We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Turned up early on a Saturday evening in August without a booking hoping they could fit us in... and they did, but only just! Glad they did as we had a nice meal, good food and pleasant, friendly and efficient service.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TrevB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Dear TrevB56,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you for your compliments on our food and service!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Shalimar Management.

Please follow our social media platforms:
Instagram: @ShalimarWaterooville Facebook: @ShalimarWaterooville Twitter: @SWaterlooville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

This is one of my favourite restaurants and when visiting friends we always come here, but with the past year it's been a long time since we'd visited, but it was great to be back with a large friends reunion meal booked. The staff remembered me and were as courteous and professional as ever, the food was as fantastic as always and the ice cold Cobra just perfect for the first rate Indian food. So good to be back and also great to see the restaurant so busy. I'll return as soon as I can.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank 896jemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Dear 896jemj,

Thank you for a five-star rating and a positive review.

We are glad you enjoyed your evening, and we were happy to have you back! Thank you for your positive comments. We will see you again soon.


Kind regards, Shalimar Management.

Please follow our social media platforms:
Instagram: @ShalimarWaterooville Facebook: @ShalimarWaterooville Twitter: @SWaterlooville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

We have been to the Shalimar frequently always had excellent food and service in a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. Last night the food was excellent as usual and initially the ambiance was too. Service was very slow with the long gaps between the dishes being brought from the kitchen and the waiter was not as friendly as ones we have previously been served by. Partway through our meal a party of 6 were seated at the table next to ours. 5 men and an iPad showing the football match. From this point on we had to shout across the table to be heard and although we were only 6, the people at either end of the table were unable to hear each other unless they leaned right in. It was very uncomfortable and although we had been going to have another drink and a dessert we asked for the bill. This took some time in coming and contained drinks we had not had. No apology was made either for the noise or the erroneous bill. The enjoyable evening we had been having had ruined. Had we wanted to listen to the match whilst eating dinner we would have gone to a pub or got a take away. We wanted to spend a quiet relaxed evening with family who we have seen very little of since lockdown and we were denied this. That our complaint about it was not even acknowledged made it worse. I think it will be a while before we consider returning

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank june h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear June H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are saddened to hear that your family did not enjoy your meal on this occasion. As you are aware this sounds unlike a normal evening in Shalimar. We hope to accommodate to everyone and so it would be discriminatory to not allow in customers who want to watch a rare football match with their meal instead of conversing with their friends. We do apologise for the delay and errors in the service on this night. We will ensure our staff improve on this for the future.

We hope that you will give us another chance and return for a more pleasurable meal.

Kind regards,

Shalimar Management.

Please follow our social media platforms:
Instagram: @ShalimarWaterooville
Facebook: @ShalimarWaterooville
Twitter: @SWaterlooville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

It is first visit after the lockdown, restaurant is clean, the menu is great the waiter was very helpful. The meal was brilliant not to hot .

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank hope1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Dear hope1968,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first visit after lockdown.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Shalimar Management.

If you have not done so already, please follow our social media platforms:
Instagram: @ShalimarWaterooville
Facebook: @ShalimarWaterooville
Twitter: @SWaterlooville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

We visited for a meal as a family of 3. After entering the place, we waited for our table (1/2 hr). Really busy, which actually is a good sign! Covid friendly social distancing. We sat in a booth, and we all commented on how nice the decor was, and traditional Indian music was playing in the background. The waiters who served us were really friendly, we ordered food and drink, it came within a reasonable time ... the food was hot and tasty. We all chose dishes which we had not had before, non disappointed!
All in all, a nice Saturday evening!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank ElaineP789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2021

Dear Elaine,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to hear that your family were happy with their meals and you all had a good time.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Shalimar Management.

If you have not done so already, please follow our social media platforms:
Instagram: @ShalimarWaterooville
Facebook: @ShalimarWaterooville
Twitter: @SWaterlooville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
Horndean, Waterlooville
 
Cowplain, Hampshire
 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing