We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”
Review of The Tickled Trout

The Tickled Trout
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Barlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Italian, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Derbyshire Pride. Italian Inspiration." Proud of Derbyshire and inspired by Italy, that sums us up really. We use the finest locally sourced ingredients to create delicious food that has an Italian twist. Visitors to the Tickled Trout in Barlow are guaranteed a warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and a great choice of top-notch food. It is advisable to book a table either by our on-line reservation system on our website or the traditional way by phone! Also like us on Facebook for regular updates....
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Yet another Fabulous evening at the Tickled Trout. So pleased the whole Family voted here for hubby's Special birthday...the food was divine...the girls thoroughly enjoyed their garlic dough balls to start with...whilst hubby and I shared the arancini and camembert. I tried the Trout this time ...Wonderful! We were all rather full but could not resist the dessert menu ...the girls went for their favourite chocolate brownie and salted caramel ice cream...and for me the upside down blueberry cheesecake with lemon curd ice cream...delicious! Lovely way to spend the evening. Thank you to All the staff who made the evening even more Special ...Enjoy your well earned breaks in the New Year!

Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Delighted we were the unanimous vote for the special birthday celebration! We very much enjoyed seeing you and we are pleased it was a special night for you all.
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review for us - thank you.
Best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

We have eaten here many times, and it is always such a treat, both for the quality of the food but also for the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Yesterday we returned for lunch, using a voucher which our daughter had paid for as a birthday gift for my husband. I had my favourite starter, Parma ham and goat's cheese salad with candied walnuts, which are so delicious I could eat a bowl of them!! Then, as I have a small appetite another starter, something new - a pig's cheek tartlet with celeriac. It was so tender and delicious!! Thank you once again.

Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you Jen M for writing such a great review, not only do we appreciate your kind words but we appreciate o ur regular customers! The pigs cheek was a dish I had been working on for a while so it is great to get good feedback. We really are pushing things forward next year so look out for lots of new delicious specials in the coming months!
Wisinh you all the very best for 2018 and I hope we will see you gain soon.
With best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We chose The Tickled Trout at random as a local restaurant to our Christmas holiday venue in Barlow.
We were very pleasantly surprised. Food was first class, competitively priced and well presented. The restaurant was busy but the service was excellent with just the right amount of staff attention.
We would definitely return to The Tickled Trout the next time we are in the area.

Thank andystead99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your kind words, it does mean a lot when we get such a great review in the middle of our busy Christmas! We do have two lovley holiday cottages either side of the Tickled Trout if you ever feel like a stay in the village agin (details are on our website!)
Thank you once again - All the best for 2018
Best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

As usual trip advisor guided us to a new restaurant.The Tickled Trout is located in a lovely village with great parking and in a very well finished open plan building. The attention to detail in the finishing decorative touches adds a real sense of class. Spreading the menu across three different documents, (main, set and pizza) was a bit confusing and appeared to limit the choice. We ordered the chorizo and humus starter which was amazing and the blade of beef and Cornish catch of the day, both of which were absolutely fantastic.There is a wide range of prices on the menu so a cheap meal can be ordered. The service was friendly and professional however as our table was out of sight of the bar where the serving staff were located we were unable to get their attention and therefore on a couple of occasions I had to leave the table to get the attention of the staff. A really enjoyable lunch and we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gilbodyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us. It does mean a lot when we get a comment such as 'absolutely fantastic' for our special dishes! I do apologise if we weren't as attentive as we should have been, I will ensure the front of house team work on this in the new year.
We will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Came for a mid week lunch. First impressions good. Very stylish pub & bar, looks like a lot of money has been spent refurbishing. That often makes me apprehensive about the food, hope that as much attention has been paid to the menus. Well, the menu is fairly concise but something for everyone. I love the way that they highlight where all their food is sourced from.
We shared a couple of starters between the four of us as we weren’t that hungry but couldn’t resist a taste. The Arancini squares we’re very tasty, as was the Halloumi, Chorizo & Pine nut salad. Mains were lovely, two of us had different fish dishes, cooked to perfection & delightful. The other two had pizzas, which they do very well here. No room for desserts tho coffee was nice, would have liked a little sweet morsel with it, a small square of handmade fudge on the side perhaps?
Good choice of beers & wine by the glass& friendly, efficient service. All in all, a great experience, even the fun & games of ‘spot the hand dryer’ in the super modern toilets!
Will definitely return & recommend.

Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed dining with us. We have taken your comments about the coffee on board and I am working on a nice homemade tasty treat to go with it!
We will look forward to welcoming back soon!
Best wishes
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tickled Trout also viewed

 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Tickled Trout? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing