We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchenette Suites are great for families”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here twice in the last month. The first time in one of the loft suites. Like others have said, it gets hot upstairs. The heat goes straight up so when it's time for bed you fry. Thankfully an open window upstairs get rid of the heat quickly.

This past weekend we stayed two nights in a kitchenette suite. It's got a regular bedroom with a plasma/lcd tv and a queen bed. In the other bedroom there was 2 single beds. In between there's a kitchenette with a small table, 4 stools, a stovetop, bar fridge and a microwave. It's great for families. The furnishings are a bit old however. And yes, the walls are thin so we could hear the neighbours. Not a problem for us since we travel with a couple of white noise machines for the kids.

One last thing, neither room had a bathtub. Just a shower stall, so this might be a problem if you have small children.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macoombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 530 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our first visit was to the original cedar cabins (clean and beautifully finished) , and now to the newer arrangement (still very clean and well kept) We were treated royally by the staff on both accasions. If everything goes well, maybe we will be back for the 60th!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed with my 3 kids ( 7,5,2) the staff were very helpful. Extra bedding,help with breakfast ect. I would stay again in a minute!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larsen863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My 5 year old son says this was the best place he stayed. We stayed in a loft suite. The bed was very comfortable. Can hear coughing in the next room. The stairs are hard to navigate. Loft area very warm, downstairs cool. Not much of a view. Pool area very nice. The breakfast was great. The 2 ladies working the continental breakfast were super. Very nice. A bit of a walk to downtown. All in all very pleasurable stay. Would go back again on a deal.

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs, I do not recommend the loft suite. no microwaves in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPK1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We bought the livingsocial deal for the loft suite at Charlton's Cedar Court. The loft suite was WAY TOO HOT! The air conditioning worked just fine in the lower part, but upstairs had no airflow, even if you have the window open and the fan and air conditioning going. In fact the whole hotel was hot! The breakfast area and lobby was stuffy, and the pool area itself felt like a sauna room! When I asked the front desk about our room being hot, they told me they have never had any complaints about it before (but according to reviews on tripadvisor.ca, it's a common occurrence with the guests)!. The one positive thing was that the front desk offered us a one-floor suite which was so much cooler the second night!
The pool and hot tub was nice. The continental breakfast was mediocre, with really only basic breakfast foods. The breakfast area was very cramped and awkward.
I guess overall it was a nice getaway - though I would never stay in the loft area again!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the loft rooms - you will be hot at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,425 reviews
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,172 reviews
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.1 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: ₹ 6,564 - ₹ 17,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing