We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child had a ball”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trabolgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trabolgan Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trabolgan
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just back from our 1st trip here with our 3 year old. He had a ball. Plenty for him to do. We paid 198 euro for the week. Great value. Pool was brilliant and water lovely and warm. Included for free we also played crazy golf which was great laugh. Great play grounds, jungle gym which was decent size. Kids shows each night where great and 30 minutes long held kids attention. Got photos with bob the builder, fireman Sam and meet barney. Great time had. Houses basic but spotless.Sally o hare restaurant had good choice of menu. Carpet was shockingly bad as was furniture. Money needs to be invested here. Shop was reasonably priced, not much more than you would pay in tesco/dunnes. Majority of people where lovely and friendly. No body too intoxicated. Could work out dear if going with older kids as activities where roughly €7-8 euro per session. Wouldn't pay peak prices but we went in September and was great value.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daffodilbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 679 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

We have been here for the last 5 years. Some good changes with staff training but still some old staff that will never change and they need to. Houses need to be majorly upgraded and restaurant food need's to be checked out by HSE..."Chef's" (with dirty uniforms)running across the courtyard with uncovered food is a health hazard!!! Family night in Sally's with cut down plants with bug's a health hazard.......We were here in August for a week and 3 days would have been enough. On arrival we had to wait for our key for hours and when we got our hous it was filthy, we were immediatly moved by Sheila to another dirty house and all she wanted to do was go home, she was so horrible we almost left we felt it was our fault that we complained. You should give all your staff the same training and not give someone the name of "Manager" to make them feel important. She was the most unprofessional person I have ever dealt with and definatly not a Manager.
TAS staff were brilliant, especially Mike and Kate ant Sean very well trained and on top of their game. Entertainment was okay staff were a bit off hand but professional Stacey is a good girl and Jake was a dote. XFactor was a bit of a joke after being ther since 6.30 xfactor on Wed and Thur were on for 15 mins and Wagner was just a joke...and the lady looking after them was there forever we came across her on the first morning Wed when we had a problem at the pool and she was still there at midnight. You need to look after the staff that are doing the work and lose the staff that are doing nothing

We will be back next year but we will expect the accomodation to be upgraded

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I wrote a review last year and have revisited Trabolgan so here i go again.
We arrived about 1600 this year and were told that our house should be ready around 1630 but that they would guarentee it would ready by 1700. I got the keys at 1630.

The house was changed this year from a Hazel last year to a Forrest Oak this year. What a difference. The bedrooms were bigger and were warm. The sheeting on the beds were clean and there was no sign of damp in the house. We had our own boiler with a temperature control on it. The only thing wrong with the house was there was no laundry facility.

The price of food and drink in the bars are reasonable at €4.20 a pint and two main course carvery dinners for €15.

All in all we enjoyed it much more this year than last year but remember a lot of the activities are very weather dependant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

just returned from a trip to Trabolgan Holiday Village Co Cork, accommodation was basic but adequate, the entertainment and activities for the children was great - all the staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly could not wish for more.

would have been nice to have access to a laundry room that you could use yourself, I think it should be a priority when you are away with the family.

But all in all we had a great time the grounds are kept very clean and the curry in Jim Callaghans bar was great, I would recommend this holiday to anyone with children

Room Tip: we stayed in Forest Oak House 3 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ballyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Like so many, I read the reviews on Trabolgan after booking my holiday! I was very apprehensive about our trip as I didn't know what to expect. We have just finished a 4 day stay in the Forest Oak 3 bed house. We were 2 adults, 2 kids - 1x4yrs and 1x3months old. The reception is held in The Cove (main entertainment area) on a Friday and you are unlikely to get your key before 5pm as stated. However you can use all facilities all day long on day of arrival and day of departure.
When we did get our key we were very glad that we had booked a 3 bed - if you can afford to - book more than you require as the accommodation is quite small. Having an extra room for buggy, cases etc was great.
I am apalled by some of the reviews that said how filthy the place was - we were really impressed with the place as it was totally spotless! The houses are dated and are definitely basic but are much more importantly really clean.
Back to dated - they have made some effort with regard to the look of the houses but the whole place could do with a bit of a makeover. It looks quite 80s in places and things like the floor coverings, carpets, wall colours are very dated. It is nice to stay somewhere modern and bright but at the end of the day everything in the houses in Trabolgan is functional and so one cannot complain unless they were looking for luxury - which you won't get here.
You could do with the following items to make life a little easier as they are not provided: sharp knife (for cutting etc), toilet paper (1 provided to get you started), lots of towels (for swimming and floor - bath a bit leaky), big mug if you like a decent cuppa, dishcloths, tea towels, plastic bags, peeler, scissors.
The swimming pool is great and there are lots of facilities for the kids - the Jungle area in the Sportshall is very good for the younger kids. It is very much a holiday for the kids and while they do their best for the adults it doesn't do as much for us.
Be ready for lots of arcades and 'claw' machines that drive the kids wild. Food in Jim Gallagher's is good hearty food with generous proportions.
The overall service is very good. We had a problem with our heating - we couldn't figure out how to turn it on and asked someone to come to the house and they were there within 5 mins and had it all sorted. Then someone came the next morning to check that everything was still ok - i was very impressed with their service.
As it was almost the 1st/2nd week for school kids to be back I was suprised to see so many kids there. The clientele can be questionable and it is very much a dress down down down place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank ABLAB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trabolgan
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,299 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trabolgan Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trabolgan Holiday Village

Address: Whitegate, Midleton | Cork, Trabolgan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Trabolgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trabolgan
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering holiday village and touring caravan park located on 172 acres of woodland near the sea in East Cork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trabolgan Holiday Village Hotel Trabolgan
Trabolgan Holiday Village Cork
Trabolgan Holiday Village Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing