We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Christmas Accommodation 2017”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 The Rumblings

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barlow, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andystead...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Christmas Accommodation 2017”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We chose The Rumblings as our family Christmas venue as somewhere local to our extended family (all in Sheffield) and somewhere that could accommodate elderly parents (all over 80) and ourselves.
As it turned out 2 The Rumblings was ideal. It was spotlessly clean, well equipped, comfortable and easy to keep warm, important with elderly relatives in residence.
The cottage was decorated for Christmas and welcome gifts were in the fridge, a very nice touch.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in returning for future family holidays.
A huge thankyou to the owners, Dave and Tania, for making us so welcome

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bagendbag...
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spacious and stylish”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here for 10 nights recently. This is a very quiet location with wonderful views. Number 2 is spacious with a dining kitchen and a separate sitting room with a log burner. The bedrooms are good and the bathroom excellent with a space saving "pocket" door. The kitchen is very well equipped.
We look forward to our next visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at The Rumblings - I hope to welcome you back in th near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieliv
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage was well equipped with quality furmishings.t It was warm and the heating could be adjusted to taste. Lovely area for accessing walks and visiting Chatsworth. The owners were very helpful in making adjustments for us

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay at The Rumblings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and area”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I would definitely recommend this cottage. It is exactly as advertised and more. It is so well equipped and everything was spotlessly clean when we arrived... there was also wine, bread, tea and coffee, butter, milk and eggs. The owners are on site and popped in to make sure everything was okay when we arrived and then we only saw them to wave to if we passed. There were recommendations and menus for local takeaways and visitor attractions. The towels were lovely and fluffy, the bed linen clean and crisp and the beds really comfy. The lovely comments in the guest book reflect everything I've said and more.

The cottage is in a rural location (which we loved) with amazing views and footpaths but also really well placed for Bakewell, Matlock, Chatsworth, Chesterfield and Sheffield with all being a 20 - 30 minute drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor F
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Tanya was lovely to us grandfather and grand daughter, because we had traveled from over seas we had no bath room soaps or shower or hand wash ,,these even in small quantaties would have made our entry easier . But the cottage was clean well presented .just lacked the finishing touches ,, may thats Derbyshire ,, I originate from Yorkshire .. So I get it .. It costs so little to get it right . I am hoping to be helpful not too critical

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of small toiletries
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing