We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”

Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Dronfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving up breakfast, lunch and weekly bistro nights. Daily specials all home cooked food by a Classic British chef Also including our amazing Sunday roast
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We have supported this coffee shop since they started. Went in today for a tea cake and coffee. They no longer do tea cakes. Ok.

So let’s have a coffee... the waitress then told us they only do “ dine in” whatever that is? They will not serve coffee only?!? and “Recommend “ we went elsewhere. We could only have items off the menu. So no point in having a specials board.

I just don’t understand the logic of having “coffee” as part of your business name and it’s too much trouble to serve customers with coffee at 10:45 on a Saturday!!!!

Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage2879, Owner at Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Hi Mike

I would like to say I am shocked that as regular customer, you have given such a bad account of us!!
On the day you visited we where busy and only had 2 avalaible tables one of which was booked 10min after your arrival and the only other table we had was the table of 4 you wanted.
As Saturday is one of busy days we save table for people that have booked or for our regular customer that come week in week out on a Saturday.
We do just serve coffee!! On busy days we have to be mindful that we have customer coming for food and coffee and with us having a Limited number of table we can’t let 2 people that just want coffee sit at a table for 4 people.
The specials board is available at lunch time as these are lunch specials and you visited around 10.45am we disn’t offer these as they start at midday.

I am sorry if the waitress didn’t exsplain this, Again sorry after years of us serving you and your family it has resulted to this!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

What a perfect Friday night date! Amazingly tasty tapas, incredibly friendly and polite waitress, lovely cosy atmosphere. We'll be back, for sure! Thanks for fitting us in last week :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 679AME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage2879, Owner at Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi

Thank you for your kind review look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Had a lovely evening with family and friends. The food was to die for, really amazing. I can't wait to go back!

Thank Kerina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage2879, Owner at Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Kerina
thank you for your review glad you all enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to Laurie's Bistro and I can honestly say it was absolutely amazing. I've been trying to find somewhere that does a good Eggs Royale/Benedict since trying it at a hotel near Pinewood studios on a business trip 5 years ago. I've been around the country at various hotels trying to find a good one and always been disappointed but Laurie's just knocked it out of the park. Best I've ever had. Prices are very reasonable, coffee is great. Clean and nice decor. I'm looking forward to trying many other things on the varied and delicious menu. Seriously guys, if you are in or near Dronfield and have never been here, you must give it a go. You'll love it.

Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage2879, Owner at Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi James

Many thanks for the review and very kind words, Glad we impressed you with our eggs Benedict and we look forward to your return!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

We have been to Lawrie’s many times before and always come away with our taste buds tingling after mouthwatering, interesting food cooked to perfection. This visit was as perfect as ever. Unbelievably tender lamb and plate after plate of deliciousness. I’m already looking forward to next time.

2  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage2879, Owner at Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi
Thank you for your think review glad you enjoyed our new 6 course taster menu see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House also viewed

Dronfield, Derbyshire
 
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing