We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Gem in the Peaks”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Buttercup Cottage

Buttercup Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Buttercup Cottage
The Living Room The Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Buttercup Cottage
The Living Room
The Living Room
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen area
Dining are
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom2
Main Bathroom
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
simgsxr
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in the Peaks”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Buttercup & has quickly become our favourite choice for a walking break in Derbyshire, it has everything you need, well equipped, clean, extremely comfortable & a good size, home from home. Situated in Great Longstone with a lovely food store, Sally B's, 2 pubs 'The Crispin' my favourite, great food & extremely dog friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digger201...
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage, in a fantastic location, in beautiful Derbyshire. My family and I had an incredibly relaxing stay here.

The beds are really comfortable with nice 'hotel feel' bedding so you are guaranteed a restful night's sleep. There are also fab fluffy towels left for you to use.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need and, if the fantastic local pubs don't tempt you out for dinner, there is an impressively large cooker to use.

I could go on but I'm guessing you get the idea. The location is also fantastic for visiting Chatsworth and Bakewell.

Finally it would be wrong of me not to mention how friendly and helpful the owners were. Martin answered all my queries quickly and provided some really helpful advice about places to eat and visit (Martin's help definitely made this property a 5 out of 5 visit).

I really do recommend this as a great place to stay in Derbyshire!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinsy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Buttercup Cottage for 4 nights (my husband and me, and my parents). Found it to be very comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed. My husband liked the Tassimo coffee maker! The beds were incredibly comfortable. We were blessed with sunshine and the outdoor space was a real bonus. It was bigger than the photograph suggested. The village of Great Longstone is very welcoming, good pubs nearby and ideally situated to explore the Monsal Trail (nice walk from Hassop Station to Bakewell and back), Cromford Canal (another nice flat walk), Buxton and Chatsworth house.I'm sure we'll stay again if we're in the area. Thank you Martin and Christine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capricorn...
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cottage in a Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned back from a long weekend in this idyllic cottage. The cottage has been finished to a high standard and everything was so clean. The village of Great Longstone is a perfect location to stay having two brilliant pubs in the village and a short ride from Bakewell, Buxton and Chatsworth House. I would totally recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terry M
2 reviews
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

really impressed with this lovely cottage very well equipped and spotlessly clean lovely location including good pubs in short walking distance
really helpful friendly owners too- whats not to like!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing