We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal but rather slow.”
Review of Bird in Hand

Bird in Hand
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 December 2021 via mobile

Super food, friendly staff but rather slow service in spite of not being very busy. I had turkey with shredded Brussel sprouts followed by a brûlée.

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank George-Leo-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2021 via mobile

Very disappointing experience. My Sunday roast took almost an hour to come out and I got 2 very thin slices of dry bacon being passed off as pork loin.

Potatoes were dry and old.

All the vegetables were partially cooked and inedible.

Children’s burgers were enjoyed by them and was the only bit of the meal that was not sent back or left.

I wouldn’t have paid £5 for the meals, let alone the £28 being charged.

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank Sw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 November 2021

We went there on Saturday for our fiftieth weding anniversary, a party of eight. Couldn't fault the food, ambiance or service, steak coked to perfection. At £200 including drinks, we will definitely be back,

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 378simoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 November 2021

Arrived for a Sunday lunch for a party of 12,(3 of those children)
Service was very slow. Approximately 3 hours for 2 courses.
Food was tepid. Roast potatoes had no colour whatsoever, Yorkshire was burnt on top.
Beef was good quality.
The more elderly server had no tact and upset the table with her personal opinion of our hometown.
If short on staff then don't take so many bookings, pack them in and hope for the best.
Not somewhere I would recommend

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greenz473
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 November 2021 via mobile

First visit to this pub and it was on our anniversary . Lovely warm and friendly welcome from Brandon .
The food was delicious and there was a good choice on the menu .

Date of visit: November 2021
2  Thank hilarys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Bird in Hand also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
Horndean, Waterlooville
 

Been to Bird in Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing