We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So..if you done have any choice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
Ranked #10 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So So..if you done have any choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We found this a bit pricy for electric but there is no other option near by,
Showers are OK and so as rest rooms. However we only got electric and no water and thats why found the price a bit strange. But, there are not many RV park there, so its obvious that it would be pricey.
Quiet (good for sleep), We were scared of bears, so, did not cook and ate in Boston Pizza restaurant.
Overall, not so bad

Room Tip: Make sure you check in ASAP as RV park fiils fast, even in MAY (start of the season), it was almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank divyadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    31
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have loved staying here in our tent. The restrooms and showers are kept very clean and the park itself is easy to navigate thanks to the great job they have done plowing.

There is a train line near by that has one train each night around 11 but apart from that the place is extremely quite.

Considering it is snowing and still quite cold they only charged us $8.80 CAD which is very cheap for the distance from downtown and local attractions

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DigitalElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had full hook up and the site was not full but we were given a pitch right near the far end and it was in a wind tunnel, perhaps thats why its called tunnel mountain. The site had good facilities though and was well placed for Banff and the best way to travel to the town is by bus that costs next to nothing for a full day pass.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank mrspegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krommenie, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Ok, it is not the most beautifull campground ever, but why are you staying overthere? We used it as a central place for our banff trips and then it is a good place. We were only at the campground in the evening to cook and sleep. They have showers, bathrooms and electricity. Further it is very basic. Best thing was the bus line to down town banff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devriesmartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were on an RV trip to be out in nature... We had heard that Tunnel Mountain was better than Lake Louise due to train noise at Lake Louise... NOT TRUE! There was the same amount of train noise at both Lake Louise and Tunnel Mountain II. Maybe the info was for the other Tunnel Mountain sites? The downside of Tunnel Mountain II is there is very little nature to observe. It is a parking lot with a few trees and picnic tables. You parallel park on the side of a street lined with other RV's. Not any privacy, little play area for kids, (except the road??) No atmosphere, unless you like camping on a road. The only thing good is the proximity to Banff, which of course is not a wilderness place... A good place to buy groceries and get a nice meal before heading out the the real outdoors further down the road.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank twintravelers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.0 km away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.0 km away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
3.8 km away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground

Property: Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 5km east of Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing