We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, inconsistent Wifi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, inconsistent Wifi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The location of the hotel is great, and while we only stayed overnight, the overall impression was good. The staff is friendly and the rooms are more than adequate.Only a couple of hiccups.

1. There was a dried, bloody stain on the outside surface of the bed cover, only covered a small area but big enough to make out the dripping pattern.
2. One of the red cushion pillows on the bed had a large clear stain, upon closer inspection we got a hunch of what it could have been and tossed the whole thing across the room...
3. the wifi is inconsistent. having wifi is essential to us and we make reservations based on it. The connection was there the night we got there but loading a page was next to impossible. The next morning, however, the connection seemed just fine.

Overall the stay was good. The walls are thin but for an overnight stay it was adequate. I wish the cleanliness of bed items could be further examined

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    368
    207
    74
    32
See reviews for
234
343
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Ab
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

With Banff hotels offering rates and quality at wildly inconsistent levels, we focused more on price for a two night ski trip. The Banff "I" offered a spring getaway for 99.00 per night. We asked for no pets/smoking/down pillows due to allergies and were informed this was standard. Great news. The young man at check in would speak only when spoken too. Underground parking was no extra charge. The room was very clean and a reasonable size with two queens. The mattresses were a little soft for our liking. An interesting touch to have washable duvet covers instead of the traditional bedspreads of questionable cleanliness. A quiet building notwithstanding the fellow sitting in a lounge chair out in the hall speaking on the cell phone at 11:00 at night. There is no pool, but there is a large hot tub featuring co-ed rinsing showers. One gentleman didn't notice the co-ed part and showered , um, completely. Good thing my wife wasn't there. I suggest the "no nudity" sign on the door (referring to partiers in the hot tub no doubt) might be more defined. The "I" is walking distance to many restaurants so no need to spend time at Ricky's.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauifan125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Like most Hotels in Banff... Average

Since Banff is generally very expensive, this hotel is great value for money. There are some great offers, like rooms with free gondola passes ($60.00 value). If you are looking for a high end fancy place, this isn't it. If you need value for money and a nice clean place to stay. This is the place

It is well located, on the Banff strip and very close to the heart of Banff. Some of the hotels are a very long walk away. Do not underestimate this, it can be very important late at night or in the cold. It also has nice heated underground parking.

The rooms were average, showing some normal wear and tear (ie toilet ran, faucet was loose). But the rooms, like the rest of the hotel were clean and that's very important. the wear and tear was average, nothing horrible.

It tries to be fancy and high end, but it just doesn't get there. Its the kind of place that calls their Ricky's All Day Grill - upscale family dining. There is nothing wrong with Ricky's, and there is nothing wrong with the Banff International, they are just not upscale.

Again, if value, saving money, and having a clean, safe, well located place in Banff is what you need, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

pros: free underground parking; clean room; with clean crisp bedding; clean bathroom; walls are quite thick, we got the room at the end of the hotel so we only had one neighbour and opposite us was the emergency exit, I don't hear anything from the neighbour who is actually talking quite loudly because I can hear it when I walked down the hallway; front desk staff are lovely and very helpful; hotel is walking distance to the banff shops / downtown that we didn't need to use the car to go there; I can see that there are no aircon in the room, so I'm not sure how the hotel would be during summer, but for us in winter the room temperature was perfect; there's a restaurant downstairs; the hotel itself and the room interior are really charming with country cabin feel to it.

cons: I can hear the train going past every so often, but we found that all we needed to do was to close these latches on the windows to make it airtight & somewhat soundproof, didn't hear the train during the night anymore so that wasn't really that much of a negative for us; the bathroom wallpaper and above the sink lighting somewhat look a bit dated, but the sink, toilet and bathroom were all new and clean

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed to this hotel for business and enjoyed it very much. The location is excellent at a walking distance of all shops and restaurants on Banff ave. The complimentary parking was appreciated too!

My major expectations when booking a hotel are a clean and silent room and comfortable bed and this is exactly what I got and at the price paid ($99), it was good value. I recommend this hotel to travellers to Banff. Complimentary wi-fi was a great feature too but I found it quite slow...

There is no air conditionning so in summer, rooms may be hot. I was there in February with heat at 0 and it was hot during the night. Good thing, the windows can be opened so this was not a big issue. I also think nights may be cool in summer there with the mountains surrounding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frick_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on your stay with us. I am very happy that we met your expectations as a traveler. Since we changed to new beds and bedding within the last year, we have received many positive comments on the comfort of our beds. Regarding our free wi-fi, it is a great feature and we are looking into increasing the bandwidth as the number of guests who access it increases day by day. Overall, it is our intention to offer good value at a fair price, and we hope to do so again for you in the future should you come back this way.

Daren – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.4 km away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.5 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,796 - ₹ 18,274
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing