We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
84
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small village family dinner the owner backpacker hostel local life market on saturday morning an amazing experience delicious pancakes free laundry very nice place cold beer motorbike tour recommend this place northern vietnam great place to stay hot shower rice wine
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

The room is big. We got for 200000 dong: breakfast, free laundry, free bananas, free tea, one free big beer and a brand new room. The owner and his children are very nice. Go there! Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JOko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We really enjoyed our stay there. We have spend there only one night, but staff was very kind and family dinner was awesome.
It's in the middle of nowhere, but nature around is very nice. I think some nice treks can be surely done there (but we had cold rainy weather).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I have so much to say about this place, so I'll just make a list.

ALL GOOD THINGS:
-Family dinners with "happy water" and great, affordable breakfast and lunch options
-Great location that is easy to find on the road (you can't miss it) and it is right next to a gas pump so you can refuel your motorbikes before taking off
-Motorbikes are locked up at night
-Each bed is full size and VERY affordable. There are also private rooms that are very affordable. I think a bed was about 40,000 - 50,000 VND and private was 70,000 VND at the time (October 2017)
-There are TWO pool tables
-They offer a trek, which you should DEFINITELY do if you have time. The trek is not super intense, but it does take you through a small village and to a waterfall where you can go cliff jumping (not a super high cliff, but still refreshing and off the beaten path).
-There is a market on Saturday morning for locals, which is nice because they aren't trying to sell stuff just for tourists. It's an actual market that people in surrounding villages actually travel to. Really neat.
-I actually worked at this hostel for about 1 week, but really wish I could have stayed longer. You can volunteer to work for free stay and food. This was my favorite part of my Vietnam trip, because the neighbors and owner were all so friendly and welcoming. Really got to know the village in such a small amount of time. It felt more authentic than SAPA and than any other place I went to in Vietnam. lots of genuine people that is hard to come by. Hope this helps! Comment for questions.

Room Tip: Private room is a little more expensive, but worth it. You can split with two people if you're a couple.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

This place is located at the entrance of town. The owner (tuan) and his mate (Ling) are the friendliest guys ever. Have the family dinner, drink some happy water and do some karaoke with the guys. Best pitstop for doing the loop. Food is awesome. You'll feel at home here

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank TomasVH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Situated in the center of Du Gia village, the Du Gia Backpackers Hostel offers convenient and affordable accommodation to the traveler willing to go to experience the truly remote northern reaches of Vietnam. Despite the hosts' friendliness and enjoyable cooking however, the premises is a disappointment.

The bedrooms and bathroom are in effect cubicles, with a shared ceiling and roof-space. The corridor to the bedrooms and bathroom is itself the primary dorm room. The property itself is rundown and poorly maintained with a perpetually flooded upstairs and downstairs bathroom. The aesthetic of the front courtyard, featured in photos on this page, has been ruined by the installation of a large awning, in effect blocking off most natural light and any view of the stunning mountainscape offered by Du Gia.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews