We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant family outing”
Review of The Tickled Trout

The Tickled Trout
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Barlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Italian, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Derbyshire Pride. Italian Inspiration." Proud of Derbyshire and inspired by Italy, that sums us up really. We use the finest locally sourced ingredients to create delicious food that has an Italian twist. Visitors to the Tickled Trout in Barlow are guaranteed a warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and a great choice of top-notch food. It is advisable to book a table either by our on-line reservation system on our website or the traditional way by phone! Also like us on Facebook for regular updates....
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We visited the Tickled Trout as an adult family during our recent visit to Derbyshire. My parents had visited this on a previous trip in 2016.
The whole restaurant and bar is very well presented, with comfy chairs in the bar and a well lit conservatory in with dining room.
The menu is not exhaustive but includes a number of classic British dishes, steak and fish alongside more bistro choices such as fish, pasta and pizza.
The sharing platter and arancini are both excellent starters. The calzone and onion tart tatin were also very good. The steak and ale pie was well designed but I would have prefered greens to the roasted vegetables offered on the side. The deserts were good. Despite the upside down cheesecake being a bit messy with the biscuit on top that easily went all over the table, it was tasty.
The staff were attentive and well mannered, but it was quite hard to get there attention so service was a touch slow.
All in all we had a good evening.

Thank bent705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you for writing a review - we very much appreciate your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed the food but do apologise if the service was a touch slow - this is unusual for us but we have just taken on some new young staff so it can be a learning curve for them on a busy evening.
I hope you will visit again!
Best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017

On entering the TT I was hopeful.

One of our party required the loo. It was locked! And guess what....they can't find the key. It took 5 mins for the key to appear. This is normal practice for the only downstairs loo. Not good for the disabled or anyone requiring the loo quickly.

The room is open plan and echoes badly. Not good for anyone with poor hearing or conversation in general.

My relative chose pork with mash. It arrived, we couldn't find mash! Then I spotted it. A teaspoonful.....i do not exaggerate. My partner chose Cod. A nice piece of cod spoiled by a terrible sauce. I had the trout, their signature dish, served with gnocchi (3 pieces the size of a 1 pence piece).... with no sauce. Very poor and overcooked.

It took well over an hour from ordering before the food reached the table.. I couldn't eat my food. We were never asked if we would like a drink.....not even when we came in and therefore we had to fetch every drink from the bar ourselves. Noticeably, others were having to do this too.

We didn't wait for dessert or coffee. There was no point
This is a place I will never go to again and could not recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Whilst we are always are very upset and will always make amends if our guests do not genuinely enjoy dining with us sometimes we feel we do have to defend ourselves!
The toilet key wasn’t lost and was found as requested on a very busy evening. It was given to you as soon as the person who was using it at the time handed it back.
The toilet is fitted with a radar lock so that any guests who are registered and need easily accessible toilets their own key will fit the toilet straight away, unless someone is in it of course!
Our food is cooked to high standards.
The pork dish wasn’t as very crudely described as pork and mash it was a slow cooked large piece of pork loin, braised chicory, a very good portion of creamed potato, shallot puree, crackling, sage and shallot sauce and a red wine jus.
Our Trout signature dish is hugely popular and would never leave my kitchen over cooked and certainly never with only 3 pieces of gnocchi. Everything is standardised, we have total consistency of all portions per dish, each gnocchi larger than a 50p, which is adequate and normal and there are always 5 of them as per the recipe in the Derbyshire cook book.
The day boat fish has a beautiful emulsion of mussel stock, butter, lemon garlic and watercress. We make our own pasta, which comes with the beautiful large Cornish mussels, samphire and the dayboat fish is baked in parchment with lemon and parsley butter to keep it moist. To be called terrible is purely insulting!
Food is cooked from fresh and therefore there is a wait but we know from our electronic ordering and till system this was not an hour for this table.
It is shame a new reviewer to trip advisor feels the need to become a food critic, which always is suspicious, and damage a dedicated team running an independently owned pub. We will always strive to provide high standard as is reflected in the hundreds of excellent reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The Ticked Trout may look pretty plain and uninspiring from outside - but step through the door and you know you're in for a treat. Beautiful design, contemporary furnishings and it's clear a lot of careful thought has gone into the staging. The main event won't disappoint either - superb food and excellent service. Don't need to say much about the food - all the dishes we had were simply wonderful as other reviews testify. The service deserves mention - young staff who have clearly been well trained - knowledgeable, attentive, polite, enthusiastic and cheerful and yet able to engage in conversation (rather than the service by rote so frequently dished up). Indeed the service significantly enhanced the dining experience. Our first visit and certainly won't be our last.

2  Thank BlueSkyMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us, we very much appreciate your kind words as we do strive to ensure our guests have a good experience. The TT team are mainly locals who have worked here from the start and really do take pride in working in our pub. They are thrilled with your comments!
I hope we can welcome you back again soon
Best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

First class evening experienced by our friends and family who visited with us. Menu had choices which suited all including fussy teenagers! The food is clearly home made by chefs who know how to cook (may be an obvious statement but we do go places which disappoint)! Highlights were the ham hock and applewood cheese croquets, the mackerel fillet and the Aranchini (the truffle mayo was divine!). Steak for main was cooked to perfection and was nice see a different range of fish on the menu – sea trout and gurnard were enjoyed. The Burger was moist, cooked nicely with lovely flavours. Most were too full for desert but I had to try the vanilla and lemongrass rice pudding (the garibaldi biscuit with it was amazing!). Good selection of British cheese on offer too. We come often to enjoy the food but it was nice all our table enjoyed it!
Staff really looked after us well, friendly with a smile.
Would highly recommend if you genuinely enjoy high quality food!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank walamb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words and more importantly for choosing to return to the Ticked Trout again - we really do appreciate our regular guests.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon
With best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed the food and the service was good. However the price is rather expensive for what you get which is a shame.

3  Thank Ruben123789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

I am pleased you found the service good and enjoyed the food. We really do pride ourselves in using fresh local high quality ingredients and we cook everything from scratch which is why we may be slightly more than the big chains of pubs. We do not use frozen produce and there certainly isn't a microwave on the premises! The Tickled Trout is independently owned by myself and we employ many from the village. We strive to provide a great dining experience. I can assure you we are competitive on price to other similar establishments in Derbyshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tickled Trout also viewed

 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Tickled Trout? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing