We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend!!!”

Review of Old Beams

The Old Beams
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2 The Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2
The Main Lounge
The Study (through view from the snug)
The Kitchen/Breakfast Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room 2
Second En suite Bedroom
Master En suite-Bedroom
En suite (all have large cast-iron baths)
The Lawn
The Garden/Water Feature
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HanandMat...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Highly recommend!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Old Beams was the perfect property for a long weekend away for 9 adults and 5 children. There was more than enough space for us all and the bedroom ratio to bathroom worked extremely well. All rooms were very good sizes. The kitchen was my personal favourite, enough space to cook for large groups with all the utensils. The property is very clean and has every comfort of your own home. I would highly recommend the property and will be returning myself. The owner was very quick at responding to questions and is very quick to return the deposit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiggy83
Shropshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love the Old Beams”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Every year a group of us go away for a long weekend, this year 10 adults and 5 under 5's!

The old beams is the best rental we have had for our group holiday. The old beams is deceivingly huge but cosy at the same time. We loved the open fire and after using the fire wood provided the kind neighbours across the road let us help ourself to some of their firewood!

Bedrooms are homely with ensuites in most rooms with idyllic large baths!

We did a murder mystery on the Saturday night and the large conservatory provider a perfect location for this.

I loved the kitchen with it's open plan setting and island, and there is absolutely everything that you need!

We all agreed this was by far the best rental for our group.

As for waterhouses there are some lovely walks including a buggy friendly walk along the Manifold Way.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thanks for your wonderful review!

We are always so pleased to hear such positive comments, and that people love the Beams as much as we do.

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helliwell...
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place for a pre "Christmas" get together”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We go away every year as a group (10) and struggle to find a property with 5 bedrooms all with ensuite facilities. Old Beams was brilliant. It has 6 bedrooms but 2 are on the top floor served by 1 bathroom so private for the 1 bedroom used.
The downstairs bedroom would be very useful for people with mobility issues.

The house is brilliant, very comfortable. The large conservatory was great, table would sit 12, we only needed 10. Lovely lighting and fairy lights round the window made is sparkly as we sat down to dinner. Kitchen very well stocked with cutlery and crockery etc, I don't think there was anything that we needed that they didn't have.
Dishwasher, 2 fridges and 1 freezer. Microwave has convection oven facility so technically another small oven which was good.
Very good range of games supplied.
Lovely open fire and large basket of logs, firelighters supplied to start us off.
Bedrooms very comfortable, although 2 of them could do with an over the bath shower as they only had baths, but there were other good showers so no one went without for a shower. Every bedroom was supplied with Baylis and Harding soap and hand lotion which was kind.
The large car park at the side was excellent as sometime we have struggled to find properties with sufficient carparking.
Owner Mark called in just after we had arrived to see we were ok and had any problems and said not to hesitate to call him or Helen if there were.
First evening we went to the local pub (Ye Olde Crown Inn, separate review) which was only 5 mins away.
Saturday we had our "Christmas" morning full breakfast, later on full 3 course "Christmas" meal, no problems with the preparation and cooking for 10 people in the kitchen etc.
We would all certainly recommend this property to anyone and are happy to answer any questions from other reviewers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: It would have been nice to have a downstairs loo, other than the one in the downstairs bedroom.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Old Beams, and hope to welcome you again another time.
Regards, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraz S
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cottage was amazing, especially the large dining room conservatory - cant recommend it highly enough!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thanks for your review! It's appreciated.
We're glad you enjoyed Old Beams!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed Old Beams and that your mother enjoyed her celebrations. We hope to welcome you back again sometime.
Best wishes, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing