We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel at a Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I have just returned from a weekend in Banff. Had a positive experience staying at Irwin's Mountain Inn.

The hotel is in a great location on Banff Avenue. We had arrived before check in time, but the receptionist allowed us to park in their underground parking area. This meant we could walk into Banff & not have to worry about parking downtown. It is only a short walk to the shopping area. The same thing applied after we checked out. The hotel allowed us to leave the vehicle in their parking lot until we were ready to go home later that afternoon.

The rooms are comfortable & clean. Our room had a coffee maker, fridge, microwave & kitchen sink. Tea kettles are available on request. There is a gym & hot tub.

The restaurant on site is excellent. We were impressed with the selection of vegetarian food available on the menu & the prices are very reasonable.

Staff were extremely pleasant & helpful, The hotel is pet friendly & although I wasn't travelling with my pets on this occasion, it is good to see a hotel with a pet friendly policy in place.

Overall, a good hotel at a fair price. I would book here again & would also recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 418 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel/inn for our family trip in Banff. It was within walking distance to Banff Town Centre and because our room has fridge, we were able to avoid eating out all the time (saved us some money), and just managed to buy some food in a nearby Safeway Store. The room we were in had a good view of the mountains, had the necessary facilities needed and was reasonably clean. The room could use some upgrade on its decoration and noise reduction too.
The receptionist during our visit didn't appear very jolly...she really needed to smile a bit.
For the price and for it's function, this hotel is reasonable and convenient indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asndavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The hotel has a very nice hot tub. There is also a sauna and exercise area. I never used the exercise equipment, and although there wasn't a lot of equipment, what was there all looked like it was in good shape.

When the hotel is full, it can be difficult to find a parking spot. One has to be careful accessing the rear parking area, because a short one-lane strip is used to access the back.

Room Tip: North side of hotel can be noisy when windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctoews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you so much for your review. The Irwin's has prided itself on clean rooms and quality service since 1967. Our goal at the Inn is that you will experience rest and comfort and all the complimentary ammenities that many other hotels do not offer. From complimentary wi-fi internet to Free parking (which is not always the case in Banff), our hope is that many guests will return again and again with their family and friends. We do provide free underground parking for cars and free parking behind our hotel for trucks and SUV's. Our location near downtown makes it perfect to take a stroll to the shops and enjoy Banff's sights and sounds. Our free hot tub room and sauna coupled with our exercise room and complimentary ski lockers gives you another reason to return and enjoy this world class destination that is Banff, Alberta, CANADA. Thanks again for your feedback and do come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We were there for a hockey tournament and it was walking distance to the arena (20 min at a 5 yr olds pace). It's only 5-10 min walk to Cascade mall and downtown. The hotel looks classy with its renos. We stayed in a family suite which had 2 qns and a bedroom with dbl bed). There was a huge flat screen tv as well as another one in the kids room. I loved the fact that the sink area was separate from the toilet/shower room so that others can wash up while the bathroom was being used. There was also a kitchen sink and fridge, microwave which was great for making breakfast/lunch. The hot tub and sauna were great. Also, the restaurant offered very reasonable breakfasts (not that we tried it). Menu showed $6 for bacon, eggs, toast, hashbrowns. Apparently, they are "award winning breakfasts". The rooms were very spacious for us (2 adults, 3 kids) and my sister's family stayed in a double room which looked very spacious too with a patio on theirs. Plenty of parking in the underground parkade or out back as well as on the street behind the hotel. The internet worked fine on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytrails69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Friendly staff who offered a complimentary sleeping cot and bedding for my baby without me asking. The staff walk around singing. They have a great serving heart attitude that made it easy for me to ask for things when needed. Their family rooms were perfect which included a private master bedroom for sleepy parents or to keep noisy little ones separated.

Room Tip: Just ask for a description/availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jemalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#19 of 34 in Banff
444 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.7 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
813 reviews
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,463 reviews
0.3 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: ₹ 4,805 - ₹ 14,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing