We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Off-Grid Walking Base”
other travellers have booked this property
Breathtaking views with dale walks from the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breathtaking views with dale walks from the door
You can camp all year round in our barn with cosy woodburning stove Baling hay in the meadow next to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Breathtaking views with dale walks from the door
You can camp all year round in our barn with cosy woodburning stove
Baling hay in the meadow next to the barn
We provide a blank canvas however guests add their own touches. Wow!
Spacious communal upstairs sleeping area with impressive original internal beams
View  from window of spacious communal upstairs sleeping area
Kitchen and living area with woodburning stove
Nearby Thors Cave, Manifold Valley
View from inside Thors Cave
Alton Towers, the country;s most popular attraction,  is less than half an hours drive away
Dale walking right on your doorstep
Carsington Water offers sailing,windsurfing, kayak & canoeing, powerboating,fishing,mountain biking
Nearby Manifold Valley Cycle Trail
Nearby Dovedale
Cattle at our farmstead
Alstonefield Camping barn
The barn is part of Gateham Grange Farmstead and there is mountain biking straight outside the door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 12
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Off-Grid Walking Base”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Very pleasant camping barn in great location. Perfect as an off-grid walking base for exploring Dovedale and the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Service
Liked best: The location is fantastic.
Liked least: Some members of the group found the barn a little chilly at night - but they should have brought better sleeping bags!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review
Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything you expect”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked this camping barn for a family gathering with a mixture of young children and adults, the location of the barn was perfect for walks and exploring the local area, it was exactly as the pictures described, the lack of electricity and wifi meant we had a complete break from life which was enjoyed by all, this is certainly a lot easier than camping with tents and I would recommend it to others. Hubby had a great time lighting the log burner which kicked out plenty of heat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cobwebs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boby909
1 review
“Friendly, kind, exciting get away”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in August 2014

I stopped there with my mum and her group it was better than we exspected.

We had an excellent time with no bother. And great company from the cows.

I don't think there's a kinder owner than that one, she friendly and welcomes you as if you was family, she's helpful too.

The wood burning stove was brilliant and wood was at reasonable price too.

I would recommend to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythe14
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hideaway”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Not sure what happened to the review I left it seems to have vanished so here it again!!....Took my daughter and 6 friends to the barn for her 13th birthday. We had a great time - they enjoyed it so much, no wifi, no phone signal. They talked, played games, told spooky stories, cooked beef burgers on the camp stove. The log burner was lovely, bit chilly upstairs but they were fine sleeping in their clothes, with loads of sleeping bags and blankets. If you want a great reasonable getaway this is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: Nothing really!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidA049
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great camping barn”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with a group of friends earlier in the year, there were 12 of us on the first night and fewer the second due to people getting home for work, family, snow.

The facilities are basic but very good and the fire place was great. The bedroom area was a little cold in February but that is what you'd expect. Great get away with friends and the owners were friendly and helpful.

I'm sure my friends would agree that we would like to return during the warmer months to enjoy the barn again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing