We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming comfy cottage in beautiful countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage
Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Columbine main bedroom with double bed
Twin Bedroom 1
Luxurious kitchen
Columbine Cottage's dining room
The lane outside Columbine Cottage
Relax in the sun outside the sitting room door
Twin Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Footpath along the lane from the cottage
Garden with sitting room window behind
Steps to Garden
View across valley from just outside the cottage
Main entrance to Columbine Cottage
Foxgloves and horses from the local riding school
View from the lane outside Columbine Cottage
Ashover Village
Heather moorland within 2 miles of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Starrflow...
1 review
“Charming comfy cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were a group of three friends - one of us with a daughter of 22 months.

Columbine cottage was spacious, clean and comfy and so well equipped. Plastic plates, beakers and bowls for the little one and everything you could need for cooking. There was a lovely welcome tray which included a yummy packet of biscuits.

The cottage isn't intensely funky or modern (as you'd expect) nor does it retain any real original features - in fact we had a debate about its actual age - but when we looked into the cellar we decided it was old! It has a great open fire which for our rainy weekend in June we made full use of. The cottage is welcoming, warm and charming. The beds were very comfy. The power shower was fab as was the big bathroom.

The wildflowers and surrounding fields with horses and cows were wonderfully rural - as you'd expect. The cottage is at the start of a walk although we went in the other direction via Littlemore - finding an off road buggy friendly walk to The Nettle Inn (36 out of 50 on the best pubs in the countryside!). The owners have provided plenty of detailed info on surrounding walks and attractions which we found really helpful.

We all said we'd definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejmk_2013
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Splendid cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Booking with the very friendly and helpful owner - Sue - was easy and the directions to the accommodation were perfect as was all the information in the welcome pack - the attention to detail was outstanding.
There is a parking space a few yards away - one car for each cottage - which is set back from a hardly used lane, with space for 3 more cars a further down the lane - we had family visiting us one day and they were all able to park comfortably in the space provided.

The cottage itself is absolutely charming - it's attached to the smaller two bedroomed Foxglove cottage, with the owner's cottage to the rear, so they are on hand when you arrive and are very helpful, especially when asking for directions to Chesterfield's football ground!
The cottage is surrounded by fields with views all round, with a couple of horses grazing in the paddock behind the back garden. We never tired of going to bed and just gazing out of the window at the shimmering lights of the villages and roads of Derbyshire.
The bed is very comfy (although anyone over 6 feet tall may find the ornate foot end restrictive when stretching out), cosy and welcoming and so you are guaranteed a good night sleep.
The remaining rooms were very clean, tidy and well equipped with everything you could possibly need - from Tupperware tubs for picnics, a bbq, ride on toy and paddling pool in the shed to books, games, dvds in the lounge and a pint of milk in the fridge on arrival(plus a well stocked welcome tray). There were also some kids' toys, tumble drier, ironing board and a heater in the spooky cellar.
In the nearby village of Clay Cross (approx. 5 minute drive from the cottage), there is a large Tesco extra, a Dominos pizza place that does deliver and a small high street.

We highly recommend this cottage, and if in the area again, we would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, attendtion to detail, comfy beds
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent- everything we needed in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent facilities. We were there for a family wedding nearby and had a couple, brother and 3 teen/twenties nephews staying in the cottage. It was ideal for us and a great place to relax after the wedding. It was easily large enough for the 6 of us, although a separate toilet would have been useful when everyone was getting ready for the wedding! Lovely comfortable beds and linen. Really nice toiletries in the bathroom too.
The surrounding area is beautiful and ideal for walks. We had Sunday lunch at The Black Swan in Ashover, really lovely food and service- we would recommend it.
Sue was helpful and friendly when we arrived and there was a large welcome tray. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent size and facilities
Liked least: Separate toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rog S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Gorgeous quaint cottage with everything you could wish for and more.
We stayed over the weekend whilst attending a family wedding at The Peak Edge Hotel and Red Lion venue which is only 2/3 miles away and cost £8 in a local taxi. The cottage owner Susan was really helpful and on the cottage has lots of info on places to go/visit, local pubs/eating and great walks straight out the door.
My wife loved the toiletries in the bathroom and my daughter (poor student) helped herself to the complimentary chocolates as well as teas/coffee's etc.
Lovely furnishings and quality fittings. Wonderful views. Perfect. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home, relaxing
Liked least: One toilet in the bathroom for 5 people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keithedwa...
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Home from home, plenty of space in all areas and a separate bath and shower cubicle with power shower. Cosy lounge with open fire and decent size TV.
Excellent rural location and stunning views but close enough to local pubs and shopping etc.
We didn't have the opportunity to make use of the garden but it is private with great views over open countryside. Owner was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Hoping to go back again and have a longer break

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing