We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday accommodation and location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Columbine Cottage in Alton Derbyshire
Time for tea and cake in cosy Columbine Cottage
Columbine Cottage's garden with patio, furniture and barbecue
Columbine main bedroom with double bed
Twin Bedroom 1
Luxurious kitchen
Columbine Cottage's dining room
The lane outside Columbine Cottage
Relax in the sun outside the sitting room door
Twin Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Footpath along the lane from the cottage
Garden with sitting room window behind
Steps to Garden
View across valley from just outside the cottage
Main entrance to Columbine Cottage
Foxgloves and horses from the local riding school
View from the lane outside Columbine Cottage
Ashover Village
Heather moorland within 2 miles of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
393Jacque...
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday accommodation and location making a lovely holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Colombine cottage is a lovely cottage so comfortable and so well equipped. All the little extras went towards making a great holiday it felt so homely. Sue is to be praised for all the hard work she puts into all the small details. We would definately come and stay there again. The scenery in Derbyshire is lovely and all the places of interest were so close to where we were staying. There is so much to see and do in the area we will be back. The people were friendly and the weather was ok. We sampled all 3 pubs in the village and the food and atmoshere were good in all 3 but the Black Horse was our favourite .Morrisons was about a 10 minute ride away which was great for supplies. In all we had a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location of the cottage.
Liked least: We are used to a gas hob but we managed ok as all the instructions were clear.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA00001
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, cosy retreat perfect for adventurous groups or secluded chill time”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Booked Columbine Cottage quite late in the day and was very chuffed Sue had availability over the Easter weekend. The booking process was a total breeze and compared to local B&Bs and hotels, a two-nighter here was incredibly reasonable price wise, particularly when split between two couples.

Alton is a gorgeous weeny village with breath-taking views over the surrounding farmland. We had such a laugh fumbling our way up the stone stepped hillside to the Fabrick Rock and down the country lanes at midnight, after the pubs closed in Ashover. Take a torch if your night vision's lousy! Dinner and the atmosphere in The Crispin Inn was brilliantly cosy and 'local' on the Saturday night and we got stuck into curry night at The Old Poet on the Sunday (although I think I would've preferred traditional pub grub as was seriously average) - all 3 pubs on that strip, including Black Swan, had great beer, cider & ale selections and the service was friendly. Nearest decent shop for supplies (tesco) was a 5-10 min drive away in Chesterfield.

Columbine Cottage was immaculate, very spacious and with an amazing coal fire that smelt delicious as it heated up. The kitchen is very well equipped and roomy with a large table for dining - if we'd have been staying longer we'd definitely have cooked a roast. The pretty little garden looks out over a paddock with horses. The bathroom was massive with double sinks and lovely shower with a specially installed switch to make it kick a bit harder. And the beds, duvet and pillows were so dreamy - best night's sleep I've had in yonks! Super quiet too, which was heavenly coming from noisy London.

Thanks Sue! Highly recommended to families, couples or groups of friends either eager for chill time or keen to be adventurous and get out exploring.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful beautiful place to stay perfect home from home.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We came with the family the cottage was beautiful well equipped and cosy. Loved the toiletries and the log fire. We would definitely come again the kids loved it and so did we.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy beds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kismat73
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, excellent facilities”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely cottage and we had a lovely weekend ! The cottage had everything we needed and hopefully we will be coming back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keir G
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful & comfortable”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We enjoyed our stay, The cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and an excellent location for walking and visiting places. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It peaceful and comfortable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing