We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away-management is reason enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were in contact with hotels in Banff weeks before our planned arrival, and was treated ruder on the phone by 29 Siding Lodge people than I had ever been. It turned out the person who talked to me was Elsa, the manager. She made no apology when I explained how I felt I had been treated poorly! Due to complications at central reservations, we lost our room for a few hours, then was promised it and our rate back by Dong at the hotel. But since the person who promised it back was no longer working there, they wouldn't honor the promised room, or the rate the reservations supervisor had been told . It took three calls from corporate to get the rate reinstated, That told me volumes about this hotel, since the manager sets the tone for the staff to follow. It turned out we didn't stay there, a good thing from what I read,. I wrote Mr Kong CEO at Best Western, outlining our issues/repeated problems, and asked him to pull this franchise affiliation. It is hurting the Best Western reputation to have these people and a substandard place bear their name. There are other similar places (high Country Inn etc) nearby for less, and their people try hard to please their guests, not talk down to them!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank cotingey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (784)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 614 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

I like this hotel. A little pricey like anything in Banff i suppose, but worth it compared to other hotels in the area. Breakfast buffet that's included was good but the dining room was a little crowded (not many seats). Had to stand there with the plate in my hand until someone was finished. However, having breakfast included was still a treat and saves a few bucks as well. All in all, a pretty good place. Would definetly stay there if i ever go back to Banff. Banff has become more of a busy city-like atmosphere it seems so i will likely find a place more secluded and natural for our next vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunkie808780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is not a "PLUS" Bestwestern. Multiple issues with this place. Parking is horrendous (you park underground will very little room for medium cars). We were blocked in with no apologies from the customer and very little remark from management. Pool is small and very old. Hot water was not widely available around 9am (suggest taking a shower at night). Did not get towels restocked on our 2nd night. We ended up eating breakfast in the lobby since their breakfast room seats 20 people max. On the plus side, it is close to downtown (easy walking distance). The room was large with comfortable bedding. But for the price and based on management's reaction to our complaints, I would never stay here again. But you live and you learn. In this case, we learned.

Room Tip: Tip: pick a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa T, Manager at Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Matt,
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Sincerely,
Elsa Tungpalan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Unlike some Best Westerns, we were greeted recognizing our allegiance to Best Western with a gift. It was nothing special but it's the thought that counts. There was no extra charge for the underground parking and there were multiple spaces where one could park without risk of getting door dings. The internet wi-fi and pipe to the internet was better than you usually find in hotels. We didn't use the pool or spa, but it looked good. In Banff, you stay near town and walk in for dinner or what have you since the downtown area is congested and parking is limited. This BW was a longer walk than most hotels, about a half mile, but in good weather it's a bit of welcome exercise.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equal. The street was quiet so our front side room was not a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Booked this hotel on line for a one night stay while visiting Banff area. Check in was quick. Rooms were very clean and beds super comfy. Parking is limited and restricted to passenger cars. Some SUVs do not fit in underground parking provided. Only 3 alternative spots available on property. Street parking limited. Convenient walking distance to restaurants and shops. Full breakfast offered but breakfast room is very small and you will have to wait if hotel is at all busy.

Room Tip: Ask for street side , oherwise you are looking at a parking lot and private condo building.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
1.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,452 reviews
0.5 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.1 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: ₹ 7,148 - ₹ 23,914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing