staff made you feel so welcome and went above and beyond your expectations to ensure your stay was a great one. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our staff. We certainly have some astounding mountain vistas from our rooms from our beautiful location on Tunnel Mt,. it’s great to hear how much you enjoyed the view from your hotel in Banff! You can stay connected with us with our Facebook and Twitter pages for our latest on specials!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We're just back from a great weekend (Saturday, Sunday) at the Douglas Fir. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo. We love being able to send the kids to bed in their bedroom while we relax for a while longer in the living room. The Murphy bed was very comfy, much more than sofa-beds tend to be. We brought breakfast fixings from home so had a great leisurely start to each day.

The kids spent a great deal of time playing in the play area and we all enjoyed guest pool. The waterslides were quite busy on Saturday, and the kids decided simply romping in the regular pool was much more fun. The staff were very friendly as they plowed out the parking lot, helped find a charger for the cell phone, and found information for us.

Closest thing to a complaint would be that the shower in the pool change room sprayed every which way but on us... oh and they couldn't arrange a bigger blizzard that would have forced us to stay an extra day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rinrat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are extremely please everyone had a wonderful time at the Douglas Fir Resort. Our One Bedroom Condo’s are perfect for parents with little ones, as they can send them off to bed in the private bedroom and still enjoy some quite time together. As for the blizzard you ordered, our apologies as it arrived just a couple of days after your stay! We hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.1 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.8 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,865 - ₹ 14,773
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing